We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,578)
Filter reviews
1,578 results
Traveler rating
621
663
168
73
53
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
621
663
168
73
53
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsthe main squarecourtyard restaurantmeson del marquesin townguacamolestandard roomcolonial hotelgreat restaurantjunior suitebeautiful courtyardnice poolek balamcenote zacithe air conditioningsecure parkingbreakfast was includedrental car
Filter
Updating list...
458 - 463 of 1,578 reviews
Reviewed January 9, 2014

Our family of 4 stayed here for 2 nights in December and found it to be just what we were looking for. Our room was large, clean and comfortable (we are not picky when it comes to mattresses). It is ideally located across from the main plaza and within walking distance to the bus station, cenote, parks, plazas, restaurants etc...

We found the hotel and restaurant staff to be very friendly and helpful. We ate breakfast at the hotel each morning and it was very relaxing in a beautiful courtyard. The view from the small pool up to the rooms at night was enchanting. Though the pool was small and chilly, it was a welcome respite from the midday heat.

We would definitely visit the town of Valladolid again and would stay at El Meson del Marques.

Room Tip: We stayed on the 4th floor overlooking the pool and loved our room.
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rainy2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rodrigo E, Director General at El Meson del Marques, responded to this reviewResponded January 14, 2014

Hello,

Thanks for your comment on Tripadvisor, I appreciate the time you spent to write about us. Your words motivate us to better work every day, this year we will have updates and new services to all our guests and restaurant clients.

We will have a general meeting on Saturday January, personally I will show them your kindly comment, thank you again.

It was a pleasure to serve you, come back soon, we will be waiting for all of you.

- Rodrigo Escalante

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 6, 2014

Our room was tiny but super cute. We had a good view and the location is fantastic. The bed however was super hard and the pillows were hard as well. We didn't sleep so good, which is a bummer because the service, decor and location are great.

The internet was really bad too, I understand because its free it is not always good, but when I am traveling I use the internet to figure stuff out, like where is the bus station located...the front desk agents were helpful though so it worked out.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WanderlustSal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rodrigo E, Director General at El Meson del Marques, responded to this reviewResponded January 8, 2014

Hello,

Thank you for your comments and suggestions. We have received several criticisms about our mattresses and pillows, reason why we are just waiting for new mattresses and pillows to begin immediate change and all our guests can rest comfortably. Thanks for the suggestion.

The internet is free, unfortunately not all the hotel has a good sign because tits a colonial building and the walls are thick, it is virtually impossible to reach the Internet in all areas, but definitely the common areas, the restaurant and most rooms have good internet reception.

Thanks for your comments about the receptionists, I will send a copy of your comments to the front desk department.

I hope you have had a great vacation in Mexico.

Best Regards,

- Rodrigo Escalante

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 31, 2013

Most of the rooms at El Meson are not in the original buildings at all. They're in a motel-ish couple of buildings in the courtyard. I could definitely tell on the website but have to say that it is still misleading. That said, besides the cheap furniture, bad pillows and motel room-ish smell, our "superior room" was clean, relatively inexpensive and had a great shower in a small but nice bathroom. We had no view. The hotel itself does not really provide a sanctuary from the noise and exhaust and dust of this rough-around-the-edges town. The courtyard restaurant, though it serves good food, is much in need of a decor overhaul. The pool area is adjacent to the parking lot and is seriously lacking in charm. Perhaps, if Valladolid ever becomes Yucatan's version of San Miguel De Allende as the NY Times, USA Today and the SF Chronical suggests, El Meson will make the upgrades necessary to warrant a real four star rating. Right now it falls far short. But so does the town, which is no Oaxaca.
*** Finally... besides the above, I left my ipad in my room by accident and when we called we were hung up on twice.

Room Tip: Ask for a suite in the main historic building.
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rmf1967
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rodrigo E, Director General at El Meson del Marques, responded to this reviewResponded January 2, 2014

Hello,

Thank you very much for your words, we regret that your experience has not been thoroughly enjoyable at Hotel Meson del Marques. Thank you for your suggestions and we will work better and stronger every day, to meet the expectations of our customers.

Happy New year!

- Rodrigo Escalante

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 30, 2013

We stayed one night after visiting Chichen'Itza. Conveniently located in the center of the city, right on the plaza. Room was small, obviously older, but clean and adequate for our purposes and expectations. The "view" outside our window was of an enclosed storage area of the hotel, so obviously not the greatest, but we did not spend time in the room looking out, just took advantage of the fresh air that we could retrieve with the window at night. Staff at front desk and parking attendant were friendly and helpful. We did not eat in the adjoining restaurant, but instead ventured out into the city and were pleased with options there.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jane R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rodrigo E, Director General at El Meson del Marques, responded to this reviewResponded January 2, 2014

Hello,

Thank you for your words and for choosing the Hotel Meson del Marques. The location of the hotel is excellent to visit various tourist destinations in Valladolid. We will make the changes necessary to satisfy all our customers.

Greetings and Happy New Year.

- Rodrigo Escalante

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 27, 2013

Stayed here new years eve. Ordered room service (took very long and did not taste good). The next morning we wanted breakfast which would be served at 07:00 then at 08:00 and finally at 09:30 it was served. Overrated and overpriced in our opinion. But to each it's own.
Better stay somewhere else and eat at the local market next to this place. Better food better value.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dutchpair
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rodrigo E, Director General at El Meson del Marques, responded to this reviewResponded January 2, 2014

Hello,

Thank you for your words and comments. I'll talk to the Chef and the Food and Beverage Managers to improve our service. I ask an apology for the slow service, but we have had many people in the restaurant. We try to give our best every day.

Greetings and Happy New Year.

- Rodrigo Escalante

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews