We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best place to stay!!!”
Review of Hostel Candelaria

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hostel Candelaria
Ranked #2 of 15 Hotels in Valladolid
Certificate of Excellence
Veenendaal, The Netherlands
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Best place to stay!!!”
Reviewed January 18, 2013

We stayed 2 nights in this Ho(s)tel and really surprised what we got. Good room, bed and breakfast. Restaurants at walking distance and swimming pool yet to come. Friendly and helpfull staff. From here it is just a 1 hour bus drive to the world famous Maya site Chizen Itza. The owner of this hostel is my friend now!! The garden is fantastic and relaxing. We should have stayed longer....

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dickvh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

547 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    415
    105
    23
    2
    2
See reviews for
22
192
180
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Helsinki, Finland
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed January 17, 2013

Christmas day, no booking - we were lucky to get 2 dorm beds!

The location was good, only some minutes walk from the bus station and the main square with restaurants etc. The surroundings were nice and I felt safe there.

The check-in process was in good English and the guy told us basically everything worth knowing in the area. He gave us a map (their own printed) with the sights and restaurants worth visiting.

The dorm room was quite basic, but clean with big ceiling fans. Our toilet/shower was at the time a bit under construction, but it only affected the looks, not the use.

The hostel had a computer, bikes, tv with several movies on usb-sticks, bookshelf, well-equipped kitchen and whatnot. When walking more towards the insides of the building I was so surprised how big it was. The garden in the center just seemed to continue and continue, with a kitchen (also on inside) place for bikes, area for hammocks etc.

The best surprise was the breakfast, with fresh bread, coffee, fruit, yoghurt and granola/cereal. Totally a hostel worth visiting!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Elina R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hereford, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
85 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed January 10, 2013

Albergue La Candelaria was my wife and I's first hostel experience on our round-the-world trip after a few hotel days in Cancun and we can only hope they stay as good as this. We initially booked just one night (A safety net if we didn't like it) but extended it to two and would have extended it further to five had they had a double room available. It is everything you'd expect from a quirky Mexican hostel with colourful buildings, quiet and friendly atmosphere but also with impeccable cleanliness.

Its location in Valladolid itself is also very good at just a couple of blocks from the bus station and by a romantic square used by the local community. You could easily spend a week here as base for visiting Mayan ruins as everything (Inc places like Chichen Itza, Ek Balam, Cancun and Merida) is only a bus ride away.

Positives:
+ Impeccably clean communal shower room and toilet (We used the ones upstairs).
+ Free access to a computer and free wi-fi that we could access in our room.
+ Breakfast included.
+Good location in a quiet part of Valladolid.
+Helpful staff with local knowledge.

Negatives:
- Shutters with mesh to keep out insects on the windows work well but let sound travel in and out easily but this is scraping the barrel to put something here!

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Liver_Red
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Exmouth, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
78 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
Reviewed January 6, 2013

We stayed here for a few nights after having been to Chizen Itza. Valladolid is a very scenic colonial city wich is well worth visiting in itself. It is so much better to stay in Valladolid and experience the city and Chizen Itza by yourself then going on one of those organized sheep-tours from Cancun.
The hostel is perfect for a relaxing hangout. IT is one of those places that has superb communal areas where you can easily meet other travelers and socialize with them. There is a long outoor area with kitchen, hammock space and tables for eating and playing cards.There is also a nice Tv room with lots of movies, and a big screen TV. The dorm is nice and clean and with good beds. The proprietors are friendly and give a very thorough explanation of everything worth seeing in the area. We also rented bikes from them, which was a day well spent. We visited the cenotes in the region.
We also stayed in a double room which was superb. Nice and clean, comfortable bed, no noise. We could have stayed here for a week, but had to limit it to 2 days due to time constraints.

Room Tip: The upstairs double room are away from most of the other rooms, so will give you a bit more quiet ti...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Stiigen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cologne, Germany
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed January 2, 2013

I didn´t really expected much from Valladolid other than staying for two nights and go to Chichen Itza but this hostel upgrades the whole stay. The staff was helpfull, spoke english, friendly and shown you the best places, you can rent bycicles or just hang out in the beautiful garden. But what at the end fully won my hard was the fact that the whole place is just thought trough from the perspective of a traveller (dutch owner travelled himself a long time) and his needs.

If you want to go to Chichen Itza, make sure to go on the earliest collectivo possible, the earlier the better because later the busses come and it really gets awfully full.

(Only thing that brings it down are the sometimes cold showers but the guys know about the problem and work on it)

Room Tip: There is nothing better around.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michael_Magnus_Koeln
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calamba, Philippines
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed December 25, 2012

The common areas were so colorful!
They make an effort with their security with the buzzer and the locked front doors.
Big lockers for your backpack, I like the side tables that you can lock near your bunk beds as well. Theres hooks for your clothes which i find after traveling and going through tons of hostel is a must in organizing and keeping track of your stuff.
The dorms might look a bit crowded but they have ample lighting and a lot of fans so it doesnt feel stuffy.
The kitchen area was nice and breakfast was a simple fair yet fills you up.
Some mosquitoes but then again the kitchen is outdoors so they really have no control over that.
And way in the back there are hammocks.
Staff is helpful and gives you tips where to find places ASAP.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dlyn S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
Reviewed December 4, 2012

Don't miss this amazing town or nor this amazing hostel. It's everything you would want and more. Clean rooms and dorms, hot showers and very tasty and diverse breakfast.

The staff is super helpful and friendly. The hostel rent bikes for 15MEX per hour or 80MEX for a whole day. The bikes are in great condition and are a must in order to go exploring local cenotes. Cenotes are must do on your Valladolid trip - write me for more information if you want. It became a highlight of my Mexico trip!

Super location, only couple of blocks from zocalo. The town is so small, that it doesn't really matter.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rejsefugl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Valladolid hotels
0.2 mi away
El Meson del Marques
El Meson del Marques
#6 of 15 in Valladolid
1,391 reviews
0.1 mi away
hotel colonial la aurora
hotel colonial la aurora
#8 of 15 in Valladolid
437 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Posada San Juan
Hotel Posada San Juan
#1 of 15 in Valladolid
331 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Maria de la Luz Hotel
Maria de la Luz Hotel
#12 of 15 in Valladolid
271 reviews
0.3 mi away
Casa Tia Micha
Casa Tia Micha
#5 of 15 in Valladolid
398 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Zaci
Hotel Zaci
#11 of 15 in Valladolid
269 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hostel Candelaria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostel Candelaria

Property: Hostel Candelaria
Address: Calle 35 | #201 F x 42 y 44, Parque de Candelaria, Valladolid 97780, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Yucatan > Valladolid
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 15 Hotels in Valladolid
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
*Breakfast included *Wifi in common areas *Bikes for rent *Sheets, lockers, padlock and keys provided *Map of the town and complete touristic information *Ventilators in each room *Hot water 24 hours *Bbq area *Hammocks area *T.V room *Parking on the street *Amazing staff ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline and HostelWorld so you can book your Hostel Candelaria reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Albergue La Candelaria Hotel Valladolid

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing