We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,577)
Filter reviews
1,577 results
Traveler rating
620
663
168
73
53
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
620
663
168
73
53
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsthe main squarecourtyard restaurantmeson del marquesin townguacamolestandard roomcolonial hotelgreat restaurantjunior suitebeautiful courtyardnice poolek balamcenote zacithe air conditioningsecure parkingbreakfast was includedrental car
Filter
Updating list...
462 - 467 of 1,577 reviews
Reviewed December 27, 2013

So we took our chances and headed toward Chichen Izta with no idea where we would stay. We stumbled upon this quaint hotel when we arrived in Valladolid and were so glad we did. Our room was not huge but was nicely decorated with a small balcony overlooking the pretty courtyard and pool. The restaurant food was very good, and the staff members were friendly and helpful. It is centrally located and reasonably priced with parking on the property. We felt safe here as Americans venturing on our own away from the resort strip on the coast - but half expected to see the cast from Romancing the Stone at any moment.

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking the courtyard - likely to be more quiet.
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PatMellen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rodrigo E, Director General at El Meson del Marques, responded to this reviewResponded January 2, 2014

Hello,

Thank you very much for your words and comments. Thank you for choosing the Hotel Meson del Marques. I hope you have had a nice vacation in the Yucatan Peninsula.

Greetings and Happy New Year.

- Rodrigo Escalante

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 22, 2013

The only positive fact about this hotel is that it is centrally located.
We were given a small room in the corner of the hotel,it was not possible to move inside it.The sink in the bathroom was broken,the balcony was 0,5 x 0,5 m large overlooking some plastic construction and the garbage,a terrible noise was coming from outside.An extremely dark and depressive place to sleep in. We even had to come back for one night more but we chose to travel 6 hours by bus rather than to come back to that disgusting place. Furthermore,they charged us that night although we cancelled it 5 days before!
In internet they sell you a so called continental breakfast but once you are there they give you a juice,a cup of coffee,a piece of bread and butter and an egg.
Anyway,the worst of all is the staff,especially one girl at the reception whose name I have fortunately forgotten,an unpolite and particularly rude person.She didn't even tell us that we had to pay everything in cash,they don't let you charge your drink on your room although they have credit card guarantee.Terrible experience!!!
We went there because of the good reviews but we where terribly misteken.If you want to see Chichen Itza and Ek Balam as we wanted,try one of the resorts at Chichen,they look far better than this place. I really have travelled a lot but such a bad service I have never encountered.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pina V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rodrigo E, Director General at El Meson del Marques, responded to this reviewResponded December 27, 2013

Hello,

Thanks for your words and for the comments. Personally I appreciate the time you took to write in trip advisor about us.

The General Manager, The Reservations Manager, The Food and Beverage Managers and myself personally have attended and worked in your comments. Thoroughly reviewed your case and monitor all our cancellation policies , food and beverages charges, as well as customer service from the receptionists and all the staff who work every day at the Hotel Meson del Marques .

For the comfort of all our guests , we have different types of rooms. Each has a different style. The room that you had , was cheapest one but with the facilities and amenities needed.

It's a shame that impression of our hotel with , but thanks to your comments , we will strive every day to work and provide the best service to all our customers deserve .

Greetings and Happy New Year!

- Rodrigo Escalante

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 18, 2013

The hotel grounds are quite large with several structures with parking and swimming pool in the center of the property. The entrance and front desk is opposite the plaza, while the restaurant entrance is on the plaza. The rooms have hot water, a/c and wifi which was nice after roughing it for a few days. The best reason to stay here is the location! Plenty of things to do right outside your door.

Room Tip: Choose the newer section of the hotel; larger rooms with more modern amenities
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bigmoefan1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rodrigo E, Director General at El Meson del Marques, responded to this reviewResponded December 27, 2013

Hello,

Thank you very much for your feedback, we hope you had a great vacation in Mexico.

On your next visit to Yucatan, do not forget to visit us again.

Greetings and Happy New Year!

- Rodrigo Escalante

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 13, 2013

There is a certain colonial charm to El Meson del Marques. Our small room was in the older part of the hotel. It overlooked the spacious hotel courtyard with its fountain and restaurant. Beyond that we could see the top of the cathedral. A beautiful flowering tree, alive with butterflies and humming birds, was almost within touching distance. We opened the double doors to the balcony only to find that it had decayed and our progress was halted by a metal bar. Breakfast was poor. Staff appeared dour. We had a disappointing meal in the restaurant ( see my separate review ). There is a small pool which we did not use.
El Meson is ideally located beside the attractive main square and close to most of the historical buildings which the town has to offer. Fancy a swim? Forget the hotel pool...head for the dramatic Cenote Zaci which is only four blocks away from the hotel.

Room Tip: Rooms in the new wing are probably larger and more modern
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank peartree69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rodrigo E, Director General at El Meson del Marques, responded to this reviewResponded December 27, 2013

Hello,

Thanks for your words and for choosing the Hotel Meson del Marques as your place of lodging in Valladolid.

I hope all your holidays in Yucatan have been pleasant.

Thanks also for your comment about our restaurant (see attached message) we work every day to offer all our customers quality food and excellent taste, also in customer service.

Greetings and Happy New Year.

- Rodrigo Escalante

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 10, 2013

This hotel is small but with old world charm. It was comfortable and clean with a modern shower. The location is great - just a couple of blocks from the ADO bus station. The staff were super nice, helpful, and friendly. And, they do want their payment in pesos - not US dollars.

Room Tip: Get in the old part of the hotel where the restaurant is. We stayed on the 4th floor. It has a roof deck where you can sit and view the beautiful church all lit up at night!
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank jackientx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rodrigo E, Director General at El Meson del Marques, responded to this reviewResponded December 13, 2013

Hello,

Thanks for your comments about our service, staff who work every day in the hotel and our facilities.

The hotel has an excellent location, is located in the historic center of Valladolid.

I appreciate your comments about paying rooms, I will speak with my Reservations Manager, because we accept Pesos, Dollars, Visa, Master Card and American Express credit cards.

Greetings to California and we wish you happy holidays.

- Rodrigo Escalante

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews