We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best of Valladolid, Cancun is so overrated”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
El Meson del Marques
Ranked #6 of 15 Hotels in Valladolid
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 15, 2007

Such a beautiful Spanish colonial town and hotel! The hotel is in the heart of this town, across from the plaza and cathedral. The rooms are excellent, clean, comfortable with A/C and TV. The beds are great and yes, the towels are folded like swans. The best thing is the restaurant! Try the traditional Mayan food such as the Cochinita Pibil and others. Make sure you try the local fruit: Pitaya. It is red on the outside, white flesh with black seeds and tastes kind-of like kiwi, the seeds made it fell like it too.
The restaurant has tables under the roof of the patio of this old colonial house.
The swimming pool is small and loses the sun quickly due to the walls or high floors, but is nice and relaxing at dusk, when the bar opens up next to it.
Valladoilid is a small town ad there is little to do there other than visiting the Cenote, cathedral, the Spanish mission building....but take a detour north to the ruins of Ek Balam, and hire a guide (this was the best guide and the most interesting ruins we visited in the yucatan....even better than Chichen).
Don't waste your time visiting Tizimin, we found the locals to be cold and town to be too boring and that's speaking spanish fluently!
We stayed here and then off to mayaland hotel to see Chichen Itzá, that hotel was great also, try this itinerary of you can too!

  • Stayed: July 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank Tuscan325i
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,427)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

714 - 720 of 1,427 reviews

Reviewed June 16, 2007

We have been to this part (The Yucatan & Quintana Roo)of Mexico more than 30 times since 1987. We teach diving and conduct dive travel and have, in recent years, branched out into exploring more of the area. We stopped in Valladolid on our way across to Merida and did not have great expectations...BUT...were pleased to find this hotel. Location in the heart of the city on the zocalo is great. Very little English is spoken so the feel is more authentic than that in the coastal tourist areas. Our Superior room 506 was excellent with a nice view , and everything in order: small fridge,TV,AC and a nice bathroom. We ate an afternoon meal by the garden and found the food and service to be quite good. We shall look for excuses to return to the area and will stay with this hotel again.

  • Stayed: May 2007, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank mm617
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 28, 2007

This is a well run place right on the main square. The restaruant is some fine dining for a good price. I recommend the hotel and Valladolid in general as a geat place to stay while exploring the areas ruins. Valladolid was one of the few places in Mexico where I actually felt like I was in Mexico.

Stayed: April 2007
Thank ezee333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 23, 2007

I think all independent ravellers should be warned about our experience with this hotel.
Towards the end of a three week holiday in Mexico, we decided to book by telephone two nights at this hotel. We placed a booking and were informed that a room would be available - we offered to leave a credit card refernce but were told this would not be necessary.
When we arrived at precisely the time we said, they were expecting us,but then told us they did not have a room available and offered us the master suite which even with a 10% discount cost 3 times the price of the original room.
Staff were most unhelpful and gave no reason why there was suddenly no room.(we dont look like degenerates by the way).
So the moral of the story is dont trust this hotel and go elsewhere.
It is also full of package tours as well if this puts you off.

  • Stayed: April 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Honestjohn1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 15, 2007

I stayed @ the hotel because it was like real colonial part of mexico. The staff was professional and friendly. The Hotel is perfect if youre going to chicin and ek balam mayan ruins. The center of town has so much culture.

  • Stayed: April 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank jxperez1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 31, 2007

My husband and I spent the night on 20 March 2007 at El Meson de Marques in Valladolid. We had spent an incredible, happy day at Chichen Itza the day before the equinox watching Kul Kul Kan descend El Castillo (wow). It was an easy 30-40 minute drive on the Libre road right from the parking lot of Chichen. We parked in front of the hotel during our efficient check in (right at a 'rush hour' of student and worker traffic), and a helpful attendant helped us into the off-street parking area.
We had an interior room overlooking the restaurant patio, which was lovely. It had a great view of the cathedral and the central plaza. The pool area was very nice, with a small bar well stocked with great tequilas. The hotel and restaurant are noted here and lots of other places as being the best in town. We enjoyed our dinner very much, and the staff were very well spoken and pleasant.
The next day my husband was under the weather, but if it had to happen anywhere on our trip this was the best place - check out isn't until 1:00, the rooms are comfortable, the restaurant has good food at all hours, I could let him rest while I walked around and enjoyed the plaza and nearby neighborhoods, and a dip in the pool. Later we had an enjoyable 2-3 hour drive to Tulum via the Coba road. Next time we'll spend more time in Valladolid at the El Meson to explore more.

  • Stayed: March 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank GG711
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 19, 2007

I spent two nights here with my girlfriend in August, 2006. We were in the middle of a trip throughout the peninsula.

Our experience at El Meson del Marques was absolutely great. The building and grounds are beautifully maintained and decorated, and really brought home the fact that we were in a very old, colonial city. In addition to its colonial charm, the accomodations were first-rate: wireless internet, ample AC, nice bathroom/shower, beautiful pool in the courtyard, protected parking within the walls of the complex (we even had a peacock who took it upon himself to watch over our car while we were there).

I have very fond memories of this hotel and I would recommend it unequivocally to anyone travelling to Valladolid.

  • Stayed: August 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank ds1092
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Valladolid hotels
0.5 mi away
Hotel Posada San Juan
Hotel Posada San Juan
#1 of 15 in Valladolid
355 reviews
0.1 mi away
hotel colonial la aurora
hotel colonial la aurora
#8 of 15 in Valladolid
450 reviews
0.1 mi away
Casa Tia Micha
Casa Tia Micha
#5 of 15 in Valladolid
405 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Ecotel Quinta Regia
Ecotel Quinta Regia
#9 of 15 in Valladolid
327 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hostel Candelaria
Hostel Candelaria
#2 of 15 in Valladolid
557 reviews
0.1 mi away
Casa Marlene
Casa Marlene
#4 of 15 in Valladolid
200 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to El Meson del Marques? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about El Meson del Marques

Address: Calle 39 No. 203 x 40 y 42 | Centro Historico, Valladolid 97780, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Yucatan > Valladolid
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 15 Hotels in Valladolid
Price Range: $62 - $140 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — El Meson del Marques 3.5*
Number of rooms: 90
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
El Meson del Marques is located in the heart of historic Valladolid,a very peaceful and beautiful colonial city filled with history, just 40 kms away from Chichen Itza. The hotel is one of the oldest buildings in the city constructed in the beginning of the XVII century, unique in its combination of historical atmosphere and contemporary acomodations and services. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your El Meson del Marques reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
El Meson Del Marques Hotel Valladolid
El Meson Del Marques Valladolid

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing