We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“a hostel to be delighted with”
Review of Hostel Candelaria

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hostel Candelaria
Ranked #2 of 15 Hotels in Valladolid
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 9, 2011

La Candalaria was our last stay in the Yucatan Peninsula. We stayed here for 3 nights en route to Cancun airport by bus from Merida.
Arriving in Valladolid we walked to the hostel as it was only a couple of blocks away, the paths are paved which meant I had no trouble trundling my small suitcase along them.
Valladolid is an important historical town of the Yucatan and a real treat to visit for a few days.
Please remember that La Candelaria is a hostel not a hotel. Don't stay here if you want hotel service.
Our room was opposite the outside bathrooms—which could have been noisy but actually wasn’t. The bedroom was cozy and clean and had a ceiling fan. The managers are very helpful. We had a small ant problem initially but one of the managers took care of that very promptly.
The outdoor cooking and eating areas are excellent. Breakfast makings are provided. All aspects of the hostel were more than adequate—the hammock areas, the ambience, even the dogs.
Of course one of the many joys of staying in a hostel is meeting other travelers and finding out their stories and other traveler news. Like the vivacious young woman from Mexico City and the Canadian guy who’d been pack backing around Cuba.
We ate at the local downtown market area a couple of times and at a good little restaurant opposite the main square. All excellent value for money.
We had been looking forward to frequenting a small restaurant on the same square as the Hostel but they were closed for the holiday season—Christmas to New Year.
Just down from the edge of the square towards the downtown area was a taxi stand.
We were able to share a taxi with a couple of workers and another tourist to Ek Balam and then returned the same way—although the drop off point was downtown. This was a cheap and quick way to get to Ek Balam which is a wonderful example of Mayan architecture and not as crowded as Chichen Itza,
Apart from the trip to Ek Balam we walked everywhere around Valladolid. The sights are interesting and varied from the hallways of the Convent of San Bernardino (architecturally noteable, as was the outside), to the local cenote--Zaci Cenote which was a treat but perhaps we shouldn’t have swum there.
I highly recommend Albergue La Candelaria. This is an excellent base for exploring the area.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank eyes2c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (555)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

293 - 299 of 555 reviews

Reviewed December 9, 2011

We stayed here a couple of times, both times in single rooms, one of which had the only private bathroom. We found the place very clean, with a good breakfast provided, staff very friendly and helpful, with a lot of local knowledge. Sadly there is no offstreet parking for those who need it, though we parked in the street near the park without incident.

Room Tip: Book ahead
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Carlos R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 6, 2011

share all other views on this very civilised hostel run by a dutchman.you can even make your supper if you have had enough ckicken tortillas for a while.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank AndrewtLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 5, 2011

This place is absolutely terrific for backpackers or anyonr on a budget. We had a large room with comfortable queen bed and well laundered sheets. The shared bathroom was just outside the room - basic but clean with hot water in the shower. Lovely garden with hammocks. Two kitchens with plenty of space to cook that were well supplied with pots and pans and that were kept clean and tidy. Imcluded in the 280ps rate was an OK help yourself breakfast of decent coffee, fruit, bread, cereals. Plenty of space to relax. Laundry area. The owner and his staff were very helpful with local info. A model hostel but NOT a hotel so look elsewhere if that is what you want.

  • Stayed: December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Beenmostplaces
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 4, 2011

Great hostel in small town Valladolid. Located about 3 blocks from the bus stand and close to a lot of restaurants. Right next to a park.
Stayed in a private room which had 2 fans! Garden area and hammocks are amazing and cool place to chill out. Shared baths are clean. Lots of travelers in the common area and makes for great conversation.
Great place to stay for a night or couple of nights. While in Valladolid dont miss the cenotes - a taxi from the bus stand or main plaza to the ceynotes will cost you about 120 pesos and they will wait while you swim in the ceynotes.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank swordfish82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 3, 2011

The gardens in this little hostel were amazing, the staff incredibly friendly and the price a bargain. We paid $25 for a kingsized bed, private room with a shared bath and shower (which was super clean). The hotel is situated on a small Zocolo and very close to the main plaza. They include a breakfast in the morning and use of a kitchen, have free wifi and offer bike rentals. I would also like to add that we are both around 50 years old and felt very comfortable and at home despite the fact that most of the other guests were younger. I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank jmw61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 11, 2011

We stayed in the hostel only for a night as a stop over to visit Chichen Itza and the surrounding cenotes. The hostel is a 5 minute walk from the main ADO bus stop in Valladolid. it is located near a small square in one of the residential sections. The town center is not too far from the hostel either - about 7-10 min walk.

When we got to the hostel we were checked into one of the lovely double rooms. The owner was very friendly and gave us many tips on how to get to places of interests. He also helped us set our itinerary based on the amount of time we had. We were each given a hand drawn map of Valladoild to help us explore the town by ourselves.

The hostel itself is very well maintained and has a beautiful courtyard garden. Around the garden is a place to regroup, sit and read/drink or chat with fellow backpackers. Alongside there is an outdoor kitchen and breakfast section which can be used by one and all. Further down towards the end of the garden is a lovely hammock area surrounded by ferns, trees and other potted plants - instant hit with most guests.

The room we were given was small but clean. It was designed minimally and had a bed, a television set, table and chair. Though the room had a ceiling fan it wasn't sufficient for the Mexican heat. An additional fan was provided which worked really well to help cool off. We were expecting many mosquitoes but were surprised to find none in the room. The linens and towels provided were clean.

The shared bathrooms were opposite to our room and were well maintained. Initially while booking the hostel, I was a bit apprehensive about shared bathrooms but in the end it turned out just fine. There is hot water supply all day.

The hostel is a great place for backpackers and budget travelers. The tariff includes breakfast and all the facilities are free for use - great value. The only regret I have is that we did not stay on longer to enjoy the hostel and Valladolid.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Good_Tiding
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Valladolid hotels
0.2 mi away
El Meson del Marques
El Meson del Marques
#6 of 15 in Valladolid
1,415 reviews
0.1 mi away
hotel colonial la aurora
hotel colonial la aurora
#8 of 15 in Valladolid
448 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Posada San Juan
Hotel Posada San Juan
#1 of 15 in Valladolid
343 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hotel Quinta Marciala
Hotel Quinta Marciala
#7 of 15 in Valladolid
115 reviews
0.3 mi away
Casa Tia Micha
Casa Tia Micha
#4 of 15 in Valladolid
403 reviews
0.2 mi away
Maria de la Luz Hotel
Maria de la Luz Hotel
#12 of 15 in Valladolid
277 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hostel Candelaria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostel Candelaria

Address: Calle 35 | #201 F x 42 y 44, Parque de Candelaria, Valladolid 97780, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Yucatan > Valladolid
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 15 Hotels in Valladolid
Price Range: $11 - $32 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
*Breakfast included *Wifi in common areas *Bikes for rent *Sheets, lockers, padlock and keys provided *Map of the town and complete touristic information *Ventilators in each room *Hot water 24 hours *Bbq area *Hammocks area *T.V room *Parking on the street *Amazing staff ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Hostel Candelaria reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Albergue La Candelaria Hotel Valladolid

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing