We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful place”
Review of The Lodge at Uxmal

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Lodge at Uxmal
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Uxmal
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 10, 2012

We had reservations at the Hacienda Uxmal ( a sister property) but upon our arrival were told that we had been moved to the lodge since we were the only ones booked into the Hacienda that night ( a very slow low season). What a treat!

The lodge is directly at the entry to the Uxmal ruins and it is a wonderful place. We had room 1A whose veranda overlooked the main pool and the Uxmal pyramid was visible from our hammock (which was hung up by the staff after we checked in). The room was very large with a large bathroom and was clean and neat with semi-rustic furniture. The feel of the room was exactly as the name of the hotel implied - like a lodge. The grounds are very pretty and the pools large and clean.

We booked a private guide through the hotel for the same price as the ones that stand at the entrance of the ruins charge, and he was excellent. I would suggest this to anyone and if you can get Jorge he is the best - fluent in English, Spanish and German, and so entertaining and informative. He truly loves the Uxmal site and it shows.

The Uxmal ruins are excellent and totally different than the others we have seen (Chichen Itza, Tulum and Coba). We also did the sound and light show and it was interesting.

The food in the hotel's dining palapa was good and there is a nice bar for a good cold beer or other drink.

Overall this is an excellent hotel and highly recommended. It costs more than the Hacienda but since we were upgraded we did not have to pay any more. The Hacienda looked very nice as well and is just a short walk up a road from the Lodge and the Uxmal entry. I am sure it would have been fine as well.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank WillieC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chichenuxmal, Owner at The Lodge at Uxmal, responded to this reviewResponded September 14, 2012

Thank you for taking the time to give the world's traveling community such a detailed account of your visit amongst us! What a nice review!

As you may have noticed, we are upgrading our facilities at both, The Hacienda Uxmal and The Lodge at Uxmal. You may find new and exiting additions to our offerings in steam and sauna baths, upgraded amenities and new upgrades to our rooms and facilities. We hope to have the pleasure of your visit again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (368)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

170 - 176 of 368 reviews

Reviewed August 20, 2012

This hotel was amazing just a short walk to the ruins. My grandkids 6 and 4 loved going back in the afternoon and climbing to the top of the Pyramid with their mom. I stayed behind and watch them. The hotel is the perfect setting. We met the manager of the hotel, Mr Bersain Velazquez, who was extremely helpful. My grandkids wanted to go horse back riding and he arrange it for them. I agree with most of the other reviews that have been marked as excellent.

Room Tip: Our room was on the second floor and just ask for a hammack and you can feel in a very relaxing atmo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lucy F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chichenuxmal, Owner at The Lodge at Uxmal, responded to this reviewResponded August 31, 2012

Wonderful ! How pleasant to learn of your enjoyable stay at the Lodge at Uxmal with your grandchildren! .......and yes, thank you for such a great review! For sharing with world travelers of your experience while with us.
We are remodeling the suites at the Lodge (all of them). New furniture and bathroom fixtures and new LED, large TV screens. Next time you come, your family can enjoy our new suites with lofts that are amazingly beautiful! Until then, enjoy your family and have safe travels!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 19, 2012

We were staying at the hacienda but got bumped up to the lodge for free due to a big group staying at the hacienda. Great service. The room was nice and spacious with air conditioning. The two pools made it easy to relax in the heat and with the pyramids as our neighbor the lodge was a great place to stay. Only downsides was the restaurant which was plain compared to some of the other places we ate in Mexico. Also the bar personal were a bit rude trying to give 100 pesos change in coins.

If you want to see the pyramids in Uxmal this is a great place to stay. Mind you though there are cheaper places in the same area. We did not originally chose the lodge but we enjoyed the upgrade and a bit more of luxury.

Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
Thank klitgaardj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 17, 2012

The Lodge at Uxmal was perfect next to the ruins . The room was spacious with a large wooden slated window when open gave a view of gardens and pool,the bathroom had a jacuzzi for two with everything to hand. The verrandah had two comfortably chairs and table over looking pool and gardens. The restaurant was a short walk from room pass main pool and water feature where we had our meals, whitch were perfect in every way, the staff very helpful, William restaurant captan made our stay memorable. Victor Gonzalous our driver and giude was outstanding in his knowledge of Mexican history and culture and made our stay very enjoyable

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank monty2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chichenuxmal, Owner at The Lodge at Uxmal, responded to this reviewResponded July 19, 2012

Thank you so much for your wonderful review!
We are delighted that your experience at The Lodge at Uxmal and the guided services of Victor were so appreciated.
We look forward to having you with us again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 17, 2012

When my wife loves a hotel, you know it has to be top-drawer. Our room was quite lovely with a soaring Palapa Roof. Food was terrific and the level of hospitality and friendliness excellent. But best of all was meeting Bersain, the manager for the past 4 years, who has obviously created much of what we experienced.

Our only regret was not staying longer . . . the ruins of Uxmal are worthy of several days and we want to travel the Ruta Puc again and again . . . and to do so from such a comfortable hotel begs us to return . . .

Room Tip: The Palapa roofs are on the upstairs rooms . . .
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JaimeMurcielago
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chichenuxmal, Owner at The Lodge at Uxmal, responded to this reviewResponded July 19, 2012

Thank you so much for your comments !

Yes, we are blessed to have Bersain heading our efforts at Uxmal. He embodies friendship and a service attitude with a smile that imprint a most agreeable note to his relationship with our guests and collaborators.

Thanks for sharing with world travelers what a unique experience Uxmal represents.

We look forward to having you and your family and friends with us again in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 16, 2012

We were schedule to be in the Hacienda Uxmal but due to low season, we were placed in the Lodge at Uxmal. We were excited to be in the environment of the Lodge. There was something magical about waking up to the sounds of birds, and the low hanging fog. The manager, Bersain, and the staff of the hotel and the restaurant were the best that they could be. We appreciated the tour of the old hacienda and the plantation. Thank you to all.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BluLightning
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chichenuxmal, Owner at The Lodge at Uxmal, responded to this reviewResponded July 19, 2012

I saw pictures of you and your wife with the old Hacienda entrance arch on the background, and thought how wonderful that the consolidation of this venerable place is now being enjoyed by our visitors ! We are all grateful for your patronage and the comments you have made of your stay amongst us. Muchas Gracias!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 26, 2012

I was in a quick visit to many destinations in Yucatan and Uxmal is one of the best parts of the state. If you are going from Campeche or Merida is easy to get there and the highway is very safe and in good shape. The Lodge at Uxmal is a top notch hotel that allows guest to feel comfortable and pampered after exploring the wonders in the area.

To visit the Uxmal Maya ruins you just have to cross the street, it's incredibly convenient to explore the ruins and relax after a long walk and return to the spacious room to recover in the jacuzzi or chilling in the balcony.

Rooms are in extraordinary condition, great toileteries (Honey shampoo & coconut vainilla body lotion smells delicious!) Both Bedroom and bathroom have great space and there's a big jacuzzi to relax. Inside the room there's coffee maker, minibar, AC & ceiling fan.

There's a fantastic wood curve blind that keeps your room dark and let you enjoy the enviroment, In the balcony there's a rocking chair and a hammock to enjoy the view. The doors and glasses have incredible Maya details.

The hotel have two pools, one in the main entrance where you can enjoy views of one of the pyramids, next to the pool is the restaurant and the bar where food is very tasteful. Try Chaya in any dish you can,is a local plant and it's not spicy. Be careful with Chile Habanero!

There's a small farm located in the back of Hacienda Uxmal (another great hotel) that provide some products for the hotel.

Free wifi access is provided in the lobby and restaurant, Local people is very friendly and hospitalary, you need a couple of day to explore ruins and some other attractions and the hotel is the perfect spot to stay.

Room Tip: Rooms in first floor have palapa ceiling!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Beulowsky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded June 29, 2012

Thank you for sharing your wonderful experience with the traveling community !
You really covered our grounds! Nice that you would have noticed that we organically grow many of the fruits and vegetables that we serve freshly everyday.
We look forward to having you with us again; Until then, safe and happy travels!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Uxmal
0.3 mi away
Hotel Hacienda Uxmal Plantation & Museum
1.1 mi away
Hotel Uxmal Resort Maya
24.4 mi away
Hacienda Temozon, A Luxury Collection Hotel, Temozon Sur
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.1 mi away
Posada el Jardin
Posada el Jardin
#1 of 2 in Ticul
57 reviews
23.4 mi away
Hotel Puuc
Hotel Puuc
#1 of 1 in Oxkutzcab
34 reviews
0.2 mi away
La Casa del Mago
La Casa del Mago
#1 of 1 in Uxmal
38 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Lodge at Uxmal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Lodge at Uxmal

Address: Main Street 3 | Uxmal Archeological Park, Uxmal 97884, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Yucatan > Uxmal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Uxmal
Price Range: $186 - $306 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Lodge at Uxmal 4.5*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The newest, most luxurious and best located of all Uxmal hotels, right across the main pyramids and entrance to the Temples at Uxmal. The Lodge at Uxmal features rooms distributed among five, two story bungalows built with materials native to the region. They overlook a central courtyards that incorporate and two large swimming pools rimmed with sun beds. All accommodations have air conditioning, ceiling fans, servibars, SAT TV; Suites include private jacuzzis and king size beds. Some have Lofts. The Lodge is the perfect base for exploring the real Yucatan, It's living Maya villages, Caves, Colonial monasteries, cathedrals and convents, Cenotes, and Haciendas. Our neighboring, new Chocolate Museum at Uxmal is a short walk from our gardens. A nightly light and sound spectacle is featured inside the archeological park.Guests may enjoy access to all facilities at our neighboring sister property, The Hacienda Uxmal Plantation and Museum, and the miles of it's jogging, walking and horse back ridding trails & Free Temazcal Experience (reservation required). You may also enjoy Free access to the Hacienda's Gallery of Historical Events and Personalities that Enhanced Our Knowledge of Uxmal. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA and Hotwire so you can book your The Lodge at Uxmal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Lodge At Uxmal Hotel Uxmal
Hotel Uxmal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing