We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very good hostel with a lovely garden”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Hostel Candelaria

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hostel Candelaria
Ranked #2 of 15 Hotels in Valladolid
Certificate of Excellence
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Very good hostel with a lovely garden”
Reviewed August 30, 2011

We stayed in Valladolid in Hostel La Candelaria for three nights during our Yucatan round trip in August 2011. Valladolid is a nice, small city and a good place for day trips to Chichen Itza and the Cenotes. The hostel is within walking distance from the main bus station and the main plaza of Valladolid. We had a private room (shared bathroom) on the first floor overlooking the garden. The room was clean, with basic furniture (double bed, table, chair), fan and a small TV. Linen and towels were provided, WiFi (good signal strength) and water from water coolers in both kitchens were also available. Both kitchens and the fridges to store your food were clean and the same applies for the shared bathroom we used. Breakfast is also provided for free and compared to the breakfast we later had in other hostels, the breakfast at La Candelaria stands out (cereals with fruits and yoghurt, toast, coffee, milk and tea - a lot more than the usual "two slices of toast per person breakfast" in other hostels). The hostel owner, a friendly Dutch guy is around for advice on day trips, restaurants, things to do etc. and you can also rent bikes from him at a reasonable price (for example to cycle to the cenotes, which is fun).
The long garden is very nice with lots of different trees and flowers. It is divided into separate areas where you can sit, have a barbecue, cook, chill and relax. At the very end of the garden there are hammocks hanging from trees and even outdoor reading lights are provided.
Overall, we really enjoyed our stay at La Candelaria and considered it as one of the best hostels we ever stayed in.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FMandPS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

523 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    394
    103
    22
    2
    2
See reviews for
20
183
172
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
26 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed August 2, 2011

I booked an individual room with La Candelaria for two nights. Because they make you pay for two people, I had to pay double, which ended up being a lower end hotel price and not a hostel price, but I thought I'd do it for the ambience and the good reviews on TripAdvisor. I have to admit I was disappointed based on the expectations I had from the other reviews. First of even though I paid for my private room, I was placed in a dorm room all the way up under the roof where it was extremely hot, I had to walk through another occupied dorm room to get to my room, and I was sharing the bathroom with this other dorm room too. The dorm rooms and the bathroom were definitely hostel quality and reasonably clean for that, but I had paid more money and had therefore expected something better than a hostel dorm room. The service was hostel quality as well, a bunch of kids running the reception area that didn't really care to make you feel welcome. I was mostly tip-toeing through the facilities trying to figure out where to find things. This might not be much of an issue if you have an extended stay and get to know everybody and how things work, but for a short stay this is the experience that will stick. I had a hard time figuring out how the breakfast works (e.g. when it starts, what they have to eat) from the lady who was preparing it, and I am fluent in Spanish. Meals were taken in awkward silence with other guests and staff, so nobody of the staff made an effort to make guests feel welcome or help to get a conversation going. I was trying to finish my meals as soon as possible and leave.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank salsaretreat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane
Level Contributor
19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed June 13, 2011

My wife & I stayed here recently and although we had a few minor problems, the owner handled them very professionally and quickly. Had he not done so, this review would have been a lot worse. This is a great place to stay to meet fellow travelers or just have some peace & quiet if you want.
Helpful and attentive staff, cute dogs and clean rooms.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Coolabah99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Campeche, Mexico
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed June 4, 2011

Valladolid is not a big town, and hostel is placed in a bit quieter area two blocks away from the central park. Hostel 'La Candelaria' is in the park with the same name, surrounded with colonial buildings and very nice church where some ladies were practicing singing every evening. Main bus station is three blocks away and as soon as you get out of the terminal you can see advertising for hostel (that is how I found it…). All busses stop there and it has clean and modern waiting area. There are lots of taxis too, but you do not really need them for such a short distances.

We stopped in Valladolid because it is closest city to Mayan ruins of Ek Balam and Chichen Itza, and there is also lots of cenotes all around the town. We rented bikes from the hostel for 2 bucks and went to all of those cenotes in one day because area is flat and easy to cover with bikes.

Hostel La Candelaria is very picturesque, old open windows (front doors are always open, but you have to unlock chained metal doors every time you get in the hostel ) and very nice, long garden with kitchen and seating area . There is also other kitchen area inside the house, with all you need to cook and prepare your food. Breakfast is free, they make their own bread rolls, and have nice fruit plates. Going through the garden is nice experience for it is kind of divided to areas where you sit, grill, cook, chill, hold your bikes, and in the end there are hammocks hanging from surrounding trees.

Rooms are on the second floor, mostly dorms, six people per room, large lockers for every bed. Price is $10 per bed which is totally fine for the area. There are no doors on the rooms which gives great family character, and stairs to go up are very small and kind of tough to carry stuff upstairs (well, downstairs with your back-pack is tough too). Second floor is not in one level but it goes up and down which adds to the character. Only negative thing I can think about is no enough bathrooms in the place, especially in the morning and with lots of girls in the hostel, but aside of that perfect backpacking dorms. Internet is good and area of the park in the front of the hostel is perfect to sit and chill.

Owner is super-straightforward Dutch guy that lives with his wife on the premises. They have two well behaved Chiwawas that area simply perfect for Mexican hostel.

Warmly recommended!

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank onatrack2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Strafford, Vermont
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed April 30, 2011

We stayed at Albergue la Candelaria for five nights in January while we prepared for a bike tour through the Yucatan to Chiapas. Ewout and Tania (I may be spelling the names wrong) probably thought we were crazy old duffers, as we built up our weird recumbent bikes in the little park out front, but they were consistently friendly and helpful.

The hostel is fairly quiet and small, and our private room was comfortable. There are green, shady gardens, and many little touches that show caring and creativity. Breakfast was good. Best of all were the guests. Somehow this hostel seems to attract interesting, thoughtful people, all ages, from all over the world. That's what a hostel should do.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WallyandBarbara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
93 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed April 20, 2011

This is a well-run hostel in a great location for biking and swimming in the cenotes that are nearby. You can also visit the Mayan ruins of Ek Balam and Chichen Itza. The owners and staff help make this place what it is, a welcoming home away from home. This hostel has everything you want and need. The town of Valladolid is a relaxing place to hang out with nice locals and cheap eats. I could have stayed longer.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank bknn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rosendale, New York
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed February 27, 2011

We stayed here for two nights in a private room. The staff, including two hilarious chihuahuas, was friendly and helpful (provided a map of local sights). Breakfast (granola, yogurt, toast, coffee) was included, was more than adequate and ready each morning in the communal kitchen.

Our room was clean and colorful and had a comfortable bed, small TV, and ceiling fan. The grounds have a jungle-like atmosphere, kind of like a little jungle oasis in the middle of the city.

What we enjoyed most was the friendly and relaxed vibe, which made it easy to meet fellow travelers or just lay back in a hammock.

Out of all the places we stayed on our trip throughout the Yucatan, this was absolutely the best value. We started out just looking at Valladolid as a home base for exploring Chichen Itza, but it became one of the highlights of our trip.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank saltami22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Valladolid hotels
0.2 mi away
El Meson del Marques
El Meson del Marques
#6 of 15 in Valladolid
1,332 reviews
0.1 mi away
hotel colonial la aurora
hotel colonial la aurora
#8 of 15 in Valladolid
418 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Posada San Juan
Hotel Posada San Juan
#1 of 15 in Valladolid
301 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hotel Quinta Marciala
Hotel Quinta Marciala
#7 of 15 in Valladolid
89 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Maria Guadalupe
Hotel Maria Guadalupe
#10 of 15 in Valladolid
146 reviews
0.3 mi away
Casa Tia Micha
Casa Tia Micha
#5 of 15 in Valladolid
384 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hostel Candelaria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostel Candelaria

Property: Hostel Candelaria
Address: Calle 35 | #201 F x 42 y 44, Parque de Candelaria, Valladolid 97780, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Yucatan > Valladolid
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 15 Hotels in Valladolid
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
*Breakfast included *Wifi in common areas *Bikes for rent *Sheets, lockers, padlock and keys provided *Map of the town and complete touristic information *Ventilators in each room *Hot water 24 hours *Bbq area *Hammocks area *T.V room *Parking on the street *Amazing staff ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld, Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Hostel Candelaria reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Albergue La Candelaria Hotel Valladolid

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing