We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Blue Room May 2013”
Review of Casa Axis Mundi

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Casa Axis Mundi
Reviewed June 6, 2013

Casa Axis Mundi is more than a place to stay, its a place to relax and take in. The room was colorful yet not loud,it allowed you to relax. Its an environmentally friendly place to stay. It has a lovely swimming pool and an even lovelier owner(Beate) and her dogs. Valladolid is a great place,not too big but not boring. I really loved the city but it was nice to come back to Casa Axis Mundi,its like an oasis in the middle of a city. Its close by to a number of cenotes and of course Chichen Itza. And obviously if you are vegan Casa Axis Mundi is the place to stay,offering you the option of vegan meals. I cant wait to go back to Valladolid and certainly Casa Axis Mundi. Hugs for Beate and all her dogs(especially Perla).

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank nate m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (73)
There are newer reviews for Casa Axis Mundi
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

49 - 55 of 73 reviews

Reviewed May 28, 2013

While travelling through Vallodolid on my solo trip through the yucatan this past february,,, I had the good fortune of happening upon the Casa Axis Mundi and sharing a lovely meal with Beate and Paul. Though I had already booked somewhere else I am looking forward to my next visit to Vallodolid and hopefully a stay at the Casa Axis Mundi!

Stayed: February 2013, traveled solo
Thank Deborah H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 20, 2013

We stayed here for 8 days and loved every minute! It was a great way to experience the real mexico!! Our hosts were beyond amazing! If you are looking to relax, or enjoy new experiences, they are great at pointing you in the right direction. The food was delish! Beate is amazing at preparing raw vegan dishes! You can tell she takes pride in catering to the tastes if her guests! Ask her for raw carrot cake! You wont be disappointed! I cant wait to go back!

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Soniagoode
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 9, 2013

I had the opportunity to spend a little over a week at this beautiful space this Winter. It is quite unique in the design and decorations and features much of the owner Beate's artwork. The rooms are done in a traditional mexican style along with a touch of the owner's fun style. The landscaping and layout is very relaxing and will make you completely forget there is a bustling little city right outside the walls of the center. The owner's are well versed in healthy living and eating and bring a much needed healing aspect to this hotel and retreat center. There are also many amazing sites to see in the area and the location is ideal for picking up a cab that can take you to any one of the natural Yucatan marvels or the Mayan ruins.

Room Tip: The rooms in the back of the center feature water that is from an underground cenote... I really app...
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Megan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 5, 2013

We had read the positive reviews prior to arriving Valladolid and put Casa Axis Mundi on our "list" of possibilities when arriving in town without a reservation. We found ourselves nearby and decided to stop in and check it out, and I'm so glad that we made that stop! From the second we walked in, Beate and Paul treated us with so much kindness and openness. We were only going to stay one day, but after becoming ill on the day we were planning to check-out, we decided to stay for another night for a very good reason: this is the kind of place that you want to be in to recuperate. Our guest room (the "yellow room") was perfectly decorated. It was simple, yet elegant with a hammock on our porch overlooking the property and gorgeous pool. Paul and Beate were kind enough to bring us out to their property and made us feel like we were guests in their home. Their food was vegan, fresh, and delicious. When I wasn't feeling well, Beate made me a "float" with fresh squeezed orange juice and vegan mango ice cream. The energy in Axis Mundi is amazing. It will make you feel good, that is for sure. Paul and Beatte love their dogs too, and since we are also dog lovers, we didn't mind a bit.

Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Emily M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 8, 2013

I can tell you easily that the rooms are simple, beautiful, and peaceful. The owners clearly took time with details such as a huge showerhead and lovely built-in furniture (even sofa!). Even the ceiling fan has multiple speeds and the outlets have 3 prongs. And of course, the fresh flowers in our room. But what brings the experience up a notch is the composting toilet. I highly value sustainability and water conservation, so I was delighted to see a clean, odorless, water-free toilet - right in the bathroom. Awesome.

Now what I can't explain as tangibly is how this place made us feel. I'll just say rested, healthy, and overall *good*. Beate was a beautiful host. She created amazing vegan, raw, breakfasts for us and really made us feel special. She also offers energy work like reiki, for a donation.

If you are a non-meat eater and have been traveling in Mexico, do yourself a favor and stay here for a couple of nights or more. Your body will thank you.

A note for my fellow wifi junkies: the wifi signal is only in the dining area and front living room area. You will not have signal in your room.

Room Tip: Some rooms are ground level, others are second story with a balcony. They offer extended stay rates...
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank VegetarianViajera
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 7, 2013

There are some hotels you just stay in because you need a place to sleep. Then there's Casa Axis Mundi. Much more than 4 walls and a place to stay, you feel privileged to be a guest of Beate and Paul and the space they created as a result of following their dreams. With every detail you can see the thought and love they put into the rooms and the grounds.

Being right in the middle of Valladolid, it's so cool to enter from the street-facing doors where it's busy and urban and then to walk into the spacious entry-way and back through the gardens and pool to see the peaceful setting of the guest houses.

We stayed for two nights and the rooms are beautiful and sitting on the deck in a hammock in the evening is fantastic.

The raw, vegan breakfasts are soo delicious and the dogs are a very sweet addition as well.

You can inquire with your hosts about getting some Reiki or other healing therapy.

Whether in town for a short vacation or if you're looking for a retreat, you should absolutely stay at Casa Axis Mundi.

Room Tip: Each room is beautifully situated in the back garden and close to the pool.
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mike v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Valladolid hotels
0.6 mi away
Hostel Candelaria
Hostel Candelaria
#2 of 15 in Valladolid
553 reviews
0.8 mi away
Casa Tia Micha
Casa Tia Micha
#5 of 15 in Valladolid
400 reviews
0.7 mi away
El Meson del Marques
El Meson del Marques
#7 of 15 in Valladolid
1,409 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Quinta Marciala
Hotel Quinta Marciala
#6 of 15 in Valladolid
115 reviews
0.9 mi away
Ecotel Quinta Regia
Ecotel Quinta Regia
#9 of 15 in Valladolid
322 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Maria Guadalupe
Hotel Maria Guadalupe
#10 of 15 in Valladolid
152 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa Axis Mundi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Axis Mundi

Address: Calle 41 #255 D Calle 56 54, Valladolid 97780, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Yucatan > Valladolid
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 29 Specialty Lodging in Valladolid
Price Range: $83 - $85 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Raw & Vegan Retreat Centre and Boutique Hotel in the heart of the Yucatan!Experience the personalized hospitality and intimate atmosphere of our historic, colonial place!All 6 rooms in the garden are adjacent to a lovely pool.Enjoy community on our expansive banquet table in our covered outdoor dining area.Open to host raw food, yoga, meditation, Buddhist retreats and more!Offering cleansing and raw food retreats, Reiki, Regression therapy, and more! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Casa Axis Mundi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing