We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Maria de la Luz Hotel
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel San Clemente(Valladolid)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
El Meson del Marques(Valladolid)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Zaci(Valladolid)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Casa Tia Micha(Valladolid)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Casa Marlene(Valladolid)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Colonte(Valladolid)
View Hotel
Hostel Candelaria(Valladolid)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (297)
Filter reviews
297 results
Traveler rating
44
91
96
41
25
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
44
91
96
41
25
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsbreakfast buffet isthe main squaremotel stylestayed nights at this hotelcentral locationparking is limitedelectrical outletssmall roomgreat poolbase to explorelocation is greatwithin easy walking distanceado busmiradorwifihallwayblock
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
122 - 127 of 297 reviews
Reviewed December 23, 2008

Based on my previous experiences witth family run Mexican hotels, I was very pleased with Maria de la Luz. My wife and I stayed 3 nights at this hotel in December. I contacted the hotel via email and had an immediate response. We were quoted 48USD/night to include breakfast and that was what the bill was when we arrived. The buffet breakfast was quite good and I would recommend it even if you are not staying at the hotel.

I should state that this is an authentic Mexican hotel that was constructed cira 1970 and is likely below travel standards for some.

We really liked Valladolid. However, there was a lot of construction going on so be prepared for extra noise.

Have fun.

  • Stayed: December 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank furens
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 25, 2008

The Luz was recommended to me for its proximity to bus and taxi collectivo access, and is right on the main square and tourist area. It's a very laid back spot, and some of the staff speak English well enough to get by.

The room I had on the second floor, looking out onto the large pool, was fairly standard, with a ceiling fan and A/C. Good for a couple of adults, but probably a little tight with kids. The bathroom was a little out of repair, but functional. Unfortunately the bathroom window was right over an alley or such because I could hear trucks starting up at almost any time of day.

While my initial plan had been to get out to see the ruins, a torrential downpour kept me mostly in my room. The restaurant was good and reasonably well priced, but nothing too special. It's right near the tourist information center, which is a plus.

Something to note is that the wall plugs are all two-prong, so anyone with a laptop or other electronic device which requires a three-prong plug is advised to bring an adapter if you will be needing power. Also, internet access is wireless, and mostly only accessible at the restaurant or by the pool and isn't super reliable.

In almost every way this hotel is average by US/Canadian standards, but is clean and safe.

  • Stayed: July 2008, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank Gnimish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 29, 2008

Four of us spent one night at Maria de la luz while touring ruins in the Valladolid area. This is a lovely hotel and it was perfect for our needs.

The hotel is located in the middle of town, which is nicely placed for a quick walking tour of the area. To the right as you step out of the hotel is a lovely old church you can visit. Directly across from the hotel is a small park where the locals hang out on a Saturday night. You can buy ice cream, corn on the cob, popcorn, and little children can paint. Or you can sit on a park bench and watch life go by. Nearby are stores for shopping.

We booked a family room for 4 for $70, which included 3 beds and a large bathroom. We had room 21, which is on the back of the building and quieter than those on the front might have been. You could hear the traffic noise and occasional church bell, but it was easy to get a good night's sleep. Only complaint is the non-fitted bottom sheet which didn't fit the king bed. It slipped all around all night, exposing you to the plastic mattress underneath.

We had dinner at the hotel's restaurant. The menu had a large selection and the food was quickly and well prepared. Four large meals, soft tortillas, chips/salsa, a pitcher of lemonade and 3 beers cost us $26. Everything tasted great and it was nice eating in the open-air restaurant.

The breakfast buffet offered fruit, bread, eggs, sausage, pancakes, and coffee/tea/juice. Everything was covered to keep the flies off, and tasted wonderful. A perfect way to start a day of hiking/ruin touring.

A gentleman who works for the hotel set up our transport to and from Ek Balam (which is about 20 min away) for $40. Ek Balam itself was 290 pesos to get in (about $3 for us).

Would definately stay again at hotel Maria, as well as recommend it to friends looking for a nice hotel in the Valladolid area.

  • Stayed: June 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank Mainiac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 15, 2008

During a recent stay at this hotel we were blessed with an opportunity to experience hospitality unlike what is normally encountered in Western culture. On the second evening here the sky opened up with a torrential downpour of biblical proportions. Hunkering down and waiting for locust seemed like the only option as we were quite literally trapped. The roads were so flooded that traffic came to a halt. Water was within inches of the front steps to the hotel and over ankle deep. Five seconds in the rain and you were completely soaked. Everybody outside made a dash for the nearest shelter, which for many was the lobby of Maria De La Luz. I mention this unusual weather because what happened next has forever made this place somewhere I'll gladly return.

The entrance to the hotel was instantly transformed into something I can only liken to your own living room. Taxi drivers, local artisans, the campesinos who sell their goods in the zocolo across the street and tourists from around the world all were instantly accommodated. The staff went into overdrive and set to everyone's needs. Snacks were offered, food and drinks were procured and towels were produced for those not quick enough for the mad dash. The young man at the desk checked in with everyone to ensure their comfort. Their selfless concern for complete strangers was evident. Very impressive!

Following the storm we had the chance to visit some other restaurants in the area. Within a block of Maria De La Luz is what's commonly known as the best restaurant in the area. I'm not too sure about that. Both the pollo pibil and the pok-chuk at Maria De La Luz are better in my book and with the kind of service we experienced during the downpour, I can't see dining anywhere else.

The rooms are tidy, outfitted with 2 beds, A/C, a television and a small closet...for under 50 usd. The bus depot is only 2 blocks away, shopping is right out the front door and historic churches, a cenote and groceries are within easy walking distance.

Perfecto

  • Stayed: May 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank vialux
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 30, 2008

We loved Maria de la Luz. It was right on the square, and the restaurant is open and faces the street. The hotel has a great, open feel, and is organized around a pool. There are plenty of places to sit and hang out, so bring along cards or a backgammon board for some quiet time on one of the shared patio areas. We were grateful to have the pool to jump into after a long, HOT day of walking around town.

For USD 45/night, we thought this hotel was a great value. It was simple but comfortable. The included continental breakfast was wonderful and a great way to start the day. We looked at El Meson, which is another obvious choice and rated as the best hotel in Valladolid, and thought we had a much better deal.

A closing thought: on the corner of the square is an open, eating area, kind of like a food court. This is where the citizens of Valladolid gather to eat, and with good reason. The food is good and very affordable-we loved the fresh fruit juices, including agua de melon, for only 80 cents USD!

  • Stayed: March 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kateinohio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews