We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Convenient. Friendly and classy service. Tasty continental food.”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Squimz

Squimz
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $2 - $6
Cuisines: Mexican, Cafe
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Kids, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Lunch, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Cash Only, Delivery, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: We are a family enterprise it was born in 2003 like a small coffee shop whit an express sandwich service, coffee and handmade ice cream, evolving and growing according to the needs of our customers and friends. In that way we transform our menu to offer you an Interesting combinations like the Paninis whit Yucatan flavors and some specialties dishes, giving a healthy choices for nature lovers either in food as drinks "Naturally delicious". At the beginning Squimz was attendant only by family, but now we have a group of collaborators, they have one and only purpose, "Make you feel like a friend coming home through our world famously hospitality"
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Convenient. Friendly and classy service. Tasty continental food.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 23, 2013

This cafe and bistro is 3 doors away from Valladolid' s ADO bus terminal making it super easy to and from transit but also in a lovely neighborhood off the Historico Centro. Staff is outstanding and waiter Daniel is very friendly and super accommodating. Food is also a plus as the chef takes some traditional Yucatan dishes to another level. Food can suit a variety of tastes, handy if you cannot handle hot like my husband, but enough for me who who likes spicy, especially when supplied with picante salsa. The menu also features tasty international cafe food and breakfast to appeal to everyone. Coffee is muy rico and light and atmosphere is sharp and modern. Very nice place!!!

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank db06092014b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

221 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    124
    77
    19
    0
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“Great little restaurant in valla”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 20, 2013

This place was a real find. Some amazing vege options. Vege lasagna was honestly the best vege lasagna I have ever had in a restaurant. Good coffee and very friendly staff. Free wifi...it ticks all the the boxes

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Emilee G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pemberton, Canada
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“Good service, average food.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 16, 2013

We visited Squimz for breakfast after reading good reviews but we unfortunately disappointed with the food. It is a nice location, clean and bright. However our coffee was luke warm and not great, we did order drip coffee to go afterwards and it was at least hot. The breakfast dishes that we order were very average for the price. We had eaten at quite few places prior to this and had much better food for the same price. Perhaps we hit them on an off day but maybe not the spot for breakfast.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank PDistillery
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, OR
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Nice place for coffee and breakfast”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 16, 2013

I went to Squimz for breakfast with my husband and mother. The service was excellent and food was very good too. Smoothies are a specialty and for the atmosphere and quality the price was not bad. Good place for a meal out!

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank nnewman27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Des Moines
2 reviews
“Trying hard and doing well”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 9, 2013

In Valladolid for two nights, I saw Squimz earlier today when walking about looking to stumble across (unsuccessfully) an interesting-looking restaurant catering to locals but avoided it because of the too-hip name and look. But walked by it again tonight looking for place that might serve wine and decided to give it a try and am quite happy I did. I'm not enthusiastic at the moment about the ceviche (but it is by no means bad) but the wait staff is doing a very nice job and the menu is authentic Yucatecan and ... ouch!, okay that was a hot little jalapeño and I'm liking this ceviche more and more. This is probably a don't-miss place in Valladolid. I'll more than likely be back in the morning for coffee.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Forrest C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ferosama, Gerente at Squimz, responded to this review, February 13, 2013
Thanks for visiting, we always try very hard to make customers feel our friends at home
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Squimz also viewed

 
Valladolid, Yucatan
 
Valladolid, Yucatan
 

Been to Squimz? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing