We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Incredible place”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Maria de la Luz Hotel
Ranked #12 of 15 Hotels in Valladolid
Reviewed September 22, 2010

This place rules. You can't beat the price. Even fresh squeezed orange juice, and room service. Who cares about "dated". Useless term. Rooftop evenings listening to the lone traffic cop, withe a whistle, while drinking cheap tequila. Regular bands and parties in the Zocalo. Incredible street food nearby. El maestro de las tortas . The food is great there.I stayed a week. Within walking distance of everything, including the bus station.

  • Stayed: January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Franki32655
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (289)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

104 - 110 of 289 reviews

Reviewed July 1, 2010

This place is a fine choice if you're just passing through Valladolid but I probably wouldn't recommend it for any more than that. It's cheap, rooms are basic, decor is dated but it's clean and well located. The breakfast buffet is good value (50 peso), didn't have dinner or lunch there.

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Appleetty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 7, 2010

Stayed one night. Well located on main square, huge clean pool, quiet at night. Clean (but very dated) room. Price $480 pesos with free parking for our rental car.

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Steve B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 3, 2010

My husband and I have stayed there for 1 night while exploring Valladolid. Location couldn't be better, right on the main square. Rooms are a bit dated, but it is unreasonable to expect 5-star Ritz Carlton's facilities from this little hotel. For it's price (480 pesos, which is $40US) it is a great place. Room was clean, shower working, pool was clean and the food/drinks at the restaurant were great and cheap. What else do you need for 1 day stay?!
I would reccommend this place.

  • Stayed: April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Julia71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 26, 2010

The hotel benefits from an excellent location on the main plaza and is just a few minutes walk from the bus station.
I only stayed the one night en route to Chichen Itza and found it decent value for money.
I booked in advance by email and even though I arrived quite late in the evening I was offered a choice of room location at check in; they were very frank and honest in saying that if I selected a room with a view of the plaza that there would be traffic noise to put up with.
This is more of a spot for travellers who are prepared to put up with some frayed edges in exchange for a good location at a fair price.
The room was dated but clean and the staff were very pleasant to deal with.
There were stacks of new mattresses on an upper landing, so they are investing in some improvements.
People should manage their expectations about the breakfast 'buffet'; this offers typical mexican fare in terms of the hot food, it would not necessarily appeal to everyone.
I would stay here again under similar circumstances, but would advise others to consider their options carefully and have a good look through the photos to assess whether this hotel is for them or not.

  • Stayed: February 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Stradwick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 17, 2010

The hotel couldn't be better located. It's right across from the main plaza and the roof sports excellent views of the square and cathedral. The rooms are clean but a bit dated -the furniture looks a bit old. The windows overlook the central balcony-corridors, which in turn overlook the center of the building, where the pool is located. That means you don't get much privacy and if there are people hanging out in the balcony late at night you will have difficulty getting to sleep. Early in the morning, the restorant staff is pretty noisy too when preparing the restaurant for breakfast. The restaurant is open to the public, so it may be busy at any time, and as it is adjacent to the pool, there may be people having lunch right next to you in a swim suit getting ready for a dip. I didn't like the lack of separation between these two very distinct sections. Breakfast buffet is good, if you like fruit and Mexican breakfast stuff. Don't expect a large selection of cold cuts, cheeses, or pastries. Rather you'll be in for eggs with chorizo, tamales, and black beans. All in all it's the best value for your money, and it's a very traditional locale for Mexicans.

  • Stayed: January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank leodicecco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 14, 2010

I'm sure this was a grand hotel when built, and is still grand in apperance but has aged over the years. The room was clean but needed repairs. The A/C worked but had a musky smell so we turned it off and had to leave the window open as the ceiling fan did not work. We requested a small fridge and got it, but had to plug it in front of the bathroom door. It was also old and musky but kept our pop and pastery nice and cold.The free breafast buffet was awesome. But the locals also felt the same way. At breakfast time it was a free for all to grab the food. They were like vultures. They would swoop in and grab all they could. You either acted like they did or loose out and wait for fresh food to arrive. Twice we had to wait for sausage as it went fast. But the pool was great and we did some swimming then relaxed on the upper deck and took advantage of the free wireless. It is perfectly located in the heart of the city close to everything including a very nice central park. Lots of traffic but in the evening I heard none of this in my room. Dispite all the issues, it has charm and we enjoyed our stay and would go again and would invite friends to do so.

  • Stayed: January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Raroboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Valladolid hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Zaci
Hotel Zaci
#11 of 15 in Valladolid
289 reviews
0.1 mi away
El Meson del Marques
El Meson del Marques
#6 of 15 in Valladolid
1,481 reviews
0.2 mi away
hotel colonial la aurora
hotel colonial la aurora
#8 of 15 in Valladolid
465 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Hotel Quinta Marciala
Hotel Quinta Marciala
#7 of 15 in Valladolid
129 reviews
0.5 mi away
Ecotel Quinta Regia
Ecotel Quinta Regia
#9 of 15 in Valladolid
346 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hostel Candelaria
Hostel Candelaria
#2 of 15 in Valladolid
570 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Maria de la Luz Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maria de la Luz Hotel

Address: Calle 42 No. 193-C | Plaza Principal, Valladolid 97780, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Yucatan > Valladolid
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Ski-In / Ski-Out Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 15 Hotels in Valladolid
Price Range: $40 - $55 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Maria de la Luz Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We Are Located Downtown Just Opposite The Main Plaza, Really Comfortable Hotel, We Have All You Need To Have An Unfergatable Experience, Hope See You At Maria De La Luz Hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotwire, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Maria de la Luz Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Maria De La Luz

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing