We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice place - but theft is a problem”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
El Meson del Marques
Ranked #6 of 15 Hotels in Valladolid
Certificate of Excellence
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
20 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Nice place - but theft is a problem”
Reviewed March 10, 2009

Meson Del Marques is most likely the nicest place to stay in Valladolid. The rooms are very comfortable and clean. The service was good at the desk and in helping us park in their secured parking lot.

Unfortunately we were robbed while staying there. I have to take some of the blame on this one because I left my camera in the room without putting it in the safe. It was taken from the room because we had used it just prior to arriving and then found it missing right after we left. The managment was nice about it and asked all the cleaning but unsuprisingly no one had seen it. All I can say is to keep your valuables on you at all times when staying here, which is probably the case in any Mexican hotel.

The restaurant in the hotel had good ambience but the food was average. I would probably stay in a smaller family type place if I went again. This place is only about $60 per night but is still the most expensive in town.

I do no like their policy of having to arrive by 4:00 PM. They only take Discover Card so you cannot secure your reservation unless you have one. After complaining they said I could arrive by 6:00 since we were driving from Tulum.

If you want to go to Valladolid I would reccommend this hotel if you don't have a tollerance for budget choices, otherwise shop around.

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 3monthsineurope
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,332 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    522
    576
    139
    56
    39
See reviews for
303
664
44
21
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (165)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed February 26, 2009

Stayed at the hotel for 3 nights beginning on Feb.18, 2009. Great ambience and surrounding. It is I think the best hotel to stay at in Valladolid. The restaurant at the hotel is great! Service is awesome both at the hotel and at the restaurant. Our room was at the 5th floor with a single bed and a full size bed. Unfortunately, my stay was less than perfect because of the stiff, hard bed that we had in our room. Hopefully the hotel can do about this. Other than this, hotel was great and our stay was wonderful!

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pulutan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver BC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 21, 2009

A restored 17th century hacienda, this hotel is a nice oasis from the busy world outside its doors. Right on the main plaza, just two blocks from the bus station, it has a reasonably-priced restaurant surrounding one courtyard and a lovely swimming pool surrounding another. It was a little pricey for our budget (860 pesos for two matrimonial beds), but well worth it: quiet, pleasant staff, book exchange, great location. Nice big tiled bathrooms, hot water most of the time. We thought we'd stay one or two nights, ended up staying four. Only drawback--our room was at the back and right next to a school with a commandant that insisted on raising the troops at 0700 hours with music and rousing advice over a very loud speaker. But, hey!

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank embeedub
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
Level Contributor
31 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed February 20, 2009

My husband and I and our 2 children (ages 2 1/2 and 5 months) stayed here for 2 nights. We were very impressed with the rooms, the service and the ambiance of this hotel. The restaurant/courtyard is very evocative and the food is terrific. Many of the rooms have little wooden balconies. Our hallway looked over the main square and the church. The staff was very professional, friendly and helpful. While the character of the hotel is very old-world, the rooms and elevator were modern and comfortable, though the beds were a bit hard.

The main square in front of the hotel is undergoing reconstruction; however, this did not hinder our ability to drive to this hotel or to enjoy the square and the rest of Valladolid. We were also not bothered by any noise. It is very quick and easy to get to Chitchen Itza from here and it's great to get to the site early. We didn't arrive there until 9:30 and it was still pretty deserted - by 11:00 there are huge crowds everywhere.

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank dreamoftrains
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
california
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed February 17, 2009

this hotel must once have been very nice. those days are gone I think. The restaurant is still quite lovely and has good food. the hotel is in a great location. the grounds and pool however are looking shabby. our experience was: the hotel was not busy so were given a very, very nice room, with balcony overlooking pool. first drawback: toilet very unreliable. second drawback: during the morning after we arrived, our room key 'expired' because we had not yet paid the second night in cash. the management was not very gracious about these - I got the impression they were sure we were about to leave without paying. The big problem was the next morning, our final day: we have been robbed from hotels in mexico before, so we lock our suitcases routinely, and because we rarely stay in places with safes, we did not use the safe. While we were out for the morning, our suitcase was broken into and $180 USD taken from a zipped pouch deep in a fairly hidden place in the suitcase. The room has a passkey and when we let management know of the robbery, they investigated and it appears that only one other person had entered the room, a worker at the hotel. I imagine that this might have happened because that person thought we were only going to stay the one day and didn't realize we were likely to check our cash before we left. . I think we were very polite about the robbery; I have been an employer in mexico and I know that you have to be careful about accusing a worker of robbery. I think we were extremely courteous about our robbery. But I did not feel the management stepped up to their responsibility, to express some consolation to us. I would have expected perhaps a free drink, dessert, or dinner, maybe a card, something. instead they requested that we not report this on the web. After thinking about it for 2 months I have decided it would be best to share this information. Robberies can happen anywhere, but this management is treating the guests as if they are the potential thieves. the place needs more tlc. I am sure there are better places in town. The only reason we didn't check out other places, was that in December the streets were being torn up with jackhammers for new sewage lines and the Marques was the quietest bet at the time. But I am sure there are some very nice places to stay here. Don't stay at the Marques, just eat there. By the way there are some great aspects to this town, pedestrian walkways, great local ruins and cenotes, I love the town. Just not the management of the hotel.

  • Stayed December 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank garuda4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed February 11, 2009

This is our 4th visit to Valladolid and 1st stay at Meson del Marques. Previous visitors appear to have experienced rudeness from staff, however every staff member we encountered, from the desk clerks to the service staff were pleasant and extremely helpful. We arrived without reservation and chose a superior room in the far back building at $850 MP. The room was clean and well appointed. The beds are extremely firm, as is the case in most low-middle priced Mexican hotels outside the resort areas. Our bathroom was clean though not remodelled as appears in a recent photo of a junior suite. 2 complementary bottles of water were provided, with the option to purchase additional at $17 MP per. The pharmacia on the Zocalo sells water at a more conventional price. The only minor annoyance is that immediately behind the hotel is a school, and they begin playing music on their PA system to greet the students at 0640 - I didn't mind the music until the Celine Dion kicked in...Por Dios! make it stop!
"Centro" in any Mexican city is noisy in the morning so bring earplugs or find somewhere in the boonies if you want to sleep late - otherwise get up, grab a coffee, go for an early stroll and enjoy the sights and sounds of this charming city...you can sleep when you're dead!
The repair of the road surrounding the Zocalo is nearly complete and the sidewalk in front of Meson del Marques has been widened. A front door pull-in has also been constructed for guests arriving by car. The municipal water pipes were replaced so the lack of water issues in the hotel appear to have been resolved. Water pressure is still quite low so if you want to shower, rise early and beat the competition.
We have had dinner here on previous visits and the food, service, and cleanliness of the kitchen is excellent. Breakfast is reasonably priced and accommodates gringo tastes. You can raise a lot of pigs and chickens for the expense of raising one cow, and you may have noticed the lack of lush rolling grass lands on your drive in. If you order beef in Yucatan - get out your wallet.
Check-out is 1 PM. Hotel accepts only American Express credit cards. There is a cash machine next door to the hotel, and machines at Banamex and Bancomer on the Zocalo.

  • Liked — The ambience of the old colonial building
  • Disliked — Could use a booster for water pressure
  • Stayed February 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CalgarySnowhater
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ravenna, Italy
Level Contributor
66 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed February 8, 2009

We chose a junior suite just to have a beautiful room but we didn’t know how it was. It was really wonderful as you can see from the attached picture. Pay attention when you pay, the receptionist gave us the wrong change (50 pesos left). Don’t take the meat at the restaurant !! I chose a steack even if the menu didn’t state the price as it was according to the weight. Since I already took the same plate in other restaurant even on the Mayan Riviera which is quite expensive compared to others areas I was not afraid about the bill. Big mistake! The steack cost 260 pesos. The hotel has a parking.

  • Liked — The room
  • Disliked — The front in desk
  • Stayed January 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Levante06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Valladolid hotels
0.5 mi away
Hotel Posada San Juan
Hotel Posada San Juan
#1 of 15 in Valladolid
301 reviews
0.1 mi away
hotel colonial la aurora
hotel colonial la aurora
#8 of 15 in Valladolid
418 reviews
0.1 mi away
Casa Tia Micha
Casa Tia Micha
#5 of 15 in Valladolid
384 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hostel Candelaria
Hostel Candelaria
#2 of 15 in Valladolid
523 reviews
0.8 mi away
Zentik Boutique Hotel
Zentik Boutique Hotel
#3 of 15 in Valladolid
177 reviews
0.1 mi away
Maria de la Luz Hotel
Maria de la Luz Hotel
#12 of 15 in Valladolid
259 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to El Meson del Marques? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about El Meson del Marques

Property: El Meson del Marques
Address: Calle 39 No. 203 x 40 y 42 | Centro Historico, Valladolid 97780, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Yucatan > Valladolid
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 15 Hotels in Valladolid
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — El Meson del Marques 3.5*
Number of rooms: 90
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
El Meson del Marques is located in the heart of historic Valladolid,a very peaceful and beautiful colonial city filled with history, just 40 kms away from Chichen Itza. The hotel is one of the oldest buildings in the city constructed in the beginning of the XVII century, unique in its combination of historical atmosphere and contemporary acomodations and services. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, Priceline and HotelQuickly so you can book your El Meson del Marques reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
El Meson Del Marques Hotel Valladolid
El Meson Del Marques Valladolid

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing