We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautifully decorated”
Review of Hostel Candelaria

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hostel Candelaria
Ranked #2 of 15 Hotels in Valladolid
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 31, 2013

We read the reviews and were curious to find out why people say it's the best hostel they ever stayed in. and now we know why: it's the backyard! what a gem!
You feel like you're in the jungle. 2 hammocs and 2 chairs in the very back end. open kitchen with colored chairs. inside also decorated with a lot of thought put into it. Nice people, clean. A lot a corners throughout the hostel and the backyard to just relax. Good coffee at breakfast.
female bed dorm, shared bathroom, multiple fans, window facing the plaza in front of the hostel.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Francie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (556)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

247 - 253 of 556 reviews

Reviewed May 24, 2013

This is probably the nicest hostel I have ever stayed in, so nice in fact that it kept me in Valladolid about a week longer than planned! It is very well organized and thoroughly clean. The beds are comfortable, facility is nice, and breakfast is delicious. The friendly, multilingual staff are always ready to help with maps and any information requested, especially Jose and Jeronimo :) I will definitely be back here!

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank fitch144693
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 22, 2013

The hostel is nicely decorated, the garden is pretty, the breakfast isn't bad, both guys at the reception were friendly and helpful. BUT there is no way you get any sleep here in the hot season. Not sure about dorms but the double (with bathroom) we had was hot all day and all night, it was horrible. As if that wasn't enough, the mosquito net on the window was broken on one side, so even if we managed to fall asleep despite the heat, we were woken up and eaten alive in the middle of the night. And as the room is big and has a very high ceiling, you can never find and kill the mosquitoes.
The fact that the toilet flushing went out of order with every second flush, was really just a laughing matter compared to the mosquito sauna we had to endure for two nights.
It's a shame because the hostel itself is pretty good and in a good location, but if you come to Valladolid or Mérida in May, you need a room with AC, fan just doesn't cut it.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CrossThatBridge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 19, 2013

Good, clean, and tropical central place to stay if you can handle sleeping with just a fan in the warm and muggy Valladolid night. Typical backpacker breakfast, but with a nice added touch of fresh fruit and granola. I was a bit put off by the attitude of the owner when I asked her about the possibility of moving (with my pregnant wife needing sleep) to a motel with AC. Her response was more about money than our comfort and she balked at any refund. Because we had reserved the room no one would be showing up to rent it if we left. Well, no one showed up for the other vacant room. I don't believe that anyone was turned away that day as implied. There were still vacancies.

Room Tip: If it's going to be warm, check out the cross breezes for cooling off at night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Aggie1994
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 17, 2013

Well, this his how it should be... You come in and you get a nice map with all the attractions around. Then they show you the ok dorm rooms and tell you it is only 120 mex. Then you discover the incredible garden, the nice outdoor suits and shower/toilet/hangmats with lights/cats/... When you wake up, you get a great breakfast buffet outdoors, you take a warm shower (outdoor at least) and you rent a bike for 15 mex per hour that brings you to many places closeby. At the same time your smartphone is safely recharging in special safes so you can use the ok wifi afterwards. In the evening you enjoy the incredible location of the hostal close to the major plaza and ON a very nice square with trees and bistros. The hostal is clean. Colorful and has a nice open atmosphere. You can come with all your questions, watch a movie of them in a special room, read their books and check the bus hours for example.

Only one thing that I suffered with, and an important one.. I had a though time falling asleep. With no airco in a very hot room with 8 people, the large fans making a lot of noise and many mosquitos, sleep comes a bit later. But hey, they make an effort and it is a cheap hostal after all so I forgive it. Still, when with two, go for the private rooms I would say..l

Keep up the good work!

Room Tip: I liked the dorm room downstairs more than upstairs. Ask to see both...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank D_vid13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 30, 2013

Too many good things to list:
Great location! Got to witness some night dance classes in the Candelaria park and sample not one, but two popsicles from the nearby (1 minute walking) popsicle shops. Cenote Zaci was maybe 10 minutes away walking; The main plaza 5-7 minutes away. Very central location.

Beautiful, well-maintained commons:
Two kitchens (one indoors, one outdoors; both stocked with spices + an outdoor grill!), two jugs of water to draw potable water from, a variety of sitting areas outdoors including hammocks, house cats, and common tv room! Outdoor showers and bathrooms were clean!
We stayed in a private room that included a TV, one ceiling fan, and another fan that could be positioned anywhere in the room.

Information:
Knowledgeable staff really helped us out. They directed us to collectivos heading to Chichen Itza and the cenotes near Dzitnup. Their self-drawn map was indispensible. It included all major tourist points in town and relevant info (e.g., price).

Price:
Extremely reasonable (around $12 CAN per person). Really can't be beat. And it included a self-serve breakfast of yogurt/fruit, bread with butter/jam, and cereals.

Laidback and a great place to stay.

Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
Thank mexipelican
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 1, 2013

Lovely place with a gorgeous garden. The place has definetly a spirit...The breakfast is included and it's very nice (fruits, bread, yogurts..)
Friendly staff and perfectly clean rooms and bathrooms
You can rent a bike for 15 pesos/ hour and visit the cenotes with the map they give you, I highly recommand it!

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LisouDuc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Valladolid hotels
0.2 mi away
El Meson del Marques
El Meson del Marques
#6 of 15 in Valladolid
1,423 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Quinta Marciala
Hotel Quinta Marciala
#7 of 15 in Valladolid
120 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Posada San Juan
Hotel Posada San Juan
#1 of 15 in Valladolid
353 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
hotel colonial la aurora
hotel colonial la aurora
#8 of 15 in Valladolid
450 reviews
0.2 mi away
Maria de la Luz Hotel
Maria de la Luz Hotel
#12 of 15 in Valladolid
279 reviews
0.3 mi away
Casa Tia Micha
Casa Tia Micha
#4 of 15 in Valladolid
405 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hostel Candelaria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostel Candelaria

Address: Calle 35 | #201 F x 42 y 44, Parque de Candelaria, Valladolid 97780, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Yucatan > Valladolid
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 15 Hotels in Valladolid
Price Range: $13 - $32 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
*Breakfast included *Wifi in common areas *Bikes for rent *Sheets, lockers, padlock and keys provided *Map of the town and complete touristic information *Ventilators in each room *Hot water 24 hours *Bbq area *Hammocks area *T.V room *Parking on the street *Amazing staff ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Hostel Candelaria reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Albergue La Candelaria Hotel Valladolid

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing