We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good choice in Valladolid”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
hotel colonial la aurora
Ranked #8 of 15 Hotels in Valladolid
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 20, 2011

Quaint hotel a few blocks from the center of Valladolid. Don't expect any English spoken or soft beds, just a good Mexican hotel. We stayed in the junior suite, which is really just a larger room. Pool is nice, but noise echos when anybody uses it. The only issue I had was very low water pressure in the shower. Don't try walking to the bus station if you have luggage. We did, and it was miserable...sidewalks are much too narrow and uneven.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Spiney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (446)
There are newer reviews for hotel colonial la aurora
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

171 - 177 of 446 reviews

Reviewed September 4, 2011

We stayed a couple of nights at this hotel.

Positives:
Walking distance to the main square, restaurants and ADO bus terminal. 
The hotel and rooms were spotless.
Nice big pool
Aircon and Tv worked perfectly. 

Negatives: 
Management were no help with general tourist information and maps.
Beds were hard and uncomfortable.
We woke early after a bad nights sleep for the advertised free continental breakfast but there was no to be found.
When we asked about the breakfast management was ubrupt.
The safe in the room didnt work.
Wireless internet kept dropping out.

If you are looking to stay somewhere clean with a nice pool and good AC stay here, however the overall feeling is unwelcoming.

  • Stayed: September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dogwalker77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 4, 2011

This a great hotel, quiet with a lot of character. Our junior suite was very spacious and opens up onto the courtyard and swimming pool. Great location 2 blocks from main plaza and 10 minute walk to bus station. Hotel was spotlessly clean. The air con in room was powerful and we had a large flat screen tv.

some points to note are
-No breakfast provided only tea and coffee availible.
-The pool was enclosed in the small courtyard so no space for sitting in the sun.
-The wifi signal was poor and kept cutting out in rooms....seemed to be only strong near the reception

Had a very enjoyable and relaxing stay here and definitely recommend. a real value for money hotel

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GerbinhoPower
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 2, 2011

This hotel is in a very quite street about a 5 minute walk from the main square.
The hotel presents itself very well. Nice courtyard and pool (very small and not very clean) with rooms all around. We had a ground level room, pretty big although it was quite dark. The beds are quite small, and tight for two people.
The bathroom was ok even though the shower didn't have much water pressure.
If it hadn't been for all the mosquitos and ants we found inside the room on arrival, the overall experience wouldn't have been that bad.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
Thank alenyc78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 7, 2011

we really enjoyed staying in this hotel. it was very well situated for exploring the town, full of character and had a lovely pool. the rooms were clean and comfortable and the staff were most helpful and polite.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rick_Marie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 4, 2011

The hotel and the swimming pool are nice, the room simple but comfortable, but... what they called "continental breakfast" was a pair a dry biscuits with instant coffee. There was no phone in the room and I had to make a local phone call. When I asked the woman at the front desk if they had a phone I could use (of course paying the cost), she told me that they didn't have any... It was really disappointing as I could see they even had a fax machine.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MadridWorldTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 28, 2011

I came to Valladolid on business and didn´t get to pick where I stayed, but I must say that I am glad my employer chose La Aurora. This is a nice hotel 2 blocks from the main square, with a nice pool in the center of the property.

On the downside, they have no restaurant, but they do serve coffe, pastries and fruit in the morning and restaurants are 2 blocks away. Nice clean rooms, TV, AV, clean lineas, what else can you ask for?

Room Tip: Room 3 is on tthe side to a busi street, try to avoid the rooms that go from 1 to 5 or 6, try gettin...
  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank loreniarincon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Valladolid hotels
0.1 mi away
El Meson del Marques
El Meson del Marques
#7 of 15 in Valladolid
1,409 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hostel Candelaria
Hostel Candelaria
#2 of 15 in Valladolid
553 reviews
0.2 mi away
Maria de la Luz Hotel
Maria de la Luz Hotel
#12 of 15 in Valladolid
275 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Casa Tia Micha
Casa Tia Micha
#5 of 15 in Valladolid
400 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Quinta Marciala
Hotel Quinta Marciala
#6 of 15 in Valladolid
115 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Posada San Juan
Hotel Posada San Juan
#1 of 15 in Valladolid
337 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to hotel colonial la aurora? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about hotel colonial la aurora

Address: 42 # 192 X 35 Y 37, Valladolid 97782, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Yucatan > Valladolid
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 15 Hotels in Valladolid
Price Range: $43 - $57 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — hotel colonial la aurora 3.5*
Number of rooms: 26
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotwire, HostelWorld, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Orbitz and Cheap Tickets so you can book your hotel colonial la aurora reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Colonial La Aurora Hotel Valladolid

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing