We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great day out at Rio Largartos”
Review of MexiGo Tours

MexiGo Tours
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: We organize full or half daytours in the surroundings of the colonial city of Valladolid (Yucatan, Mexico) to RIO LAGARTOS, EK BALAM, CHICHEN ITZA, CENOTES, IZAMAL, COBA, PUNTA LAGUNA Monkey Reserve. We also provide TRANSPORT from and to the AIRPORT of Cancun or Merida or we can do PRIVATE, custom made tours. Besides renting bikes, we also offer guided BIKETOURS to see real Mayan people and remote cenotes. Go with MexiGo Tours, discover Yucatan and enjoy its beauty. Located behind the church of the center of Valladolid
Useful Information: Activities for older children
Reviewed June 5, 2013

We booked the Go Flamingo tour the day before heading out. The staff at the shop were very friendly and helpful.

Our guide for the day was Gilberto (named for a hurricane!) and he was lovely. We (2 adults and 2 kids) shared the trip with grandparents from Mexico City who spoke no English. This added to the fun of the day as they were very taken with our youngest child and his silly voices.

The trip started with a light breakfast of pastries and coffee/tea in the office at 6:30am and then we jumped into the A/C van for the 1.5 hour ride to the sleepy village of Rio Lagartos. We went in low season so there was very little in the way of other tourist activity which was nice. We spent about 3.5 hours out on the boat looking for the flamingos (the first of which we spotted before stepping aboard). The only downside of this trip was that we'd left our own binoculars at the hostel as we'd been told that they had them. Unfortunately these were not great quality and found them difficult to use - so if an improvement is being looked for - replacing this would be the thing to do.

We stopped at the clay bath on the way back for lunch where the kids had a Lord of the Flies moment. You then jump back in the boat to go to an out door pool area which is sea/fresh water to rinse off before heading back to the village for lunch.

Lunch was nice- water is included but if you want beer/coke that's extra.

After lunch it was back in the van for the trip to Ek'Balam. The entrance fee was not included in the price of the tour but this is fairly common in the Yucatan. We had a Mayan guide for about 45 minutes then were left to our own devices for a further 30 minutes or so before heading back to the shop and a drink of Xtabentun - the Mayan version of Pernod but with honey - very very nice!

If we had more time it would have been nice to explore the other tour options that they had but the flamingos was one of our main reasons for going to Valladolid in the first place so mission accomplished - thanks Gilberto!

Thank CookCorn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MexiGoTours, General Manager at MexiGo Tours, responded to this reviewResponded June 19, 2013

Thank you CookCorn for your detailed and constructive review. We are happy you had a nice day of nature and archeology. We are looking for some better binoculars that can support some seawater. Geniet van jullie lange reis! Warme Valladolid groeten.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (306)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

117 - 121 of 306 reviews

Reviewed May 18, 2013

A perfect day spent with Vivana, we did the GoMaya Tour with the car (since it was so hot). My 3 year old loved it, and we enjoyed every second. Toon was on time at the hotel, he picked us up. The x'keken cenotes was a magical place, and also the visit to the Mayan family was a nice experience. Little Pedronito was toooo cute!! Thank you so much. You are doing a great job with donation programme, helping the families! Thank you for the perfect day.

Thank SweetMel1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MexiGoTours, Owner at MexiGo Tours, responded to this reviewResponded June 4, 2013

Hi Sweet Mel1, thank you so much for this excellent review! We also had a great time with the 3 of you. Thanks to you we can buy more beehives for the farmers. Hopefully you can come back one day with all 4 of you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 8, 2013

We discovered Valladolid in 2009 and just stumbled upon MexiGo Tours while walking through town.. We did every tour that MexiGo Tours offered during our 9 day stay in Valladolid in 2009.. I think the owners of MexiGo Tours were suprised to hear we planned our next vacation, also 9 days, in Dec 2010 in Valladolid as well. And of course we booked more tours with MexiGo in 2010. And guess what?.. Another 9 days in Valladolid in 2011.. AND another 9 days in 2012!! We did tours with MexiGo each year and they always exceeded our expectations, making us feel very welcomed. We had no worries - MexiGo Tours makes sure everything is taken care of for their guests, from ensuring our comfort and safety to providing fresh fruit & water at stops along the way. Is there a better testimonial than to say we are coming back for year 5 in Dec 2013!? Though, we will make sure to start in Pelenque first this time just for something diffeerent, and end with a couple of days in Valladolid with Toon & Vivyanna!

Thank linda-linda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 8, 2013

We did three tours with this company, Go Flamingos, Go Ruins and Go Maya.

The Go Flamingos tour was an early start but well worth it. We had knowledgeable guides and got to see a lot of flamingos! Then time for lunch and a mayan mud bath and plenty of stops on the way.
The Go Ruins tour was my favourite. We started out very early so b the time we got to Chitchen Itza it was still very early and the souvenir stands were still setting up. Our group was small as they like to keep their tours below 8 people something I very much appreciate. Even more so when we saw the busloads of tourist arriving from Cancun and other places ar9und 11:30-12. By then the heat of the day and amount of people made me glad we had missed the crowds and the hot midday sun. We went to a cenote and a church that day as well. Gilberto made the tour very interesting and more special with his in depth knowledge and good nature. We had the same people on the first two days so we got to know them and switched emails so we could swap flamingo pictures at the end.
The Maya tour was hard work as your on a bicycle all day, but it’s an amazing way to see how the locals live and where they go. We first stopped in a local market and Gilberto showed us different fruits, vegetables and spices the Mayans use. After a bit of lunch at one of the market stalls, we rode to a cenote at a beautiful hacienda and had a go o the rope swing (fun!) The whole day was filled with different stops around Mayan villages. The highlight was stopping in for lunch with a Mayan family and having an 84 year old Mayan woman teach us how to make the best tortillas ever!

I can’t speak highly enough about this tour company. They take care of their customers and the fact they keep their tour groups small makes for a good use of one’s time. We ended each day with a shot of this mystical honey liquor and lots of good memories. I would not bother with any other tour company. MexiGo’s prices are really good (especially for how much you get to see and do) and I can’t tell you how good it is to have just a minibus and not a coachload of people to travel in. I would recommend this to anyone.

1  Thank londonperspective
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 2, 2013

We did two things with MexiGO Tours and both were great. We hired a bike for an afternoon and then had an all day tour.

Bike Review
We came across MexiGO Tours in Valladolid after reading about places to hire a bike in our Rough Guide. It was early afternoon and we hadn't really planned to be in Vallaadolid however we knew it was possible to cycle to Cenote X'Keken. This cenote is really beautiful as it is underground with just a shaft of light coming in through the roof.

Toon, (joint owner) met us and gave us a map of how to get to the cenote as well details of places we could visit along the way. He was really friendly and helpful and the bikes were very reasonably priced, either 15 pesos an hour or 90 for the full day.

We took the bikes out for most of the afternoon and had a thoroughly enjoyable bike ride around the area, to the cenotes and back. The area is very flat so even though it was a hot day it wasn't too strenuous.

Tour Review
When we returned with our bikes Toon asked if we had any other plans for our remaining days in the area and we mentioned we were going to visit Chichen Izta. Toon suggested we go with one of their tours which would include Chichen Izta, Yokdzonot Cenote and Izamal. We were a little dubious to begin with as we had already been to the cenote and entry to Chichen Izta is extra, but we are so glad that we booked.

Toon was quite flexible as we weren't staying in Valladolid, so we arranged to meet at Chichen Izta itself and he said they could drop us off at our hotel in Yokdzonot after, saving us a bus ride back from Valladolid.

There were two different guides on the tour, Julian who showed us around Chichen Itza and Gilberto who drove and took us to the cenote and Izamal.

Julian was excellent, it is definitely worth having a guide for Chichen Itza as there is so much to look at and a guide book just doesn't do it justice. We met at 8am (on time), well before the crowds arrive and also before the sun is too hot. Julian showed us El Castillo (the main pyramid), the ball court, the graveyard, the observatory and the nunnery. He was very knowledgeable and after nearly two hours he then left us for a further hour to explore the site by ourselves.

After that Gilberto met us and took us to the Yokdzonot Cenote which is a little known cenote which isn't busy compared to the bigger touristy ones. There we spent an hour or so relaxing in the cool water and then had a meal at the nearby restaurant (which was included in the price of the tour).

After lunch we went to a town called Izamal, known as the Yellow City, which contained a beautiful church and also a pyramid that could be climbed both of which Gilberto took us around. This was the end to a thoroughly enjoyable day, although perhaps it would have been nice to have time to wander around Izamal for a bit as I understand they have some beautiful goods for sale there.

We were part of a small group (just 5 of us) and they were very flexible even allowing us to stop off so we could get online to check in for our return flight.

I would definitely recommend MexiGO Tours and hope to return one day and do another tour with them.

1  Thank ashulton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed MexiGo Tours also viewed

 

Been to MexiGo Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing