We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,609)
Filter reviews
1,609 results
Traveler rating
631
673
175
74
56
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
631
673
175
74
56
Show reviews that mention
All reviews the main square courtyard restaurant meson del marques in town standard room guacamole great restaurant beautiful hotel colonial charm junior suite inner courtyard nice pool ek balam lovely courtyard the air conditioning cenote zaci included breakfast
Filter
Updating list...
783 - 788 of 1,609 reviews
Reviewed June 16, 2007

We have been to this part (The Yucatan & Quintana Roo)of Mexico more than 30 times since 1987. We teach diving and conduct dive travel and have, in recent years, branched out into exploring more of the area. We stopped in Valladolid on our way across to Merida and did not have great expectations...BUT...were pleased to find this hotel. Location in the heart of the city on the zocalo is great. Very little English is spoken so the feel is more authentic than that in the coastal tourist areas. Our Superior room 506 was excellent with a nice view , and everything in order: small fridge,TV,AC and a nice bathroom. We ate an afternoon meal by the garden and found the food and service to be quite good. We shall look for excuses to return to the area and will stay with this hotel again.

Date of stay: May 2007
  • Trip type: Traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank mm617
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 28, 2007

This is a well run place right on the main square. The restaruant is some fine dining for a good price. I recommend the hotel and Valladolid in general as a geat place to stay while exploring the areas ruins. Valladolid was one of the few places in Mexico where I actually felt like I was in Mexico.

Date of stay: April 2007
Thank ezee333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 23, 2007

I think all independent ravellers should be warned about our experience with this hotel.
Towards the end of a three week holiday in Mexico, we decided to book by telephone two nights at this hotel. We placed a booking and were informed that a room would be available - we offered to leave a credit card refernce but were told this would not be necessary.
When we arrived at precisely the time we said, they were expecting us,but then told us they did not have a room available and offered us the master suite which even with a 10% discount cost 3 times the price of the original room.
Staff were most unhelpful and gave no reason why there was suddenly no room.(we dont look like degenerates by the way).
So the moral of the story is dont trust this hotel and go elsewhere.
It is also full of package tours as well if this puts you off.

Date of stay: April 2007
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Honestjohn1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 15, 2007

I stayed @ the hotel because it was like real colonial part of mexico. The staff was professional and friendly. The Hotel is perfect if youre going to chicin and ek balam mayan ruins. The center of town has so much culture.

Date of stay: April 2007
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank jxperez1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 31, 2007

My husband and I spent the night on 20 March 2007 at El Meson de Marques in Valladolid. We had spent an incredible, happy day at Chichen Itza the day before the equinox watching Kul Kul Kan descend El Castillo (wow). It was an easy 30-40 minute drive on the Libre road right from the parking lot of Chichen. We parked in front of the hotel during our efficient check in (right at a 'rush hour' of student and worker traffic), and a helpful attendant helped us into the off-street parking area.
We had an interior room overlooking the restaurant patio, which was lovely. It had a great view of the cathedral and the central plaza. The pool area was very nice, with a small bar well stocked with great tequilas. The hotel and restaurant are noted here and lots of other places as being the best in town. We enjoyed our dinner very much, and the staff were very well spoken and pleasant.
The next day my husband was under the weather, but if it had to happen anywhere on our trip this was the best place - check out isn't until 1:00, the rooms are comfortable, the restaurant has good food at all hours, I could let him rest while I walked around and enjoyed the plaza and nearby neighborhoods, and a dip in the pool. Later we had an enjoyable 2-3 hour drive to Tulum via the Coba road. Next time we'll spend more time in Valladolid at the El Meson to explore more.

Date of stay: March 2007
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank GG711
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews