We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sophisticated pleasure”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
El Meson del Marques
Ranked #6 of 15 Hotels in Valladolid
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 18, 2013

One option for vacationers to the Yucatan is get off the plane in Cancun and drive an hour and a half or so and stay in Valladolid, a charming colonial city. When there, we stay at the Meson del Marques. For a little more money, you can stay in a larger room leading out to an exterior sitting area. Parking is free. There is a very nice pool. The restaurant is outstanding. It is in a courtyard area, with a splashing fountain. The food, heavy on Yucatecan cuisine, is excellent. There are many things to do in the area: the ruins of Ek Balam and a host of cenotes, including one right in town.

Room Tip: Go one step up from the least expensive room. You get a lot more space and comfort.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MWG12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,415)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

432 - 438 of 1,415 reviews

Reviewed May 11, 2013

With it's love inside patio and a cozy plaza just across the street, this hotel cannot be missed. Service is wonderful (they helped me to set up a birthday breakfast for my mom, with cake and flowers), food is great and there's a lovely pool for sunny days.

Standard rooms are quite small but very confortable. Location is superb, you can walk everywhere you need (there's even a cenote close by). They have a parking lot inside the hotel too. You should rent a car, as city makes a great point to explore Chichen Itza.

Wouldnt stay anywhere else in this region, actually i dont know why this hotel isnt rated #1 in Valladolid.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pereira01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 10, 2013

We arrived quite late at this hotel and left fairly early next morning so I am not able to comment on all aspects. Our luggage arrived in our room very quickly. The room was basic but very clean and well maintained. The bed was very comfortable.
Next morning we were served breakfast adjacent to the central courtyard of toast, orange juice, coffee and scrambled egg which arrived at the table piping hot. The public areas of the hotel were well maintained.

Room Tip: All very similar
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank scotworldtraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 29, 2013

We spent four nights here after a week at the beach in Playa del Carmen and absolutely loved it. It's located right on the main square in Valladolid, with lovely views, a refreshing quiet pool, and an amazing restaurant! We got the junior suite and the spacious room with a gorgeous view of the cathedral was well worth the extra money for us. Highly recommend!

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank travelkayte
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 26, 2013

We spent one night here earlier this week. Our double room was large and pleasant and overlooked the pool. Hotel position was great for walking around the town. We had dinner at the hotel restaurant and were happy with both the selection and service.
Check-in and out was smooth and fast.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Julie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 23, 2013

Very convinient location close to shopping, bus station and cenote. My husband and I had a wonderful time in this kind of hiding hotel, somebody had recommended another hotel in the same Plaza area, but it was run down and we were glad the young front desk clerk recommended El Meson del Marques, very nice colonial hotel, we had the standard room, small room, but big king size bed, very clean and good AC plus fan, friendly people, we were surprised about the excellent food at their restaurant and their low prices. It's a very quiet place, you will only hear the birds. I can't give this hotel an excellent rating because of the lack of a fridge inside the room, weather was and almost always is very hot and having cold drinks inside the room would had been perfect, don't know if the other rooms might have them, but the standard rooms don't.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tijuana09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 21, 2013

Valladolid has a beautiful colonial feel to it, and the Meson del Marques, right on the square just adds to that. The superior room, in the separate wing in back, was quiet, clean, comfortable. No view, but the balcony/breezeway nicely overlooked the courtyard. the on-sit parking is a blessing in this cramped city. Wandering the square and returning to the hotel felt quite cosmopolitan after a week in the wilds of Xcalak. The price was also outstanding. The jicama margarita is highly recommended. Just because, check out the picture of the church in Tihosuco, on the way. What a phenomenal place.

Room Tip: spring for the superiors.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KangarooRat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Valladolid hotels
0.5 mi away
Hotel Posada San Juan
Hotel Posada San Juan
#1 of 15 in Valladolid
342 reviews
0.1 mi away
hotel colonial la aurora
hotel colonial la aurora
#8 of 15 in Valladolid
448 reviews
0.1 mi away
Casa Tia Micha
Casa Tia Micha
#4 of 15 in Valladolid
403 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Ecotel Quinta Regia
Ecotel Quinta Regia
#9 of 15 in Valladolid
323 reviews
0.1 mi away
Casa Marlene
Casa Marlene
#5 of 15 in Valladolid
195 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hostel Candelaria
Hostel Candelaria
#2 of 15 in Valladolid
555 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to El Meson del Marques? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about El Meson del Marques

Address: Calle 39 No. 203 x 40 y 42 | Centro Historico, Valladolid 97780, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Yucatan > Valladolid
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 15 Hotels in Valladolid
Price Range: $59 - $103 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — El Meson del Marques 3.5*
Number of rooms: 90
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
El Meson del Marques is located in the heart of historic Valladolid,a very peaceful and beautiful colonial city filled with history, just 40 kms away from Chichen Itza. The hotel is one of the oldest buildings in the city constructed in the beginning of the XVII century, unique in its combination of historical atmosphere and contemporary acomodations and services. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your El Meson del Marques reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
El Meson Del Marques Hotel Valladolid
El Meson Del Marques Valladolid

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing