We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hostel”
Review of Hostel Candelaria

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hostel Candelaria
Ranked #2 of 15 Hotels in Valladolid
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 13, 2013

The hostel was great with two well equipped kitchens (one outside which was cool), awesome gardens with hammocks to relax in. Included breakfasts were really good too with fresh fruit with yoghurt, toast, cereal, coffee. They have bike hire too which is the perfect way to explore the area. When we arrived we spent half an hour chatting with the staff and they gave us plenty of great tips on what to do while we were there. The rooms were clean and you had a fan per person so it was never too hot.

Definitely recommend this hostel.

Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
Thank Gerad G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (555)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

221 - 227 of 555 reviews

Reviewed November 12, 2013

Didn't really know what to expect, this place was really special, we had a room with the shared showers, the room had a massive fan, a MAN fan. I popped in the dorms to check them out and looked good also. The gardens where really nice, a long narrow garden and in the middle is the kitchen, out doors. They also have a kitchen inside. They had hammocks at the very bottom of the garden to chill out in. The travellers here where really nice and its a chilled hostel to explore the small city and the cenotes, they rent really well maintained bikes out, my gf is dutch so we did all the cenotes and city by bike which is really easy and the hostel has a good home drawn map. Well worth the stay, also the breakfast inc is good, simple and healthy with real coffee!

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank APowney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 3, 2013

La Candelaria has been our best hostel stay while backpacking Mexico's Caribbean Coast(ish) over the past 2weeks. We came planning one night and stayed for 4, just because there is such a nice relaxed vibe to the place. The garners were great to relax in. The fully equipped outdoor kitchen and fridge was great to prepare meals. Breakfast included. And a big tv and movies in the common lounge to relax when it was raining. Rodrigio provided great info for local Cenotes and places to eat. Would stay again whenever in the area

Room Tip: Upstairs private room #5 has best privacy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JPescape
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 2, 2013

We stayed here for two nights, in the dorms, and we had a good stay. The hostel has a great garden with kitchen in it, and plenty of space to hang out and mingle. The inside of the hostel also has a really nice interior, and there are plenty of travel guides and books for you to read if you like. Breakfast was okay too - cereals and breads, and lots of coffee. The only downside was that the dorms got a bit warm during the night. But then again we also had really wanted to get private rooms, but they were all booked when we got there, so make sure you make a reservation!!

Finally: don't believe the guy at the reception. He told us that the collectivo goes to the Chichen Itza ruins cheaper and faster. Not true: same price and a LOT slower (twice the time, almost one hour). He told us at 4pm that there were still collectivos going to the cenotes. Not true: we had to take a cab. He told us that the restaurant Conato had some nice local food. Not true: it was a total gringo restaurant (menu in English and all), and the food was horrible. He also has his priorities wrong: he let four people wait for check-in while he had an amicable chat with the guest in front of us, basically telling her tourist information for the entire region. He could've done that after checking us in, and I think he should've. We also met the owner though and he was very friendly and gave us some great advice.

Room Tip: Make a reservation (especially if you want a private room)!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank wazoozaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 31, 2013

The highlight of this hostel is their garden, it's like being in the jungle. You can enjoy the comfort of great hammocks in a more private area at the very back of the garden. The breakfast is really good and plentiful with: toast, ham, fresh fruit, cereal, granola with fruit and yogurt. The location is great in the center of town, you're close to the Cenotes and an hour drive from the ruins of Chichen Itza. I would recommend this hostel.

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Divetiludie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 12, 2013

I really loved this hostel... The beautiful gardens, the funky Mexican decor throughout, the friendly staff, nice vibe & great breakfast! I stayed in a private room up the top with a shared bathroom (you only share with one other room) & the bathrooms are partly outside, I found it lovely showering in the sunshine :) & stopping to look at the stars before bed! There's free internet & computers to use & you can hire bikes for fairly cheap to get around town & explore the many cenotes & things. Staff are always available to answer questions & point you in the right direction! And everything is close! I highly recommend this hostel, particularly if you plan to visit Chichen Itza & surrounding ruins as it's a great base in an authentic Mexican town from which to adventure out from...

Stayed: September 2013, traveled solo
Thank caseymitcham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 10, 2013

Really friendly staff. Location is great. Atmosphere is really chill and the design is well chosen. Their yard is awesome as well and they provide a delightful breakfast. Really colorful and expressing joy du vivre

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank IonutPintican
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Valladolid hotels
0.2 mi away
El Meson del Marques
El Meson del Marques
#6 of 15 in Valladolid
1,415 reviews
0.1 mi away
hotel colonial la aurora
hotel colonial la aurora
#8 of 15 in Valladolid
448 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Posada San Juan
Hotel Posada San Juan
#1 of 15 in Valladolid
343 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hotel Quinta Marciala
Hotel Quinta Marciala
#7 of 15 in Valladolid
115 reviews
0.3 mi away
Casa Tia Micha
Casa Tia Micha
#4 of 15 in Valladolid
403 reviews
0.2 mi away
Maria de la Luz Hotel
Maria de la Luz Hotel
#12 of 15 in Valladolid
277 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hostel Candelaria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostel Candelaria

Address: Calle 35 | #201 F x 42 y 44, Parque de Candelaria, Valladolid 97780, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Yucatan > Valladolid
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 15 Hotels in Valladolid
Price Range: $11 - $31 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
*Breakfast included *Wifi in common areas *Bikes for rent *Sheets, lockers, padlock and keys provided *Map of the town and complete touristic information *Ventilators in each room *Hot water 24 hours *Bbq area *Hammocks area *T.V room *Parking on the street *Amazing staff ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Hostel Candelaria reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Albergue La Candelaria Hotel Valladolid

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing