We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best hostel I've had in Mexico!”
Review of Hostel Candelaria

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hostel Candelaria
Ranked #2 of 15 Hotels in Valladolid
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 1, 2013

Lovely place with a gorgeous garden. The place has definetly a spirit...The breakfast is included and it's very nice (fruits, bread, yogurts..)
Friendly staff and perfectly clean rooms and bathrooms
You can rent a bike for 15 pesos/ hour and visit the cenotes with the map they give you, I highly recommand it!

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LisouDuc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (556)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

253 - 259 of 556 reviews

Reviewed March 14, 2013 via mobile

Wonderful hostel, the glowing reviews aren't exaggerated :). I arrived without a reservation and was able to book into a 6 bedded dorm for 120 pesos. Bed was comfy, own reading light and big locker provided. Toilet and shower nice n clean tho lukewarm water only...

Lovely staff who will advise you on all the best places to go, very good wifi. Decent tv room and social areas.

Beautiful garden, it goes on and on with tables, chairs, hammocks and even a fully equipped kitchen (there's also one indoors).

Amazing buffet breakfast with bread, cereal, fruit etc etc. Great value, very enjoyable stay, I'd definitely recommend this place to anyone.

If, like me, you're struggling to find contact details for this place their website is www.hostekvalladolidyucatan.com

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gemwho
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 28, 2013

Great hostel...good location, nice private room, reasonable prices, free breakfast, clean. All the ingredients for a wonderful stay! Would highly recommend this hostel even for more mature travellers.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank darmstro56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 26, 2013

I've been to a good amount of Hostels, but this one really takes the cake.

Average priced dormitories, with free breakfast. However, they don't mention how their "free" breakfast so chilllllllllllll. Good coffee, fresh pan with butter and two different jams, yogurt with granola, apple, and guava, milk, and 3 different types of cereals! Fresh watermelon, also. BAM! All you can eat! You can't beat that.

Rooms were standard dorms.

Two kitchens. One inside one out. They both have fridges and multiple stoves. Free potable water. Two different dining areas. Multiple chill areas. And the staff is el mejor! Right when you get there they give you a map of the town, with little spots on it marked for suggestions, as made by other travelers.

Bikes available to rent. $15 pesos an hour. And the front desk people are just way too cool. Really patient and speak good english. The square the hostel is on really is a nice quiet square. Close to downtown but far enough away to be quiet. Huge backyard with a jungle growing back there! It's really amazing. An indoor lounge room with a nice flatscreen and movies on USBs.

Like I said, best overall hostel.

Room Tip: staying here is will be the wisest choice of your journey yet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FrankieSharp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 25, 2013

Dorm rooms are okay. The really great things about this hostel are the gardens, hammocks, outside kitchen and sitting area and indoor kitchen and TV room. Great, chilled out place. Would definitely recommend! Supermarket is pretty near and can easily walk around Valladolid from this as a base.

Stayed: July 2012, traveled solo
Thank Emma D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 23, 2013

Such a great place to get some rest for discovering the ruins of Chichen Itza and Ek Balam as well as the Cenotes!

- free breakfast buffet
- free water
- strong wifi
- nice dorms
- clean
- hot water
- QUIET: no bar, no djs, no music at all!!!!!!!
- central
- bike rental
- friendly staff
- two well.equiped kitchens
- lovely garden area with hammocks


What else do I have to say, I would totally stay there again, it is so worth the money and my favorite hostel in three weeks of travelling around the Yucatan.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank christineexplorer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 13, 2013 via mobile

I liked this place from the moment I arrived.

Highlights-
Free breakfast of bread, butter, jam; coffee, cereal, fruit & yogurt.
Comfortable beds in non cramped dorms.
Nice, hot showers
A place to hand wash and dry clothing, with soap!!
Two wonderful kitchens
Plenty of spots to hang out
WIFI & a computer for use
Bikes for rent
Great social environment
Good value

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lwjubeck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Valladolid hotels
0.2 mi away
El Meson del Marques
El Meson del Marques
#7 of 15 in Valladolid
1,423 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Quinta Marciala
Hotel Quinta Marciala
#6 of 15 in Valladolid
120 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Posada San Juan
Hotel Posada San Juan
#1 of 15 in Valladolid
352 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
hotel colonial la aurora
hotel colonial la aurora
#8 of 15 in Valladolid
450 reviews
0.2 mi away
Maria de la Luz Hotel
Maria de la Luz Hotel
#12 of 15 in Valladolid
279 reviews
0.3 mi away
Casa Tia Micha
Casa Tia Micha
#4 of 15 in Valladolid
405 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hostel Candelaria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostel Candelaria

Address: Calle 35 | #201 F x 42 y 44, Parque de Candelaria, Valladolid 97780, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Yucatan > Valladolid
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 15 Hotels in Valladolid
Price Range: $13 - $32 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
*Breakfast included *Wifi in common areas *Bikes for rent *Sheets, lockers, padlock and keys provided *Map of the town and complete touristic information *Ventilators in each room *Hot water 24 hours *Bbq area *Hammocks area *T.V room *Parking on the street *Amazing staff ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Hostel Candelaria reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Albergue La Candelaria Hotel Valladolid

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing