We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very cozy!”
Review of Casa Tia Micha

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Casa Tia Micha
Ranked #5 of 15 Hotels in Valladolid
Certificate of Excellence
Garfield, New Jersey
Level 5 Contributor
25 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Very cozy!”
Reviewed September 11, 2012 via mobile

This place is perfect. Your about 1 block from the center of town and 2 blocks from cenote Zaci. Across the street to the left is two store which you can buy tequila and other items for reasonable prices. Which is perfect because at the hotel their is a small fridge. We also went to cenote Suytum for about 30 pesos on a taxi. Chichen-itza went by ADO which was very affordable.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bonacio C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

396 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    321
    65
    4
    3
    3
See reviews for
93
229
5
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (57)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
Reviewed September 7, 2012

This is a newly opened, family-run small hotel. It's very close to the main square of Valladolid, which is a really pretty town (stay here rather than Merida to visit Chichen Itza).

It's an old colonial house which, if I understand rightly, used to belong to the grandmother of the family. When she passed away they set out to renovate it and make it into a hotel. It was finished in (I think) April/May 2012. Indeed, the renovation is to a very high standard and the final result is a great place to stay.

We especially enjoyed the very high quality coffee and coffee-maker in the room; the amazing breakfasts on the patio; and the helpfulness of the family.

The sons and daughters work here and are very happy to have a chat/help out where they can/share a bottle of Corona or a shot of tequila.

The only criticism I would have is that the price is pretty high end for a guesthouse, especially one in a little town like this. However - the service is incredible and I think you're 100% guaranteed an excellent stay - you won't get that at many other lodgings.

We really liked it and hope the hotel is the great success it deserves to be!!!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank edd54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mission, Texas
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 3, 2012

We spend two weeks travelling around the Yucatan Peninsula with my our two kids, 10 and 3, and visited about 6 different hotels in this vacations but the only hotel that my kids remember is this one, they treat you like family and the children feel that freindly environment.
The breakfast is excelent with hot cakes, yogurt, juice, coffe and mexican food like frijoles, chilaquiles, etc.
The locations is perfect, 100 yards from town square, where you can find several mexican food restaurants and bars, half a mile from cenote and with private parking just next door the hotel.
The room is spacious, with AC and clean. The hotel has free wifi but you can get signal just in the first floor rooms.
The best place to stay in Valladolid if you travel with small kids. We absolutely will return next year.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dante_TX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Haven, Connecticut
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed August 30, 2012

Very nice and super clean place. Has an excellent location and the service is great. They offer private parking right next to their property. The breakfast was superb eggs, frijoles, hot cakes, fruit, yogurt, granola, bread, etc. The rooms are quite and you have AC and spacious and clean bathroom.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Juliana Q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed August 22, 2012 via mobile

Very nice and clean place. Has a good ubication and the service is excellent. The breakfast is excelent eggs, frijoles, hot cakes, fruit, yogurt, bread, etc.

In the rooms you have AC and and spacious and clean bathroom

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Henaomejia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson, Arizona
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed August 18, 2012

This is a family-owned hotel which the family runs themselves. They welcome you and treat you like family by having clean rooms and giving you privacy. Everything is new, the a/c, the bathrooms. You need to let staff know if you will have breakfast the following morning. Only a few rooms available, so be quick. Beautiful decor, simply one of the best places to stay at in Valladolid.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank KLTworldquest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tulum, Mexico
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 26, 2012

We stay at this hotel in July 2012. With us stay our daughter 9 months. And the hostess asked what is she eat for breakfast! And they specifically bought yogurt and mango for a our child. It was incredible! And - staff remember our names, what happened with us for a first time after one year of our life in Latin America.

Excellent location, only 2 steps away from the main square. The building is very beautiful, with lovely shady garden. Windows do not face the street, so at peace and quiet. The hotel has only 5 rooms. Furniture and plumbing are new.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank p0nt0rs0n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Valladolid
0.4 mi away
Hotel Posada San Juan
Hotel Posada San Juan
#1 of 15 in Valladolid
321 reviews
0.1 mi away
El Meson del Marques
El Meson del Marques
#7 of 15 in Valladolid
1,379 reviews
0.2 mi away
hotel colonial la aurora
hotel colonial la aurora
#8 of 15 in Valladolid
432 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Zentik Boutique Hotel
Zentik Boutique Hotel
#3 of 15 in Valladolid
194 reviews
0.2 mi away
Maria de la Luz Hotel
Maria de la Luz Hotel
#12 of 15 in Valladolid
268 reviews
23.8 mi away
Hotel & Bungalows Mayaland
Hotel & Bungalows Mayaland
#1 of 5 in Chichen Itza
1,344 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa Tia Micha? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Tia Micha

Property: Casa Tia Micha
Address: Calle 39 Numero 197 Entre 38 y 40, Valladolid 97780, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Yucatan > Valladolid
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 15 Hotels in Valladolid
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Casa Tia Micha 3*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Beautiful old house with colonial architecture. Feel the truly city cultur with us. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, HostelWorld, Priceline and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Casa Tia Micha reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing