We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very pleasant little hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Maria Guadalupe
Ranked #10 of 15 Hotels in Valladolid
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Very pleasant little hotel”
Reviewed August 21, 2014

We enjoyed out time here, the room was clean and modern with comfortable beds and an en-suite bathroom. And the air conditioning worked very well, which made staying in Vallodolid a lot more enjoyable than it would have otherwise been, since it's an insanely hot town. The staff were friendly and efficient. The breakfast wasn't great, but then again we hadn't been expecting any breakfast at all, so any breakfast an unexpected bonus.

We arrived way too early for the official check in since we'd come to Vallodolid on an overnight bus, but the hotel let us leave our bags there (they have a place behind the reception desk which seems to be reserved specifically for this purpose), and although we couldn't check in straight away, we did get to check in several hours ahead of the official time (we checked in around midday).

One small negative part was that there really were a few bugs around, for whatever reason. We found several little lizards in our room (which doesn't bother us at all, we quite enjoyed the novelty of it, but it might be something to bear in mind if you have an aversion to them - we don't know how they got in), but several cockroaches did enter the bathroom too, which was considerably more distressing for us. As far as we could tell, they came in through the drain below the shower. There hadn't been a small plastic cover for this initially (which is a bit of an oversight, since they are often common practise in Mexico, especially if you know your establishment is prone to cockroaches), so we asked for one and the staff then provided us with a cover for the drain, and we had no further problems.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Confetti89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Israel A, Propietario at Hotel Maria Guadalupe, responded to this review, August 27, 2014
Hello, thank you very much for staying with us and also for your kind comments.
I'm sorry you had experience with bugs, summer is when most are. The only way to avoid or eliminate them is pouring, to drainage, aggressive chemicals to the environment, to us and our guests so we have decided not to do this, what we do is try to keep the entire hotel as clean as possible . We realize that is not a nice experience and we send sincere apology for any inconvenience caused.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

150 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    29
    78
    24
    10
    9
See reviews for
21
83
7
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
johnymony
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed July 27, 2014

free parking, close to cenote zaci (small, but it is very close)
wi-fi signal not too strong
2 blocs from main town square
very clean
very nice people.
very helpful
no pool
will stay there again
after 6 pm go have some marquesitas (creps) they are amazing, there are 3 people selling this around the square but the best are sold by tio. just look for the sign on the cart that says tio.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank johnymony
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Israel A, Propietario at Hotel Maria Guadalupe, responded to this review, August 27, 2014
Google Translation
Muchas gracias por hospedarte con nosotros y tu amable comentario.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
planet earth
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed May 15, 2014 via mobile

stayed for a couple of lovely nights. great location. among other things close to casa italia (the most wonderful italian place with the sweetest owners and most amazing pizzas!). colorful and clean place with nice spacious terrace on the roof. had some nice chats with the friendly and very helpful owner. his english was great which was awesome since our spanish was (still) poor. muchos gracias again!

Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank dorothy-giorgio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Israel A, Propietario at Hotel Maria Guadalupe, responded to this review, May 16, 2014
Thank you very much for the nice comments. Always be a pleasure to talk with people as nice as you. Enjoy your journey through Mexico.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed February 13, 2014

We stayed here for 3 nights and had a very good time. There is no pool but Cenote Zaci is not far from the hotel and it is better than any pool in town! The owner, Israel, was genuinely friendly and informative and he speaks great English.

The lower rooms were clean and bright and recently renovated with funky designs, while the upstairs rooms haven't been renovated and look slightly more dated. The real selling point for the hotel is the beautiful rooftop terrace where you can use the kitchen facilities (no stove) and enjoy a sunny afternoon beer (bought from outside).

The location is great and the breakfast is fresh and satisfying. The rooms are a bit more expensive than some similar rooms in town but the hotel is full every night so you know they are of good value for Valladolid.

Room Tip: The lower level rooms are renovated and nicer. Rooms 5 and 6 have good lighting.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Nicolas W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IsraelAE, Propietario at Hotel Maria Guadalupe, responded to this review, February 17, 2014
Nick, thank you very much for your comments, very pleased to meet and talk with people like you. Good Luck!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monmouthshire, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed February 7, 2014

Quirky decorated double rooms along an open corridor on ground floor.  Clean and comfortable though lacking natural light.  Aircon unit was a bit noisy.  Excellent breakfast included of fresh pastries and biscuits, fruit, yogurt, juice, tea/coffee, served on roof terrace.  Really friendly, helpful staff.  Note that non-aircon rooms are upstairs above reception and face onto road, and are not nicely decorated like downstairs doubles, in fact are in need of a total refurbishment.  Our opinion of this hotel would have been significantly worse if we'd stayed in the cheaper non-aircon rooms.

Room Tip: Don't go for cheaper non-aircon rooms at front; they're just not nice unless they have since...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LKC082013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IsraelAE, Propietario at Hotel Maria Guadalupe, responded to this review, February 12, 2014
Thank you very much for your comment.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level 6 Contributor
158 reviews
85 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
Reviewed February 5, 2014 via mobile

Stayed for 1 night to visit Valladolid. The hotel is located in the city center, so our room facing the front was very noisy all night. If you're lucky you'll get a Parking spot right in front of the buidling. Breakfast incl but minimal. Coffee, Yoghurt and different rolls but no butter or jam.
For the Price I would stay again but in a room facing the back.

Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Holidaytravelfan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IsraelAE, Propietario at Hotel Maria Guadalupe, responded to this review, February 12, 2014
Thank you for the nice comment. Good luck!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Level 6 Contributor
152 reviews
84 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 161 helpful votes
Reviewed January 22, 2014

I liked this hotel because of its quirky modernist building. The room was clean but nothing to write home about---a little dark in the bedroom space (we had a downstairs room, I think things are brighter upstairs) and the faucet in the bathroom was broken. I very much liked the upstairs terrace, the bright colours, and Valladolid's a great place, and the hotel is very central to the bus station.

Room Tip: Upstairs rooms I think are better
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GiuseppeNYC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IsraelAE, Propietario at Hotel Maria Guadalupe, responded to this review, February 12, 2014
Thank you for your comment. Good luck.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Valladolid hotels
0.2 mi away
hotel colonial la aurora
hotel colonial la aurora
#8 of 15 in Valladolid
432 reviews
0.1 mi away
Maria de la Luz Hotel
Maria de la Luz Hotel
#12 of 15 in Valladolid
268 reviews
0.1 mi away
El Meson del Marques
El Meson del Marques
#7 of 15 in Valladolid
1,378 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Zaci
Hotel Zaci
#11 of 15 in Valladolid
266 reviews
0.2 mi away
Casa Tia Micha
Casa Tia Micha
#5 of 15 in Valladolid
395 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Posada San Juan
Hotel Posada San Juan
#1 of 15 in Valladolid
319 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Maria Guadalupe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Maria Guadalupe

Property: Hotel Maria Guadalupe
Address: 44 # 198 Between 39 41 | Centro, Valladolid 97780, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Yucatan > Valladolid
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 15 Hotels in Valladolid
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hotel Maria Guadalupe 2.5*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel has 8 rooms of which 6 are fully renovated, we offer continental breakfast included in the rate, the use of a communal kitchen with refrigerator. We have common areas for living and dining room. Personal attention of the owner. The rooms have a safe box, air conditioning, fan, bathroom, desk, high speed WiFi and LED lighting. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Booking.com, HostelWorld and Hotwire so you can book your Hotel Maria Guadalupe reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing