We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent hotel” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Lodge at Uxmal

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Lodge at Uxmal
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Uxmal
Certificate of Excellence
Reading, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Excellent hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 25, 2013

We stayed for 4 nights in early October, as part of a Mayaland tour. We were upgraded to the Lodge from the Hacienda and were delighted. This is a lovely hotel and we really enjoyed our stay at Uxmal. Wonderful location, just outside the site entrance, so we were able to visit early in the morning before the crowds arrived. Large comfortable clean rooms. Lovely swimming pools in beautiful gardens which were great for relaxing after a day of site visiting. The staff were very helpful and attentive. Whilst staying at the hotel we celebrated our wedding anniversary. We were presented with a wonderful decorated cake, with fancy bird designs painted onto the serving plates. On our last night our group (6 of us) were treated to a special menu. The staff here work very hard to make your stay a memorable experience. Uxmal is an amazing site in itself, but the hotel definitely added to the overall experience. I would definitely recommend this hotel and Mayaland as a company (I believe they own other hotels in the Yucatan) as they certainly seem to have a focus on the customer experience and ensuring you gain a very positive impression of the region and it's people.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SJJ21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chichenuxmal, Owner at The Lodge at Uxmal, responded to this review, November 17, 2013
Thank you so much for visiting with us, taking Mayaland's Yucatan Explorer Tour of the Yucatan and making such fantastic comments about your experience while with us!

Next time you celebrate another wedding anniversary we hope it will be with us, Felicidades!

For close to a century, five generations of Barbachano family members have been showing our guests the best of Yucatan. Your comments pay homage to all of theirs and our efforts.
On behalf of all our collaborators, Muchas Gracias !
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

346 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    228
    78
    24
    9
    7
See reviews for
77
175
9
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (59)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New Orleans
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 9, 2013

I was initially disappointed that I had been bumped from Hacienda Uxmal since it holds wonderful memories of many trips past.....but I was 'bumped' to Lodge at Uxmal and what a surprise! My room actually had a view of the Temple of the Magician....beautiful at sunset from the porch. The food was superb and the restaurant was more than accomodating if I wanted any change or addtion to the menu. But the BEST part was the service! Everyone was great....but WILLIAM in the restaurant took the prize! His English was great but he assisted me in my attempts to converse in Spanish whenever I could....even teaching me a Mayan word/phrase or two! Great place....adios Hacienda! I will return to the Lodge....if only for Williams excellent service! Celia from New Orleans.

Room Tip: Ask for the second floor overlooking the restaurant so that your sunset view is of the Temple ofvthe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank monstaman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chichenuxmal, Owner at The Lodge at Uxmal, responded to this review, October 20, 2013
Coming from New Orleans your comments are specially meaningful. I'll share with you why:
Tulane University of New Orleans has done so much for the study and consolidation of the Mayan Temples in Uxmal, for over a century, that what you experience while with us is very much a part of those efforts. To read that we were the best part of your trip... well, it goes to the heart of all of us, whose efforts make your expression possible. WE ARE ALL GRATEFUL & THANKFUL !

We hope to see you soon. Until then, safe and happy travels!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coventry, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 8, 2013

My husband and I recently stayed at The Lodge for 4 nights as part of the Yucatan Tour with Thomson and I can honestly say these 4 nights were the most amazing of our holiday, which was also our honeymoon and the fantastic staff and beautiful hotel has given us many treasured memories for all the years to come!!

The hotel is beautiful with 2 stunning pools (which are always kept clean and well maintained), the gorgeous bar / restaurant and the accommodation areas looked fabulous. Our room was a suite with 2 levels, with the king size bed being on a mezzanine level accessed by a beautiful wooden staircase and downstairs a lovely big living room with sofas, TV & mini bar and a spacious bathroom with both a huge shower and lovely big jacuzzi bath. Every day there were beautiful flower arrangements of exotic flowers and fabulous towel animals to return to (I loved arriving back after a day of exploring to see what stunning display there would be next and I was never disappointed!!) The room was always cleaned to the highest standard and mini bar restocked daily. Our room had a large balcony / terrace with 2 rocking chairs and a hammock and overlooked the 2nd pool. It was very quiet as is the rainy season and we felt like we were in our own little paradise!

All the staff were friendly and nothing was to much trouble. In particular William, the restaurant manager, Julio & Luis we found to be extremely helpful, friendly & fun to chat to! On finding out we were on our honeymoon we were treated to a very special dinner - which, as all the food we had at this hotel, was gorgeous - a special table set up remote to others, with petals & leaves laid out to depict a heart with arrow through and plenty of their beautiful flowers. Will upload photo shortly! William, Julio & Luis's service was impecible and they enjoyed talking to us and having a laugh, which made us feel special. Thank you guys! :-)

As we've said to the lovely Manager of this hotel, and his fantastic staff, we will be back in the near future and would have absolutely no hesitation in recommending this hotel to anyone & everyone. Perfect base to visit many local sites like the spectacular Uxmal, which is on the doorstep, Campeche, Merida and the Puuc route and many more which we'd like to return to visit!

We travelled on to a 5 * resort for the remaining 7 nights of our honeymoon and immediately wished we were back at The Lodge at Uxmal!!

Can't wait to return, keep up the great work!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kym B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chichenuxmal, Owner at The Lodge at Uxmal, responded to this review, October 20, 2013
Reading your review enlightens our endeavors ! All our collaborators THANK YOU for such a fabulous account of your experience while with us.... that is what we are all about, service and creating unique guest experiences. Thank you for such rewarding comments !

It will be an honor to be your host again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 5, 2013

I stayed at the lodge for 4 nights, whilst touring the Yucatan. This hotel was an excellent base for Uxmal; Merida; Campeche and many other sites. The hotel was excellent. All of the staff were courteous and nothing was too much trouble. Meals in the restaurant were of a high quality and William (restaurant manager) and his team were always happy to provide a meal to tempt us, offering many dishes not on the menu. Pool facilities were great after a busy day sightseeing. Rooms were very spacious and kept to a high standard of cleanliness. The added touches of towel sculptures and floral decorations awaited us every day. Minibar facilities and free bottles of water. Individual attention and a high level of customer service. Would have no hesitation in recommending this hotel to others.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lovetheatre
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chichenuxmal, Owner at The Lodge at Uxmal, responded to this review, October 20, 2013
We are all very grateful for your FANTASTIC REVIEW !
Coming from England your comments bring a special, added meaning and energize our efforts.
We hope to see you enjoy our services again in the near future. Until then, safe and happy travels!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 4, 2013

My friend and I stayed at the Lodge for four nights as part of the Yucatan tour (Thomson / First choice). The rooms were spacious, clean and comfortable, the surrounding beautiful, a welcome pool, a thoughtfully provided umbrella for the sudden showers :-) and with the added bonus of being next to one of the most amazing archeological sites. For most of the four nights there was only us and another couple, also on the tour, stopping at the hotel although we were joined by larger groups calling in for lunch or dinner. The hotel staff were extremely friendly and made us feel very welcome, more like friends than guests greeting us every time we returned from a trip. Every night there was a towel sculpture on the bed and flowers decorating the bathroom, on the last night a plate of fresh fruit was also placed on the table. As a non meat eater I sometimes find the menus challenging, however Dimitrio our guide spoke to the restaurant manager William who with the help of his chef provided me with imaginative and tasty meals throughout, so much so that the rest of the party also opted for some of the vegetarian dishes. All our meals were excellent and often the staff brought out extra unordered dishes for us to try as they seemed to enjoy our pleasure at trying each new dish. I would like to thank all the staff for making our stay perfect and have no problem recommending this hotel to anyone. We travelled on to our beach resort hotel after 4 nights and whilst it was a superb hotel we missed the individual attention we recieved at the Lodge

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MCR20132013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chichenuxmal, Owner at The Lodge at Uxmal, responded to this review, October 20, 2013
THANK YOU for being so gracious in your review towards our collaborators and the thorough description of your experience while with us at the Lodge at Uxmal. You summed up what we hope our patrons will remember as a unique series of gestures and efforts you will remember !
Muchas Gracias! We hope you will return soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Lancashire
Level Contributor
85 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 144 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 25, 2013

We stayed one night in this hotel on a Thomas Cook Legends of The Yucatan tour. It is right next to the archeological site of Uxmal, one of the most astonishing places on earth. We were a family group of eight within a larger party of two dozen people. Our rooms were spacious and beautifully furnished, although there were unpleasant drain smells in a couple of the bathrooms. The mosquito nets draped over the beds added to the atmosphere. The wifi didn't work in our bedrooms. The pools are brilliant. We had a great time splashing about with a constant stream of beers and cocktails from the bar on the side to add to the fun. The only criticism, and I'm afraid it is a substantial one, was the poor quality of the food we were served. The starter was bizarre, bits of tomato on dry bread. The main course was sub-school-dinner standard. Dull, mass produced and tasting of 'We saw you coming' cynicism. Thomas Cook claim they quality assure their Tour hotels. They clearly don't when it comes to how this hotel treats Thomas Cook clients at mealtime. We had no problem with the hotel itself, but in the end we felt ripped off, especially when we saw the contrast between what we were being given compared other guests. If the Uxmal Lodge wants to cut corners with larger parties it must realise that they can't then expect entirely glowing feedback afterwards.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Dilolwa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chichenuxmal, Owner at The Lodge at Uxmal, responded to this review, October 20, 2013
Thank you for a very nice review of our beautiful, unique UXMAL !
I do feel sorry you did not enjoy our food... please give us an opportunity in the future to make up for it, to exceed your expectations. We would be very grateful and we promise, YOU will be very happy!

Hasta la vista!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La Coruna, Spain
Level Contributor
69 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 19, 2013

My husband and I stayed at this hotel because we made a trip by ourselves renting a car in the area of our resort (Grand Palladium) in the Mayan Riviera. We were in honeymoon and we told that to the receptionist at the Lodge of Uxmal when we arrived there. For this reason, the hotel had the very nice touch of giving us an upgrade and we got a beautiful two floors-room (see the pics).

The hotel has the best location possible as it is in front of the entrance of Uxmal ruins. That evening we enjoyed the light and sound show, which I highly recommend, and let me tell you that nowadays is the only place in the whole Yucatan peninsula that has this show.

After that, we returned to the hotel for having dinner. We ate wonderful at the restaurant!! The quality of the meat surpised us in a very good way. I really recommend to eat here. We had our breakfast here as well and we liked a lot the Yucatan breakfast with eggs, home made rolls and the delicious papaya jam (between other things to eat).

Our room was beautiful and with a very romantic atmosphere. The bathroom is big with both bath and shower and have tea & coffee facilities. The room, as I said before, had 2 floors. The first one, with two twin beds, TV, mini fridge and the bath. In the superior level there is the double bed. The two floors are connected for a beautiful wooden stairs and all the beds have mosquito nets. But we did not have any mosquitos around which was great (mosquitos love me!).

The day after we visited Uxmal with a guide that you can hire at the entrance. It really worths the money. We had a wonderful visit with all the detailed explanations that helps you to understand better the place. While we were having breakfast it came a guide from the hotel to offer his services but we refused and we did right. Hiring a guide inside the ruins is better because is cheaper (i.e we saved 200 pesos).

We really loved Uxmal and it was our favourite Mayan ruin between all the ones that we visited (Chichén Itzá, Cobá and Ek Balam). Do not hesitate in coming here, rent a car and drive until this incredible place. It is not dangerous at all to go with the car from Playa del Carmen and Cancún area. Everything is perfectly indicated and we felt sure all the time. Do not loose the opportunity to live this experience outside your resort.

This was my second visit to the Mayan Riviera and I was not sure at the start of making the trip by ourselves. Thank godness we finally did it because it was wonderful. If we return to the area of Uxmal again, I definetely would stay at the Lodge of Uxmal.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank donperico
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chichenuxmal, Owner at The Lodge at Uxmal, responded to this review, October 20, 2013
What an honor to have you with us during your honeymoon! .... and yes, what a thorough, fantastic review of your experience while with us! From all our collaborators, MUCHISIMAS GRACIAS !
We hope to see you next time you cross the Atlantic from beautiful northern Spain to come and enjoy the Yucatan!

May you always enjoy Safe and happy travels.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Uxmal
0.2 mi away
Hotel Hacienda Uxmal Plantation & Museum
1.1 mi away
Hotel Uxmal Resort Maya
23.6 mi away
Hacienda Temozon, A Luxury Collection Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.1 mi away
Posada el Jardin
Posada el Jardin
#1 of 2 in Ticul
4.5 of 5 bubbles 54 reviews
15.2 mi away
Hotel Plaza
Hotel Plaza
#2 of 2 in Ticul
3.5 of 5 bubbles 23 reviews
0.2 mi away
La Casa del Mago
La Casa del Mago
#1 of 1 in Uxmal
3.5 of 5 bubbles 33 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Lodge at Uxmal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Lodge at Uxmal

Property: The Lodge at Uxmal
Address: Main Street 3 | Uxmal Archeological Park, Uxmal 97884, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Yucatan > Uxmal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Uxmal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Lodge at Uxmal 4.5*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The newest, most luxurious and best located of all Uxmal hotels, right across the main pyramids and entrance to the Temples at Uxmal. The Lodge at Uxmal features rooms distributed among five, two story bungalows built with materials native to the region. They overlook a central courtyards that incorporate and two large swimming pools rimmed with sun beds. All accommodations have air conditioning, ceiling fans, servibars, SAT TV; Suites include private jacuzzis and king size beds. Some have Lofts. The Lodge is the perfect base for exploring the real Yucatan, It's living Maya villages, Caves, Colonial monasteries, cathedrals and convents, Cenotes, and Haciendas. Our neighboring, new Chocolate Museum at Uxmal is a short walk from our gardens. A nightly light and sound spectacle is featured inside the archeological park.Guests may enjoy access to all facilities at our neighboring sister property, The Hacienda Uxmal Plantation and Museum, and the miles of it's jogging, walking and horse back ridding trails & Free Temazcal Experience (reservation required). You may also enjoy Free access to the Hacienda's Gallery of Historical Events and Personalities that Enhanced Our Knowledge of Uxmal. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline and Cheap Tickets so you can book your The Lodge at Uxmal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Lodge At Uxmal Hotel Uxmal
Hotel Uxmal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing