We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Terrific place, wonderful people”
Review of Casa Axis Mundi

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Casa Axis Mundi
Reviewed March 14, 2014

Lovely, comfortable accomodations in an excellent location near the center of Valladolid. One of the best things was the directions Beate gave us---absolutely concise and direct and easy to find. Loved the physical place with our little bungalow, so colorful, attractive and comfortable. The composting toilets were a little weird, but not a problem at all and certainly funky! The vegan breakfast was delicious and Beate and Paul were just so interesting and easy to be with. Beate has also written a book, so we purchased a copy we are looking forward to sharing with our grandchildren. In addition, the whole place is decorated with Beate's paintings and she is darned good! Beate was so good with information and assistance and recommended a really good restaurant nearby which turned out to be interesting and special, at a convent. They were also very accomodating about all our comings and goings, storing our luggage on the morning we left so we could go look around Valladolid a bit more. Would definitely recommend the Casa Axis Mundi to others who delight in adventure travel.

Room Tip: All rooms are great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank carolinaylorenzo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (73)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

35 - 41 of 73 reviews

Reviewed February 27, 2014

Wonderful, colorful, comfortable B and B hosted by Beate and Paul Epp, who were gracious, welcoming ,helpful, interesting hosts. The accommodations were excellent. The breakfasts, which were vegetarian, included freshly squeezed orange juice, wonderful smoothies, and fresh fruit. We certainly will visit Casa Axis Mundi and Paul and Beate when we are in Mexico next year.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Hobbithole
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 21, 2014

My husband, Infant son and I stayed there over the New Year and we wished we had not booked anywhere else! I raved about the beauty of the environment to all of our friends and the lovely raw vegan foods. It's a short walk away from downtown Valladolid and just being in that space was divine. Beate and Paul have really blessed the world with this space, and I hope to return in the future!

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CaliYW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 11, 2014

Words just don't do justice when describing the one week retreat package at casa axis mundi...Beate and Paul are such amazing hosts and the programme of activities that Beate organises are a great, easy way to see the Yucatan. Whatsmore, its an enlightening introduction to raw food living whilst not beeing too strict (we weren't fround on for doing tequila tasting or ordering none raw dishes at restaurants occassionally) and we came away with some delicious recipes and lots of new knowledge. I cant thank Beate and Paul enough for my incredible experience with them and I can't wait to go back...!

  • Stayed: January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank ManchesterF00die
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 28, 2014

Just returned from Mexico and Valladolid, where we spent 5 nights at Casa Axis Mundi (planned for 2, but could not leave!). It was the perfect place for my little family, with my 17 month old daughter able to wander around in the safety of a kind and beautiful environment. Quite and lush, near the middle of charming colonial city, with the warmth and helpfulness of the owners Beate and Paul. The fruit filled breakfasts were tasty and cleansing, but most enjoyable was the spirit of peace and community that was created. If you are in the area, you will not be sorry to spend some time here.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank BenandTan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 26, 2014

Wow what a great venue and wonderful owners!

Thank you for helping me lose my 'melon belly' with all your delicious meals and smoothies that you made me....I couldn't eat and drink any more at times!

You made my stay with you so relaxing, dreamy and colourful.

We visited so many places together....good times.

You have a good thing going on over in Mexico

And long may you guys reign!

Much love and happiness to you!

Kathryn xxxxx

Room Tip: All good rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank keyholekate4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 23, 2014 via mobile

Well I have never been to such a wonderful place of peace and tranquility in my life!

I went to beatte's retreat mainly to lose some weight, by eating as healthily as possible

And my oh my, did I? I not only lost weight eating the wonderful array of fruits and raw, that I also gained many new and wonderful friends!

I could not fault casa mundi in any way, shape or form!

I truly had fun and the time of my life ..... If you do nothing else in life, then visit this place to find inner peace and love..,,

  • Stayed: December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lilly c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Valladolid hotels
0.6 mi away
Hostel Candelaria
Hostel Candelaria
#2 of 15 in Valladolid
555 reviews
0.8 mi away
Casa Tia Micha
Casa Tia Micha
#4 of 15 in Valladolid
403 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Quinta Marciala
Hotel Quinta Marciala
#7 of 15 in Valladolid
115 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Ecotel Quinta Regia
Ecotel Quinta Regia
#9 of 15 in Valladolid
323 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Maria Guadalupe
Hotel Maria Guadalupe
#10 of 15 in Valladolid
152 reviews
0.4 mi away
Casa Quetzal
Casa Quetzal
#2 of 23 in Valladolid
265 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa Axis Mundi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Axis Mundi

Address: Calle 41 #255 D Calle 56 54, Valladolid 97780, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Yucatan > Valladolid
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 29 Specialty Lodging in Valladolid
Price Range: $83 - $85 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Raw & Vegan Retreat Centre and Boutique Hotel in the heart of the Yucatan!Experience the personalized hospitality and intimate atmosphere of our historic, colonial place!All 6 rooms in the garden are adjacent to a lovely pool.Enjoy community on our expansive banquet table in our covered outdoor dining area.Open to host raw food, yoga, meditation, Buddhist retreats and more!Offering cleansing and raw food retreats, Reiki, Regression therapy, and more! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Casa Axis Mundi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing