We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Tripadvisor
Valladolid
Post
Inbox
Search

“The best expirience”

IX CAT IK Mayan Cuisine
Ranked #2 of 172 Restaurants in Valladolid
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $5 - $15
Description: Traditional Mayan cuisine, enjoy the experience, know the traditions and the Mayan culture. Take the free tour in our Mayan village and then enjoy the handmade corn tortillas, an authentic flavor, tecniques and recipies from our ancestors. Vegetarian, vegan and gluten free food. Ask for the mayan cooking class.
Restaurant details
Description: Traditional Mayan cuisine, enjoy the experience, know the traditions and the Mayan culture. Take the free tour in our Mayan village and then enjoy the handmade corn tortillas, an authentic flavor, tecniques and recipies from our ancestors. Vegetarian, vegan and gluten free food. Ask for the mayan cooking class.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

I had a great dinner.... I do not know what is better food or staff or show what we had during our dinner. The real mayan food which you can not find anywhere. Our waiter called Irving is great. So nice young man, who expaind us everthinhg after dinner about plants, indigrents and their way of preparing food. Really great. We had and another waiter Silverio who was perfect, too. Must seen place.

Date of visit: January 2020
Thank koranam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a reviewReviews (405)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

12 - 16 of 405 reviews

Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Wow. By far the best foodie experience on my three week trip throughout the Yucatán...these guys are the real deal and are genuinely interested in sharing their culture with others...as an anthropologist/archaeologist by training I’m forever seeking out authenticity...I found it here. Looking forward to the cooking class in a few days!

Date of visit: January 2020
Thank hollisp_law
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 12, 2020 via mobile

Francisco is one of the best people you will meet on your trip through the Yucatan. The food is authentic, delicious, and one of the best experiences that we had on our trip. Not only do you get to eat delicious food, you get an education on the food and cultural importance of the ingredients. The complimentary tour through the resturaunt is a great addition to an already magical meal. They make chocolate in front of you and even let you try a bit. We ordered the full chocolate dessert and they were fantastic. Two little peices of rich chocolate one spicy and one not. If you are brave, you will eat the roasted spicy pepper. You can do it! I hope to one day come back to this amazing resturaunt.

Date of visit: January 2020
Thank 251huntert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 10, 2020

Ix Cat Ik (the name of a Mayan pepper) is a fantastic restaurant experience of Mayan cuisine. Our waitress/guide was Gina, who brought us around the restaurant to experience several aspects of Mayan cuisine including making pork seasoning and chocolate on a stone pestle, a Mayan cooking pit, and handmade tortillas in a traditional Mayan hut. Gina's first language is Mayan, she learned Spanish (and some English) in high school, and she was wonderfully welcoming and passionate about her culture. We practiced our limited Spanish which helped bridge the gap.

We came for lunch. The food was outstanding - traditional Mayan Pork, shrimp in a cream sauce, I wished we had room for dessert which also looked amazing, but we vowed to return to this lovely restaurant. Valladolid is a delightful town, worth spending half a day walking around after Chichen Itza or just on its own. Ix Cat Ik alone is worth the trip - outstanding service and a fascinating glimpse into Mayan culture.

We parked directly in front, which made visiting easy.

Date of visit: December 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank JoshFlanders
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 10, 2020 via mobile

We had a great lunch here. A little Spanish went a long way. We communicated to the staff that we were a bit on hurry and they suggested us dishes that could be prepared quickly. We didn’t feel that we missed out. The lovely Gina gave us more information about the Maya way of life and cooking which complemented what we had learned already from our Yucatan tour. We thoroughly recommend it!

Date of visit: January 2020
Thank Virginie D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed IX CAT IK Mayan Cuisine also viewed

 
Valladolid, Yucatan
 

Been to IX CAT IK Mayan Cuisine? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing