We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,587)
Filter reviews
1,587 results
Traveler rating
623
668
169
74
53
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
623
668
169
74
53
Show reviews that mention
All reviews the main square courtyard restaurant in town guacamole standard room colonial hotel great restaurant junior suite beautiful courtyard nice pool ek balam cenote zaci the air conditioning secure parking breakfast was included rental car ado bus station
Filter
Updating list...
467 - 472 of 1,587 reviews
Reviewed December 13, 2013

There is a certain colonial charm to El Meson del Marques. Our small room was in the older part of the hotel. It overlooked the spacious hotel courtyard with its fountain and restaurant. Beyond that we could see the top of the cathedral. A beautiful flowering tree, alive with butterflies and humming birds, was almost within touching distance. We opened the double doors to the balcony only to find that it had decayed and our progress was halted by a metal bar. Breakfast was poor. Staff appeared dour. We had a disappointing meal in the restaurant ( see my separate review ). There is a small pool which we did not use.
El Meson is ideally located beside the attractive main square and close to most of the historical buildings which the town has to offer. Fancy a swim? Forget the hotel pool...head for the dramatic Cenote Zaci which is only four blocks away from the hotel.

Room Tip: Rooms in the new wing are probably larger and more modern
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank peartree69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rodrigo E, Director General at El Meson del Marques, responded to this reviewResponded December 27, 2013

Hello,

Thanks for your words and for choosing the Hotel Meson del Marques as your place of lodging in Valladolid.

I hope all your holidays in Yucatan have been pleasant.

Thanks also for your comment about our restaurant (see attached message) we work every day to offer all our customers quality food and excellent taste, also in customer service.

Greetings and Happy New Year.

- Rodrigo Escalante

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 10, 2013

This hotel is small but with old world charm. It was comfortable and clean with a modern shower. The location is great - just a couple of blocks from the ADO bus station. The staff were super nice, helpful, and friendly. And, they do want their payment in pesos - not US dollars.

Room Tip: Get in the old part of the hotel where the restaurant is. We stayed on the 4th floor. It has a roof deck where you can sit and view the beautiful church all lit up at night!
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank jackientx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rodrigo E, Director General at El Meson del Marques, responded to this reviewResponded December 13, 2013

Hello,

Thanks for your comments about our service, staff who work every day in the hotel and our facilities.

The hotel has an excellent location, is located in the historic center of Valladolid.

I appreciate your comments about paying rooms, I will speak with my Reservations Manager, because we accept Pesos, Dollars, Visa, Master Card and American Express credit cards.

Greetings to California and we wish you happy holidays.

- Rodrigo Escalante

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 10, 2013

Our group of 21 travelers originally had been booked into a competing hotel in Valladolid, but our travel agent upgraded us to El Meson del Marques. We couldn't have been more delighted. Arriving late at night during a rainstorm, our luggage was unloaded, check-in for the group was finished in a matter of minutes and by the time we found our way to our rooms, the luggage was dry and waiting for us. The hotel is centered around a courtyard that looks like it was moved directly from a Mediterranean villa: a beautiful sculpted fountain in the center of a garden surrounded by a partially outdoor restaurant. Although the rooms were on the Spartan side and quite small compared to American hotels, everything was fresh, bright and clean. Breakfast at the hotel was all waiter-service and the splendid coffee was enough to consider booking this hotel for a next trip.

Room Tip: Try to book a room wtih a balcony overlooking the courtyeard.
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank altekacher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rodrigo E, Director General at El Meson del Marques, responded to this reviewResponded December 13, 2013

Hello,

Thanks for your comments about our service and the staff who work for you every day at the Hotel El Meson del Marques.

It is a pride for all of us read comments like yours. All these comments are read at general meetings and we all felt very happy to know that we provide all of you with an excellent service.

We hope your holidays have been enjoyable in Mexico.

We hope you come back soon.

Greetings and Happy Holidays to Florida !!!

- Rodrigo Escalante

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 8, 2013

For the price, this is the best hotel in Valladolid! It's conveniently located on the town square, and has a great restaurant in the courtyard. We enjoyed being in the center of town, as there is always something going on in the park facing the hotel. While we were in town, there was a boxing match right in the middle of the town square!

What was good:
-Food was excellent and reasonably priced (Breakfast was 60 pesos, Dinner 70 pesos)
-Location is right in the middle of town and walking distance to pretty much everything (cenotes, churches, shopping)
-Free parking
-Great colonial architecture, a real "Spanish" feel
-Friendly, welcoming staff that were wonderful with our requests and needs.

What was bad:
-Beds were insanely hard. We actually had to pay for an upgrade as the room we were assigned had beds that felt like concrete, and there were no other rooms available in our room category. On the plus side, our upgrade (400 pesos extra a night) to a Junior suite scored us a huge room with a terrace and a much more comfortable bed).
-Mosquitos everywhere. I had about 10 bites after sitting outside for an hour.
-Small pool and no hot tub

Make sure to visit the leather store that is right next to the hotel on the square - you can see the leather master making the shoes, and purchase wonderful leather goods for great prices. Also make sure to visit cenote Dzitnup. The fish that live in the cenote eat the dead skin from your feet, and it is a really strange and fun feeling. It's similar to a "fish pedicure" that will cost you $90 dollars in the US, but it could be yours for 56 pesos!

Valladolid was one of our favorite experiences on our Mexican vacation, and we can't wait to return to explore more.

Room Tip: Upgrade to a junior suite - it's worth it for the space and beds that aren't rock hard.
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MeLiElHe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rodrigo E, Director General at El Meson del Marques, responded to this reviewResponded December 13, 2013

Hello,

Thanks for all your comments, suggestions and the time you took to write us. All your words are useful to improve our service and our facilities. Besides that we are in constant communication with the Department of Tourism Valladolid and in our meetings we discussed the experiences of all our visitors.

We appreciate the good things that we wrote about the hotel and the food and beverage service we offer.

We know that some of our rooms have the problem of hard beds, but it is a problem that will be resolved soon, as new beds were purchased a few weeks ago and need to get these days. We know that with this purchase, the small detail of our hard beds will be resolved.

With your comments, we know they had a great experience in Valladolid, Pueblo Magico of Mexico, hope you come back soon.

Greetings and Happy Holidays to Wisconsin !!!

- Rodrigo Escalante

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 27, 2013

The hotel was ok - we'd stayed there before and liked it. The problem was that some idiots on the town council had decided that it would be appropriate, and a good idea to have a rock/pop band - interspersed with recorded stuff ranging from heavy metal to mexican sort-of-rap pounding out at threshold of pain levels from 7pm until 2am...Our room was in the newer section of the hotel so, theoretically buttressed by the stone walls of the old building. Nevertheless the notes from the bass made the walls of the room vibrate and the overall sound rattled the windows. The singers (sic) seemed to be in the next room. I know, having spoken to him, that the owner of the hotel is furious about this situation but has no redress. A beautiful peaceful town has been turned into a nightmare - I and my friends, needing to rise early, got about two hours sleep.That's four people's contributions to Valladolid's economy now lost for good. There must be many others who think the same way.The 'music' - caterwauling, shouting and screaming for much of the time was beyond LOUD! We'll never go back to Valladolid.

Room Tip: go to another town
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ecurb1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rodrigo E, Director General at El Meson del Marques, responded to this reviewResponded December 3, 2013

Hello,

We are eternally grateful for your comments, it is disrespectful for tourists and for the people of Valladolid music to extraordinary levels. Valladolid is a colonial city, full of traditions, beautiful tourist destinations and the people are very friendly.

I hope someday you return and give us the opportunity to change this bad image that was taken from Valladolid.

Personally I will speak with the Director of Tourism and President of Valladolid, because you definitely are absolutely right.

- Rodrigo Escalante
Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews