We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“beautiful and fun”
Review of Cenote Samula

Cenote Samula
Ranked #3 of 38 things to do in Valladolid
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Atlanta, Georgia
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“beautiful and fun”
Reviewed April 16, 2013

Went to the Cenotes at Dzitnup outside Vlladolid as part of our Chichen Itza tour. Not very crowded, and quite beautiful. There is a playground out front, so once the kids got tired of swimming, they could play on the playground. Quite a few annoying vendors, so be prepared. Only downside to me is that you have to pay for both Cenotes (in other words, 1 price does not get you into both).

As an interesting side note, they had some of the cleanest public restrooms I've ever seen. As another interesting side note, the toilets in the mens room do not have seats. Perhaps the 2 things are related?

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank atlantadog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

395 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    222
    127
    31
    10
    5
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tell City, Indiana, United States
Level 6 Contributor
82 reviews
43 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Cenote”
Reviewed March 21, 2013

We booked our excursion with Best Day. We went to this cenote before going to Chichen Itza ruins. They had lockers for you to rent for your clothing,shoes,belongings.You had to shower out in open before going down to cenote.About 50 steps or so to go down to cenote.Allowed to jump off steps into cenote.Water was so clear ! Different levels of photo ops.Be sure and take towels!

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank GinaPowell-Young
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Exmouth, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Beautiful swim spot”
Reviewed March 5, 2013 via mobile

Stopped off on way back from chichen itza, there are actually 2 cenotes here and therefore 2 entrance fees which is a bit annoying! We bought tickets to the one on the left with all the stalagtites, you can see pictures before you decide which fee to pay! Its a stunning cenote down underground and is a beautiful unique place for a swim. Wish the fee included seeing other cenote though. Worth a stop for sure.

Helpful?
Thank lucy r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Excellent excursion”
Reviewed February 10, 2013

This cenote is worth the journey. We arrived early in the day and pretty much had the place to ourselves. The water is clean and makes for a very refreshing swim. The place is well set up for visitors (change rooms etc). Recommended.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank jhnmcc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
turkey
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“underground lake”
Reviewed January 13, 2013

Very impressive place. You can swim in this underground lake and refresh yourself while the weather is hot at outside. But prefer to visit early at the morning, 09:00-10:00. Later it is getting crowded.,

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Yuce
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cenote Samula also viewed

Valladolid, Yucatan
Valladolid, Yucatan
 
Valladolid, Yucatan
 

Been to Cenote Samula? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing