We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasant surprise”
Review of Cacao

Cacao
Ranked #3 of 7 Tours in Valladolid
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: <1 hour
Owner description: We are the only chocolate factory in the entire state of yucatan who rescue the mayan traditions of the cacao is for us an effort to be show to the people who visit us, and we are glad to share with them how cacao is convert in chocolate in a natural organic way. we give a free tour and free degustation.
Useful Information: Food available for purchase, Activities for older children, Wheelchair access, Bathroom facilities, Stroller parking
Ghent, Belgium
Level 6 Contributor
215 reviews
75 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
“Pleasant surprise”
Reviewed May 17, 2013

When you walk through the avenue of the friars (well worth it), chances are large that some friendly people ask you to join a small tour about chocolate and cacao . Go for it!
We learned a lot (and I am Belgian ;)), got a spontaneous guide, tried a lot of flavors and although he was a bit sad, we were not pushed to buy something. Prices are affordable if you keep in mind that it is artisanal. Ooh, a bit further you can also get a free tequila tour...

Always nice when these encounters happen...

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank D_vid13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

176 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    122
    41
    7
    6
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bath, Maine
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Found this by accident”
Reviewed May 11, 2013

My husband, daughter and I were looking for a restaurant and saw this place. A young guy outside invited us to take a tour, so we told him we'd return after dinner. Dinner over, we returned and had a most interesting tour of the small facility. He offered us samples of every flavor they produce - which were excellent and we each had our favorites. There was really no pressure to buy, but the prices seemed fair and the products unique. We ended up with three different chocolate boxes and some chocolate conditioner too! Well worth the half hour we spent there.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank SharonWilbraham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glen, NH
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“A Tasty Diversion”
Reviewed May 10, 2013 via mobile

If you are wandering the lovely Avenue of the Friars in Valladolid, it will be worth your while to stop in to Cacao for an interesting short tour describing the process of making chocolate in the Yucatan. As a bonus, you will also get to sample the various chocolates made here. They even make a chocolate shampoo (the ultimate for chocolate lovers). The pleasant and friendly staff will answer any questions you may have about their operation.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank DanteGlen_NH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“One of many charms in Valladolid”
Reviewed May 4, 2013

I stumbled upon Cacao accidentally on my way back from Catedral San Bernardino. It is really easy to find and worth the walk, which is very pleasant anyway. Our guide was very personable and made the tour fun for my young daughters. We really learned a lot and enjoyed tasting the different flavors of chocolate made in the traditional Mayan way. The tour is free! No pressure to buy anything but, of course, we did. The chocolate is sooooo good.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Mike B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, OR
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Mexican chocolate is the best!”
Reviewed April 27, 2013 via mobile

Thanks to Ariadna, our wonderful tour guide, we had a great experience at Cacao. It's a small chocolate museum and factory- they hand grind all the cocoa nibs into amazing (although rustic) candy.

A must when visiting Valladolid- a cute, quick detour that is totally worth it.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank vallievenstar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cacao also viewed

 

Been to Cacao? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing