We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Exquisite Find in Valladolid”

Taberna de los Frailes
Ranked #17 of 104 Restaurants in Valladolid
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $7 - $16
Cuisines: Mexican, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Romantic, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: Calzada de los Frailes y el Convento de San Bernardino de Siena
Description: Renown Gourmet Maya Cuisine. Large wine selection. Tequila and Mezcal. Specialty cocktails. Excellent service in a most unique location and ambiance.
Piedmont, CA
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Exquisite Find in Valladolid”
Reviewed October 31, 2013

This is by far the most accomplished and excellent high end restaurant in Valladolid. Located in a serene setting next to the Convent of San Bernardino, it was romantic experience and served the best Yucatan cuisine imaginable. The mojito was the best I ever tasted. And of course the bill was a whopping (I kid) $45.00 for two of us at dinner. Unreal value down this way in hotels and restaurants. I mean this was like a one star in the south of France!

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Ken S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

466 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    277
    118
    36
    24
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Haywards Heath, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
52 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Great food and excellent service”
Reviewed October 13, 2013 via mobile

The night we went to this restaurant, we were one of only two tables being served. So it's no surprise that the service was really attentive. In addition to this the food was very good - Mayan influenced dishes which were very tasty. We thoroughly enjoyed our evening.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Graham_J0hn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakland, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“exceeded my expectations”
Reviewed October 5, 2013

My fiance and I stayed at Tia Micha (beautiful little place) and the clerk recommended we had dinner at "Taverna de los Frailes". We walked from out hotel to the restaurant, about a mile, and when I saw the restaurant (it was about 9:30-10:00pm) it did not seem very appealing, we went inside anyway, I was surprised! The place exceeded my expectations. The food was delicious, and the service was excellent! It was definitely a night to remember! Taverna de los Frailes is definitely a place I recommend if you visit Valladolid.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Michelle G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland, United States
Level Contributor
86 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 114 helpful votes
“Gorgeous”
Reviewed August 11, 2013

Amazing service and beautiful location. The convent and church next door is a must-see! The place is quiet and has excellent menu offerings, though we did not eat much. A great place for an evening with friends

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Kristen T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsinki, Finland
Level Contributor
66 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“Did not meet expectations!”
Reviewed July 25, 2013 via mobile

We read the reviews here and chose this restaurant for our first night in Valladolid and it was also a walking distance away from our hotel. We had high expectations from this based on the good reviews. As an appetizer we had the grilled watermelon and it was nice. A bit strange but surprisingly good. As a main course I had the grilled chicken dish, Pipian de Pollo. It looked good, but disappontedly didn't taste as good. My spouse had the pork dish, Cochinita Pipil, and with that there was the same effect. Both dishes tasted ok, but that's all. Nothing spectacular at all, just ok. The interior was very nice and cozy, so the surroundings were great, just beside the old convent wall. Only the food was lacking something in it. Habanero sauce was spicy, it was good. Mojito was good. Service was also good. But overall it was a bit disapponting since we had expected a lot more from the food. Also a bit pricy compared to the quality (tastes) of the food. And in the end ok is just ok.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank BizarreGlobeHopper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Taberna de los Frailes also viewed

 

Been to Taberna de los Frailes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing