We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ok for one night...”
Review of Hostal del Fraile

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hostal del Fraile
Reviewed August 20, 2012

I just stayed one night at Hostal del Fraile and I felt very lucky that it was only a night. The bathroom/shower was not very clean. I stayed in a cabana-like building where I could not even close the window, but at least I had a mosquito net on my bed. I did not get a key to close my room, only a lock and I did not feel completely safe.
The only good point is the location, close to the bus station and in central Valladolid. For one night it is still ok, especially if you are on a tight budget, but I would not recommend it for a longer stay.

Room Tip: I woul rather avoid it if your budget allows it...
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FrancyBudapest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (67)
There are newer reviews for Hostal del Fraile
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

37 - 43 of 67 reviews

Reviewed August 7, 2012

Valladolid is a small city, not so much to do or visit. As it was recomended from lonely planet I booked by phone a double room, when we arrived just a young lazy boy attended us; everything seem old and crappy, what they call double room is just a place above the dorm, you have to pass trough the beds, climb a stair and the "room" is a kind of deposit, really hot and without any window!! Are you crazy!!! Bathroom are crappy and outside in a kind of horrible garden.. How can lonely planet suggest this place?
We escaped this junk place as fast as possible!
I really suggest the hotel san clemente in a wonderful location near the cathedral with nice staff low rates and quality room!

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank f_couto24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 4, 2012

We stayed one night in the cabana with two beds and shared bathroom. Everything was clean, just the plastic on the beds made me feel uncomfortable. There is also mosquito nets above the bed, which is good. The guy on reception was friendly and helpful. He and his friends played the pool for quite a long time which makes me feel like if I wanted to go to play, I had to wait for staff to finish, which doesnt seem right to me. There was also TV on, I dont know if it was so loud, but we could hear it well in our room. It didn´t take longer then untill 10 pm though. Breakfast is included, but it´s very simple. The hostel is very well located, 5 minutes walk to the centre. It is good deal for the price but not for a long stay.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank LucianaCZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 28, 2012

This place is a gem. It has shared dorms but also two cute cabanas (one with bathroom and one without) and a small swimming pool. The place is spotless. The owner was amazing, helpful, fun and informative. We were glad we stayed here keeping in mind how noisy Valladolid is. There is an authentic Yucateca chocolage store just one block from the hotel.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank palomonski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 30, 2012

Not much of a welcome.
Hard springBeds wrapped in thick knircking plastic, becaus of bugs?
Not very cozy doublebedroom-light, only one long light tube.
Open space, between roof and wall, not good in case af mosquitos. Luckily almost none.
Traffic noise.


When guy in reception is not playing loud hip hop.(you sit in the living room next),
he stands in the kitchen blinken constantly with the light or
comes to the living room puts on loud screaming mexican movie, regardless people sitting and reading.
I needed some light for the computer keyboard,a light bulbs broken, and he turns on all the tube lights in the ceiling, annoying to another visitor sitting and having a cozy bookreading time.

English , very low skills, in case you demand that.

Could be a nice place i guess.
They should do some more relaxed lounge in the evening, and more welcome greetings.
And really get rid of that plasticbeds.
One more thing about valladolid, quite some traffic and noise, and gas smelling air, in the center.

Just stayed such a nice place out in Tulum, nice people, clean, nice beds.

Stayed: January 2012, traveled solo
Thank Lammbert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 19, 2011

It's hard to not like a hostel that is only a few blocks from the bus station but yet is located on one of the most quaint streets I've ever seen. The neighborhood is safe and quiet and perfectly located for getting around most of the best sights and places in Valladolid. Staff are very friendly and helpful. They have a small above-ground pool that my son practically lived in any time we weren't walking around the lovely colonial town. It was a great way to cool down.

Only a couple of cons for this place: The beds were wrapped in thick plastic which meant sheets did not stay on them very well. Made things somewhat uncomfortable. Also, staff could be a little more considerate of the early morning hours and remember that people on vacation, traveling, etc., typically don't get up at 7 AM, so not doing yard work outside their bedrooms, not blasting their favorite morning telenovela, etc., would help the stay be just a bit more comfortable. Overall, though, I really didn't feel these issues were big enough to affect my rating.

Room Tip: Don't stay in dorms located next to common area
  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank 1Dad1Kid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 21, 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: February 2017, traveled as a couple
Thank Naaa G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Valladolid hotels
0.1 mi away
El Meson del Marques
El Meson del Marques
#7 of 15 in Valladolid
1,409 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hostel Candelaria
Hostel Candelaria
#2 of 15 in Valladolid
553 reviews
0.1 mi away
Maria de la Luz Hotel
Maria de la Luz Hotel
#12 of 15 in Valladolid
275 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Casa Tia Micha
Casa Tia Micha
#5 of 15 in Valladolid
400 reviews
0.2 mi away
hotel colonial la aurora
hotel colonial la aurora
#8 of 15 in Valladolid
446 reviews
0.2 mi away
Casa Marlene
Casa Marlene
#4 of 15 in Valladolid
193 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hostal del Fraile? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostal del Fraile

Address: Calzalde de los Frailes | Calle 41 A # 212 C por 48, Valladolid, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Yucatan > Valladolid
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 29 Specialty Lodging in Valladolid
Price Range: $18 - $20 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld so you can book your Hostal del Fraile reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing