We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful little hostel in a cute town.”
Review of Hostel Candelaria

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hostel Candelaria
Ranked #2 of 15 Hotels in Valladolid
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 2, 2012

La Candelaria is the perfect choice to use as a base when exploring the area. Nice place, nice staff, nice garden, breakfast (coffee, cereals, bread and jam), showers, internet, bikes and books. Stay there and visit Chichen Itza, Cobá, various 'cenotes', make excursions by bike, etc.

Room Tip: The dorm (12 or 14 people) can be a bit noisy, not only cause it's a dorm, but because it's...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Oscar C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (568)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

282 - 288 of 568 reviews

Reviewed October 19, 2012

In all my time travelling, this is best hostel I have ever stayed in or am likely to stay in again (and I promise I don't work for them)! I spent 2 nights here at the end of my trip, although I had only intended to stay for 1 night, and would have definitely stayed longer.

Valladolid itself is such a pretty town and the hostel is just as pretty. Perched on the side of a very pretty square, the hostel is in a great location, not far from the Plaza (a couple of blocks from the bus station). The staff at the hostel are so friendly, always happy to help you and will assist in an instant if you need them to. The reception area has a computer, really good wifi and is just a nice place to sit and relax.

My room in the hostel is one of the cleanest rooms I've ever seen. It was nice and bright with shutters and a balcony looking out onto the street and enough fans to keep everyone cool. You could see children at salsa classes in the evening every day. Even though there was no air conditioning, it really didn't matter. The room had a bathroom, which was clean and also a sink outside for if you needed to brush your teeth etc. The lockers in the room are huge and they even provide a lock in case you don't have one. The sheets provided were really thick, clean and the beds comfortable.

The kitchens in the hostel were both kept very clean and breakfast was amazing. Cereal, bread, jam, yogurt, fruit and museli which was available until late on in the morning. The most amazing thing about this hostel are the gardens, which are the most peaceful place to hang out. They are so pretty and so well kept and there are places to sit, hammocks at the very back of the garden and an outdoor kitchen, which is amazing. We even used the hostel BBQ to cook one night and sit and all guests sat and chatted until later on. The nicest thing about the gardens are the little touches, like lanterns that light up when it gets dark and mini sugar skulls around the garden and little bits of art.

You can hire bikes from the hostel to ride to the local cenotes and the staff will help with transport to other places if you need them to. We rode to the cenotes in a group and the hostel staff made sure that all our bikes were in working order before we left, which was really nice.

The hostel is just amazing. I will come back to Valladolid just so I can visit again!

You should definitely visit if you're in the area.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank smalltalk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 26, 2012

I have been travelling across Mexico for more than 7 months-
La Candelaria will forever be my favourite! My first stay was in 2009 when they just reopened and I came back twice. The place is getting more beautiful each time! I especially like the paintings, photographs and little pices of art around the house which were added recently!

They have a beautiful huge garden (which looks more like a little jungle with all the plants) with sitting areas and at the far end a few hammocks, where you can spend hours surrounded by nature...

The rooms, the bathrooms and showers and the two kitchens are kept very clean- in more than the three weeks I stayed this time I never found anything dirty.
My favourite is the outdoor kitchen, with everything you need, including a BBQ, cooking oil and spices.

But the most important thing is the atmosphere. The owners and the staff are so welcoming, open and friendly, they give you all information you need about Valladolid and all the places to visit around, and they even find the time just to chat. For many travellers (including me) this is a reason to stay longer than they planned.

Also a great breakfast is included (coffee, tea, different cereals, milk, yoghurt, fruits, bread, butter, honey, jam) and unlike in other hostels you still can get everything and as much as you want even at 9:45! (breakfast is 7-10am) I love the freshly brewed coffee and the honey from regional beekeepers!

There is also a TV room with a huge screen and lots of movies to choose from as well as high speed WiFi.

I can really recommend this hostel to everyone and will be back as soon as I can! -Antje-

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Angela P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 1, 2012

Excellent place to stay! Good location, wonderful garden with hammocks, large double rooms with a FANTASTIC breakfast!

Book exchange, free wi fi & water

Friendly & helpful staff, definitely recommended!

Is popular so book ahead!

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Samsonluck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 30, 2012

Awesome rooms and garden, you can pay 120 for dorms or 280 for 2 or 3 bed room, you get nice breakfast, couple blocks from downtown, any info you need for travelling around you got it, nice staff and kitchen, water and computer for free.

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank cappissco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 28, 2012

I recommend the hostel to everyone, it´s worth visiting Valladolid only to pass the night (or two) in La Candelaria. It has everything and the price is very good. In the garden you there is a hammack zone, kitchen, toilets and showers, tables with lights; inside there is another kitchen, tv room with a guitar, movies, guides, free internet and a computer, free water, honey (very tasty) and a rich breakfast included. The staff knows everything and when you arrive thay give you a map with everything you´d be interested to do.
Highly recommended!!!

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank morcillica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 15, 2012

The man who runs the hostel is friendly and approachable and on arrival shows you round and explains everything.

The hostel amazing kooky decor, nice garden and hammocks.

We had a private room whilst there was no air conditioning we were provided large fans so wasnt a problem. The private shower and toilet were outside but dont let that put you off.

nice garden, kitchen available, we wanted to stay longer. Its a great hostel and nicer than some hotels I have been to!!

Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
4  Thank TomSean1986
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Valladolid hotels
0.5 mi away
Hotel Quinta Marciala
Hotel Quinta Marciala
#7 of 15 in Valladolid
124 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Posada San Juan
Hotel Posada San Juan
#1 of 15 in Valladolid
373 reviews
0.1 mi away
hotel colonial la aurora
hotel colonial la aurora
#8 of 15 in Valladolid
461 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
El Meson del Marques
El Meson del Marques
#6 of 15 in Valladolid
1,465 reviews
0.3 mi away
Casa Tia Micha
Casa Tia Micha
#4 of 15 in Valladolid
412 reviews
0.9 mi away
Zentik Boutique Hotel
Zentik Boutique Hotel
#3 of 15 in Valladolid
238 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hostel Candelaria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostel Candelaria

Address: Calle 35 | #201 F x 42 y 44, Parque de Candelaria, Valladolid 97780, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Yucatan > Valladolid
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 15 Hotels in Valladolid
Price Range: $18 - $35 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
*Breakfast included *Wifi in common areas *Bikes for rent *Sheets, lockers, padlock and keys provided *Map of the town and complete touristic information *Ventilators in each room *Hot water 24 hours *Bbq area *Hammocks area *T.V room *Parking on the street *Amazing staff ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HostelWorld, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Hostel Candelaria reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Albergue La Candelaria Hotel Valladolid

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing