We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Bring torch to restaurant! Hotel is lovely colonial setting.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
El Meson del Marques
Ranked #6 of 15 Hotels in Valladolid
Certificate of Excellence
Lewes, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
374 reviews
86 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 663 helpful votes
“Bring torch to restaurant! Hotel is lovely colonial setting.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 4, 2013

This was our first stop on a comprehensive tour of Central America (Mexico, Guartemala, Honduras & Belize). The staff at the hotel at the hotel are lovely, and the hotel has a quaint colonial style. It is centrally placed on the cathedral square in Vallaqdolid. The restaurant is situated around a central courtyard, with a fountain at the centre- very relaxing, but also quite dark, so a torch would be useful to read the menu, and to check your bill at the end! My wife had a tomato/spaghetti dish and I chose the fish with garlic-together with coffee. The meal was good and not expensive, and the service excellent. Rooms in the hotel were clean and spacious - a very good start to our "holiday"

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank malholme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rodrigo E, Gerente at El Meson del Marques, responded to this review, November 12, 2013
Hello,

Thank you very much for your comments about the restaurant, the food and the rooms. We appreciate the time they took to write.

We hope your entire trip to Central America was pleasant.

Thank you for considering us as a good start to your holiday.

Regards,

- Rodrigo Escalante
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,336 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    523
    578
    140
    56
    39
See reviews for
305
665
44
21
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (165)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cape Town
Level Contributor
39 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 1, 2013

Really enjoyed the setting of this hotel , lovely pool area and communal areas. Rooms were decent (beds could be a little more comfy). The restaurant is not as good as its ratings though is a beautiful setting. The hotel is in prime location, could not get better , and the parking facilities are great. Breakfasts were the best we had in Mexico and included eggs and bacon etc. I would recommend this hotel and certainly stay there again.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AndreaCapeTown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rodrigo E, Gerente at El Meson del Marques, responded to this review, November 4, 2013
Hello,

Thank you very much for your comment, we really appreciate that you have chosen the Hotel Meson del Marques as your place to stay in Valladolid

We appreciate constructive criticism of the beds in the rooms and we are working to solve that detail.

Definitely we want all our guests to feel comfortable and pleasant stay.

Best regards and hope to return soon.

- Rodrigo Escalante
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roxbury, CT
Level Contributor
124 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 125 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 16, 2013

We stayed for one night while visiting lovely town of Valladolid in October 2013. Well worth the trip from Cancun and a great change of pace for a taste of authentic Mexico. Valladolid is the "anti-Cancun". The Hotel grounds are beautiful and the hotel occupies a historic building right on the main square in town-location, location, location. The staff was attentive to our needs and provided excellent service. Our room was a Master Suite. What a gorgeous room, bathroom and large patio overlooking the main square. We cant fault the hotel for anything. We truly enjoyed our stay and wished we had more time to stay longer. You cant miss with this hotel. If you travel to Valladolid, stay at the El Meson del Marques you will not be disappointed.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank stonecroft
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rodrigo E, Gerente at El Meson del Marques, responded to this review, November 4, 2013
Hello,

Thank you very much for your words, for your comment. We are grateful for having chosen the Hotel Meson del Marques as your place to stay in Valladolid.

Master Suites Rooms, are unique, very nice and spacious. Each is designed with a special touch.

The city of Valladolid, is totally Colonial, is a beautiful city to visit, as well as visit the various tourist destinations that are around it.

We hope you visit us again very soon.

Best regards,

- Rodrigo Escalante
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
manhattan, ks
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 16, 2013 via mobile

We stayed three nights at el Meson del Marques and enjoyed everthing about this hotel. We had breakfast included in our room rate and really loved starting the day in their beautiful restaurant, which opens directly onto the main plaza, we thought the food and service were very good. The rooms aren't large, but were spacious enough for two adults. The beds are extremely hard. I have traveled throughout Yucatan and surrounding states and am accustomed to hard beds in Mexico, but these beds put all other hard beds to shame. Our room was very clean, all of the staff that we encountered were very friendly.The hotel grounds offer several comfortable places to sit outside, the pool was nice and clean. This hotel is perfectly located to explore Valladolid, we easily walked to cenote Zaci, Convent de San Bernardino de Siena. It was great to be right on the plaza, easy to go for a walk in the evening, or just sit in the park. We also walked each directon from the plaza, shopping in local stores and restaurants and never had difficulty finding our way back. We found a lavanderia across the street from cenote Zaci,with a price of $10 pesos per kilo of laundry, we saw others but they never seemed to be open. Right next to Meson del Marques is a loncheria, I recommend el Amigo Casiano - they have tacos, salbutes and panuchos for $8 pesos each, we ate there twice and it was always full of local people, which is the best recommendation when choosing a place to eat! I really enjoyed my stay in Valladolid, and would return to this hotel again.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank carrie-a-go
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rodrigo E, Gerente at El Meson del Marques, responded to this review, November 4, 2013
Hello, thank you very much for your comments and for choosing the Hotel El Meson del Marques as your place of stay in Valladolid.

It's nice to know that you stayed several nights in Valladolid and had a good experience.

The convent of San Bernardino de Siena and the Cenote Zaci are two tourist attractions in the town.

We will consider your comments about the hard beds, personally supervise this problem and give an immediate solution.

Please visit us again the next time you return to Yucatan.

Best regards,

- Rodrigo Escalante
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
Level Contributor
162 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 15, 2013

Stayed for 2 nights in October, and I can't really fault this hotel on anything.
Room was clean and functional... not an American-chain style of course, but that's part of the attraction: to experience a really good local hotel.

The building is very attractive, being a former private residence. The restaurant is situated around a pleasant open courtyard and was good both nights we ate there. The restaurant opens directly on to the main town square, but for check-in purposes, note that the hotel front desk is actually one block further north, on Calle 37.

There is ample attended parking accessible from that street.

There's a large pool. Staff were efficient and friendly; we had laundry done and it was completed very promptly.

All in all, a most enjoyable stay. We would like to return.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank xtenkfarpl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rodrigo E, Gerente at El Meson del Marques, responded to this review, November 4, 2013
Thank you very much for your comment. We appreciate that you have chosen the Hotel Meson del Marques as your place of stay in Valladolid.

Thank you for your comments about the food, we hope to visit us again soon.

Greetings to Florida.

- Rodrigo Escalante
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cozumel, Quintana Roo, Mexico
Level Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 8, 2013

Booked for one night the first week of October. My son booked two rooms after reading the reviews, Wish we could have stayed longer. Loved that it was right on the square and on Sunday night after we returned to the hotel sat in really comfy lounge chairs on the balcony off our rooms and listened to the music till they quit around 9:00pm. Warm balmy night, shooting stars and great company. The reviews said to book towards the back but I thought we were in a perfect spot. We were in rooms 308 and 309....with a huge expansive lounging deck towards the front of the hotel and small balcony on the backside overlooking the pool. Every thing was very clean,pool clean but not heated, room nice and spacious, huge shower, decor simple but in keeping with the Mexican theme....staff friendly and free parking in the courtyard behind the hotel...Didn't eat in the restaurant but looked like a beautiful room.. Working on booking another trip back to Valladolid and spending more than one night....

Room Tip: rooms 308 and 309
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Corinne A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rodrigo E, Gerente at El Meson del Marques, responded to this review, October 11, 2013
Hi Corinne,

First of all, many thanks for having chosen the Hotel Meson del Marques as your place of lodging in Valladolid, Yucatan.

Every Sunday, the Municipal Government organizes "Domingos Vallisoletanos" in which you can enjoy different cultural activities and at 8 pm, "Banda Del Recuerdo" starts playing for one hour.

The balconies that we have on the 4th floor of the hotel, is an excellent place to relax, read a book and enjoy the beautiful view of the main square. It is one of my favorite places!

We hope that on your next visit to Valladolid, you stay with us and have the opportunity to eat in our restaurant and enjoy our Yucatecan dishes, truly a delight!

Greetings from Valladolid.

LAET Rodrigo Escalante
General Manager
Hotel El Meson del Marques
gerencia@mesondelmarques.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chapel Hill, North Carolina
Level Contributor
145 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 17, 2013

The last few times we've visited the Yucatan we have been stopping by the El Mason del Marques to have lunch. On our most recent trip we decided to actually spend a night in Valladolid and stay at the hotel.

We got a standard room with a king bed. The room was nice, although it was a bit small compared to some of the other rooms we stayed in during our trip. The bed was hard, but we both slept well on it, so I won't complain about it. I think if we stay there again we will consider getting a room the next grade up. The hotel rates are very reasonable, so even the upgraded room would be a good value.

The hotel's location is excellent, right in the main square. They have parking, which was a huge plus. The staff was great and we really enjoy the restaurant. Unfortunately it was raining like heck the night we were there, so we didn't get to explore Valladolid after dark. But we both want to visit again and we will definitely stay at El Mason del Marques again.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MGG56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rodrigo E, Gerente at El Meson del Marques, responded to this review, September 24, 2013
Hello,

We appreciate your words and the time you spent to write your comment on Tripadvisor.

The Hotel Meson del Marques is committed to the quality of our services and provide excellent facilities, personally supervise beds standard rooms. Thanks for the comment.

Please contact us on your next trip to Yucatan, our mail for room reservations is reservaciones@mesondelmarques.com

We have rooms in category Standard, Superior, Junior Suite and Master Suite.

We hope to return soon, we will be happy to assist you.

Greetings to North Carolina.

- LAET Rodrigo Escalante
General Manager
gerencia@mesondelmarques.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Valladolid hotels
0.5 mi away
Hotel Posada San Juan
Hotel Posada San Juan
#1 of 15 in Valladolid
5.0 of 5 bubbles 302 reviews
0.1 mi away
hotel colonial la aurora
hotel colonial la aurora
#8 of 15 in Valladolid
4.0 of 5 bubbles 420 reviews
0.1 mi away
Casa Tia Micha
Casa Tia Micha
#5 of 15 in Valladolid
5.0 of 5 bubbles 384 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hostel Candelaria
Hostel Candelaria
#2 of 15 in Valladolid
4.5 of 5 bubbles 526 reviews
0.1 mi away
Maria de la Luz Hotel
Maria de la Luz Hotel
#12 of 15 in Valladolid
3.5 of 5 bubbles 259 reviews
0.5 mi away
Ecotel Quinta Regia
Ecotel Quinta Regia
#9 of 15 in Valladolid
4.0 of 5 bubbles 308 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to El Meson del Marques? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about El Meson del Marques

Property: El Meson del Marques
Address: Calle 39 No. 203 x 40 y 42 | Centro Historico, Valladolid 97780, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Yucatan > Valladolid
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 15 Hotels in Valladolid
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — El Meson del Marques 3.5*
Number of rooms: 90
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
El Meson del Marques is located in the heart of historic Valladolid,a very peaceful and beautiful colonial city filled with history, just 40 kms away from Chichen Itza. The hotel is one of the oldest buildings in the city constructed in the beginning of the XVII century, unique in its combination of historical atmosphere and contemporary acomodations and services. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Cancelon, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your El Meson del Marques reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
El Meson Del Marques Hotel Valladolid
El Meson Del Marques Valladolid

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing