We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
El Meson del Marques
Ranked #6 of 15 Hotels in Valladolid
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Beautiful Hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 28, 2013

This hotel has everything you could want for in a hotel. Great location situated right in the town square, great restaurant & service and a lovely room. In my opinion I had the best room in the hotel complete with balcony overlooking the pool. Wish we could have stayed longer it was so nice. Breakfast was served in the lovely garden courtyard and was excellent. Dinner the previous night we dined in a private room with our group of 9. Meal was very substantial and the wine was superb and so too wrere the cocktails. Had to be the best hotel we stayed on the whole Mexico trip.

Room Tip: Ask for a room ovelooking the pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank vicki_travelqueen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rodrigo E, Gerente at El Meson del Marques, responded to this review, July 5, 2013
Thank you very much for your comments, your words motivate us and help us work better day by day.

Regards,

Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,336 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    523
    578
    140
    56
    39
See reviews for
305
665
44
21
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (165)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Tulum, Mexico
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 24, 2013

I love this place restaurant, it has really amazing food plus excellent service. Problems are at the hotel: mattress are really awful, my back hurt so much... and quite expensive (silly) prices for room service such as $140 for 3 waters and a lemonade :(

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rejitas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rodrigo E, Gerente at El Meson del Marques, responded to this review, July 5, 2013
Thank you very much for your comments, we would like to inform you that currently are changing the mattresses on the beds for the convenience and comfort of our guests.

Room service prices are in all rooms are at disposal and customer information.

We hope your understanding and we are at your command.

Regards,

Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cancun, Mexico
Level Contributor
78 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 24, 2013

The city of Valladolid, about 100 miles away from Cancun was the original seat of the Yucatan's peninsula powers when Spain conquered Mexico. Like most of Mexican cities and towns there is a central plaza with a beautiful baroque cathedral and across was the house of the "Adelantado" or Governor. Also a beautiful building with high ceilings, thick walls, incredible architecture dating back to the 17th century, a central patio with a fountain and astonishing greenery. Around this patio is the hotel's restaurant. Behind this there is a pristine pool and about 90 rooms. Because, yes: The house of the Governor is now the Meson del Marques hotel.

Since 1964 it has been owned by a family: The Father is the Administrator, the Mother is the Manager, the Daughter is the F&B and the Son oversees the Marketing and Sales.

My wife and I abscond to this gem as often as we can, generally for long weekends. The service is second to none, the food is to die for, as are the drinks. The people of the Yucatan are simply fabulous hosts.

There are several types of rooms, spotlessly clean with A/C. True, it is not your run-of-the-mill tourist facility and I understand if your idea is US architecture you will find the accomodations rather sober. But every necessity is fulfilled. We've never had any problem with any installation.

In exchange, you get a little piece of heaven during your stay. It doesn't take long to visit Valladolid. It is smallish. But just having a swim in the pool, enjoying a good book, eating at the restaurant, both Mexican and international fare are wonderful.

I assure you: Try it once and you'll be hitched. Caveat: Not for plastic hotel fans.

Room Tip: This time we had a Suite. Wow! 4th floor. But we've had double rooms as well. Those I like on th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pwinkler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rodrigo E, Gerente at El Meson del Marques, responded to this review, July 5, 2013
Thank you very much for your comments and for your nice words about the city of Valladolid and the Hotel El Meson del Marques.

Every day we work to provide a quality service. Our team is comprised of people of Yucatan.

We are very pleased to have the opportunity to meet people like you.

We hope to visit us soon.

Regards

Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarasota, Florida
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 15, 2013

My husband, son, and I made a spur of the moment trip to Valladolid on June 5 to escape the torrential rain in Playa del Carmen, and we are so happy that we did. Thanks to the rain we discovered a delightful gem of a town and had a wonderful stay at El Meson del Marques. The hotel itself just oozes charm with balconies overlooking the inner courtyard with a small swimming pool. Rooms are very clean and both of our rooms had strong air conditioning so we were quite comfortable. The restaurant is also very charming and occupies another inner courtyard with a central fountain. Try the local pork specialty- it was delicious!! Service was excellent from the hotel to the restaurant to the bar. I had mango martinis in the courtyard in the evening by the pool- oh my goodness delicious, and quite a romantic little spot. :-). The town of Valladolid is so picturesque and colorful, and is incredibly clean as well. Eye candy everywhere you look, and this hotel is in an absolutely perfect location right on the main square so you can walk all over town. My only regret is that we only were able to spend one night there. If you go, be sure to make time to drive to the ruins of Ek Balam- definitely worth it, and we have been to Coba, Tulum, and Chichen Itza- these are right up there. Make the climb halfway up the pyramid to see the sculptures- WOW! Our teenage son also loved going to the large cenote which is only a few blocks from the hotel- cool caves, although I do not think I would really want to swim there.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jackiebw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rodrigo E, Gerente at El Meson del Marques, responded to this review, July 6, 2013
Thank you for your comments and for your good impression of Valladolid and the Hotel El Meson del Marques.

The city of Valladolid is located in an ideal location to get to know many places around like Chichen Itza, Coba, Tulum, Ek Balam and Uayma Church. There are also very nice Cenotes: Dzitnup, Samula and Zaci.

The Hotel Meson del Marques, has the Distintivo H, which is a Quality Award for the proper handling of food and beverages. Also we focused heavily on the flavors of regional gastronomy, which is our specialty.

The Mango Martini and Lemon Margarita, are truly a delight!

We hope to come back soon and visit and stay with us.

Regards

Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Progreso, Mexico
Level Contributor
64 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 8, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here with some friends for one night. Our room, on the 3rd floor, was fine - large enough, good ventilation, and well equipped. Unfortunately, our friend's room, on the 2nd floor, had a horrible smell and no hot water. Had we learned this sooner, we would have insisted that they receive a new room. The management did come up to clean the bathroom, the source of the foul oder, but the hot water never showed up. So, we suggest getting a room on the 3rd floor, and check on the hot water situation before settling in. Otherwise, this is a reasonable option for Valladolid, with a nice pool, good air conditioning, and a cute restaurant for drinks and snacks.

Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank SperanzaA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 2, 2013

Stayed at this hotel for a two night stopover in Valladolid on the way to Merida. This is a really lovely colonial building rich with history and located right on the lovely Parque square. The rooms were cute, had aircon and cable tv. If you are feeling the heat, they have a nice little pool in the courtyard area, which is blissful on a hot day. The hot water was a bit lacking, however as mentioned in other reviews, it tends to be a Mexico thing from my experience.

The courtyard restaurant was really pretty, the food showcasing some amazing local cuisines, and all reasonably priced. We enjoyed it so much we ended up eating two dinners and one breakfast there. Definitely rec the pork pibil, local sausage, and coconut flan!

Valladolid is a great place to stay while venturing out to nearby cenotes and ruins, and staying at the El Meson del Marques just added to this rich Mexican experience.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tappenyaki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
Level Contributor
31 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 31, 2013

We really enjoyed our overnight stay in Valladolid with its cenote in the heart of town and its excellent textile market. El Meson de Marques is right on the bustling main square, so that you just have to step out the door to be part of everything, but the rooms are quiet and peaceful, and the pool is a welcome spot of refreshment. Food in the restaurant is delicious and service is attentive.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BRSH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Valladolid hotels
0.5 mi away
Hotel Posada San Juan
Hotel Posada San Juan
#1 of 15 in Valladolid
5.0 of 5 bubbles 303 reviews
0.1 mi away
hotel colonial la aurora
hotel colonial la aurora
#8 of 15 in Valladolid
4.0 of 5 bubbles 420 reviews
0.1 mi away
Casa Tia Micha
Casa Tia Micha
#5 of 15 in Valladolid
5.0 of 5 bubbles 384 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hostel Candelaria
Hostel Candelaria
#2 of 15 in Valladolid
4.5 of 5 bubbles 526 reviews
0.1 mi away
Maria de la Luz Hotel
Maria de la Luz Hotel
#12 of 15 in Valladolid
3.5 of 5 bubbles 259 reviews
0.5 mi away
Ecotel Quinta Regia
Ecotel Quinta Regia
#9 of 15 in Valladolid
4.0 of 5 bubbles 308 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to El Meson del Marques? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about El Meson del Marques

Property: El Meson del Marques
Address: Calle 39 No. 203 x 40 y 42 | Centro Historico, Valladolid 97780, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Yucatan > Valladolid
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 15 Hotels in Valladolid
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — El Meson del Marques 3.5*
Number of rooms: 90
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
El Meson del Marques is located in the heart of historic Valladolid,a very peaceful and beautiful colonial city filled with history, just 40 kms away from Chichen Itza. The hotel is one of the oldest buildings in the city constructed in the beginning of the XVII century, unique in its combination of historical atmosphere and contemporary acomodations and services. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your El Meson del Marques reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
El Meson Del Marques Hotel Valladolid
El Meson Del Marques Valladolid

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing