We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Hostel” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hostel Candelaria

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hostel Candelaria
Ranked #2 of 14 Hotels in Valladolid
Certificate of Excellence
Morley, Michigan
Level Contributor
29 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Great Hostel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 25, 2012

So, I'm noticing that this place is listed in the "hotel" category and it is actually a hostel. If you are actually looking for a hotel, you should check out the other options. As far as hostels go, Albergue La Candelaria is top notch. The garden is gorgeous, there is ample kitchen space in their two kitchens, and the breakfast was much better than anywhere else we stayed- there was toast and watermelon and yogurt with granola and more. There is a lot of community space and you will end up meeting other travelers if you hang out there. I've traveled all over Europe and the US and I've been to tons of hostels and this one is in the top 5 for me. It's lovely. There was even a tiny kitten living there in the luscious jungle garden.

The only deterrents might be the heat or the noise. When we stayed, there was a giant festival in the square in front and they were playing music till late. That was fine, we enjoyed having a big party out front and all, but if you want a silent room it's just not going to happen. We had two large fans to circulate the air in our room and we were still a bit hot because we are from cold, foggy San Francisco. It was the very end of March, so I can only imagine what it's like in the summer. However, this place is a great value and we had no complaints.

Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank Erica S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

511 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    382
    103
    22
    2
    2
See reviews for
19
179
170
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 18, 2012

My boyfriend and I booked two nights at la Candelaria. The hostel was beautiful and the breakfast was good. The room and the bathrooms were very clean. The bed was quite comfortable.

We arrived in Mexico that day. We were exhausted and really needed a good night's rest. For this reason Candelaria was not a good choice for us.

The ceiling fan in the room didn't work properly; it was very noisy and didn't cool us off. There was another fan hidden in the corner that was working. However, the staff didn't tell us about it and since we were so tired from the day's travel, we didn't notice that it was there. Our room (private double) was located right across from the bathroom so throughout the night we heard people walking on the crunchy gravel.

If you are one of those people who can sleep anywhere I would definitely recommend this hostel. The grounds are beautiful and the staff is friendly. It is very centrally located. However, if you are in need of a good night's rest, I would recommend spending a little more money to get quieter and cooler accommodations. We ended up staying at Hotel Tunich Beh the next night. It was very reasonable (500 pesos/night) and we were able to catch up on some much needed rest.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank HTeeks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, Canada
Level Contributor
23 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 25, 2012

Great value for your money, the staff is very helpful. The location is great. Good breakfast.

Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank E R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 21, 2012

This hostel was one of the best that I have ever stayed at (and I have stayed at many). The staff were very helpful and friendly, the rooms were comfortable, and the grounds are beautiful. The location is also very convenient, being only a few blocks away from the bus station and at the edge of a lovely square with gardens, a fountain and lots of benches. We were given a map of the city when we checked in that indicated where we could find a laundromat, supermarket, restaurants, and attractions in town. The staff also gave excellent restaurant recommendations (go to Conata if you get a chance!). We stayed one night in a dorm and one night in a private room; both were comfortable and clean, although the private room had a little more in the way of decor and included towels. Inside the hostel, there is a TV room with a giant TV, free internet and wi-fi in the reception area, and a kitchen with free purified water. There is also a women's section with women-only dorms, bathrooms and sitting room. Outside, there are beautiful gardens with an outdoor kitchen and dining area, many sitting areas and a hammock area at the very back - the hammocks even have individual reading lights. It's details like this that make this such an amazing find. Most hostels I have stayed at are very bare-bones and don't have such attention to detail. Breakfast is included and was slightly better than the standard hostel breakfast; while I was there it included buns with butter and jam, little cups of fruit salad with yogurt and granola, watermelon, cereal, tea and coffee. Bike rentals are available for 15 pesos an hour (a little over a dollar an hour), and you can use them to ride 30 minutes to cenotes. There are only a couple of negatives, although they certainly wouldn't stop me from staying there again or recommending the hostel: the showers either have very poor water pressure or no shower head, just a direct stream of water coming from a pipe above you. Also, in the gardens there are tons of mosquitoes, so don't forget your bug spray! Despite those minor things, this is still a great place to stay.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Andrea_Cunningham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 15, 2012

This place is really great. As soon as I got there the guy at the counter pulled out a map of Valladolid with ATM's, restaurants, attractions, distances to nearby cenotes, etc. and spent twenty minutes going over it with me and answering my questions. I stayed in a dorm room and though a little cramped was perfectly fine and having the lockers right in the room was convenient. The bathroom was nice and clean as they clean it daily. The free breakfast was great as they provide toast & jam, cereal, and fruit cups. There was several filtered water dispensers with no extra charge for water. There are two refrigerators and semi kitchen and a full outdoor kitchen. The wifi is a bit spotty but it was that practically everywhere I stayed in Mexico. The garden/tables/hammocks area outside is really nice. Very well laid out with lots of plants and style. The hostel overlooks La Candelaria plaza and church so there is generally something going on there in the evening most days. If there is one negative thing it's that on Sundays they have catholic mass and it is prretty loud if you're in the hostel and trying to rest. I will always remember the catholic priest singing this song "Canta, Canta, Canta, Canta...etc over the speaker for an hour and half strait The one Sunday night I was there.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mountainmanly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 26, 2012

This is a great hostel, really friendly and helpful staff, good value, good breakfast, wifi, cool style.
The only thing was that it did get a bit stuffy as our dorm room was small but the fans helped a bit.
I would stay here again!

  • Stayed January 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mundo19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Paul, Minnesota
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 14, 2012

My wife and I had a fantastic time at La Candelaria and wish we could have stayed there a few more days. We had a private room and while not huge was clean and tidy and they plenty of blankets for the cool nights. The best part I would say would be the gardens and the staff. While the garden isn't huge there a lots of spaces to chill out and at the same time find someplace private to play a game or read a book or whatever. Also lots of lighting so you can be out there all night.

The kitchen facilities were more than adequate and they had one of the better hostel breakfasts we had on our trips. Cereal, fruits, yogurt, granola, and good rolls that you could toast and put jam on. If you want something else to eat head to the big market on the east side of town and pick up some papaya, avocados, longaniza or something. Its really a fantastic market and most of the fruit vendors in the big building are open til at least 4pm. Another tip especially if you're on a budget is to just head out on the streets in the morning and find a taco/torta stand (10 to 15 pesos for a torta). In my experience morning was the best time of day to get street food. It seemed like a lot of the food carts and restaurants closed down between 12 and 3pm so just something to be aware of.

The staff was awesome and always had good tips on restaurants and getting around town. The bikes leave something to be desired but they got us around one morning and Valladolid is really a nice city to cycle around.

Another tip on the showers - try and shower when no one else is. You get more hot water and pressure.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank pmoo_81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Valladolid hotels
0.2 mi away
El Meson del Marques
El Meson del Marques
#6 of 14 in Valladolid
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,305 reviews
0.1 mi away
hotel colonial la aurora
hotel colonial la aurora
#8 of 14 in Valladolid
4.0 of 5 bubbles 404 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Posada San Juan
Hotel Posada San Juan
#1 of 14 in Valladolid
5.0 of 5 bubbles 290 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hotel Quinta Marciala
Hotel Quinta Marciala
#7 of 14 in Valladolid
4.5 of 5 bubbles 83 reviews
0.9 mi away
Zentik Boutique Hotel
Zentik Boutique Hotel
#3 of 14 in Valladolid
4.5 of 5 bubbles 171 reviews
0.3 mi away
Casa Tia Micha
Casa Tia Micha
#5 of 14 in Valladolid
5.0 of 5 bubbles 378 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hostel Candelaria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostel Candelaria

Property: Hostel Candelaria
Address: Calle 35 | #201 F x 42 y 44, Parque de Candelaria, Valladolid 97780, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Yucatan > Valladolid
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 14 Hotels in Valladolid
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
*Breakfast included *Wifi in common areas *Bikes for rent *Sheets, lockers, padlock and keys provided *Map of the town and complete touristic information *Ventilators in each room *Hot water 24 hours *Bbq area *Hammocks area *T.V room *Parking on the street *Amazing staff ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld, Booking.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Hostel Candelaria reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Albergue La Candelaria Hotel Valladolid

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing