We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Very Special Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Hacienda Uxmal Plantation & Museum
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Uxmal
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 2, 2013

Hotel Hacienda Uxmal has a very special atmosphere, generated by its careful design and very friendly and attentive staff. A refreshing welcome drink was provided on our arrival and our luggage was dealt with very promptly then and on our departure.
Rooms open onto the cloister-like courtyard, in the centre of which are a good-sized swimming pool, a lily pond, grass, a variety of trees, and many attractive birds. Nearby is a palm thatched open sided terrace, where one can while time away relaxing in one of the hammocks.
The floors are covered in colourful mosaic tiles and the furniture is made of local wood, giving a lovely old-fashioned feel to the high ceilinged rooms. Bedrooms have both air-conditioning and fans, and a delightful touch is the crafting of towels - swans, bears and rabbits - and the strewing of flower petals around the bath.
The hotel has hosted many dignitaries in the past, including royalty, presidents, archaeologists and celebrities, and outside each bedroom is a plaque giving details of the room's most distinguished guest.
The menu has a wide range of choices, with plenty of Mexican dishes, and the standard is very high. The staff were happy to accommodate our 'split meal', so that we could go to the Son et Lumiere at the Uxmal ruins, before enjoying dessert.
Our only disappointment was that we could not stay longer.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Shirley01223
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chichenuxmal, Owner at Hotel Hacienda Uxmal Plantation & Museum, responded to this reviewResponded June 8, 2013

From our heart, thank you for your comments!
The Hacienda Uxmal has been in our family for 340 years. The love and devotion of many generations who have participated in it's design, construction, furnishing and giving ambiance to what you experience THANK YOU!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (777)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Hacienda Uxmal Plantation & Museum
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

289 - 295 of 777 reviews

Reviewed May 27, 2013

The food is very good with a very good variety of traditional foods. The location is beautiful and a good home base to explore the area. The pool is clean and very enjoyable. The staff is very helpful and go out of their way to make you comfortable. Afternoon breezes make for a restful evening.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mayra L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chichenuxmal, Owner at Hotel Hacienda Uxmal Plantation & Museum, responded to this reviewResponded June 8, 2013

Thanks for such a wonderful review!
We are delighted with your comment about our cuisine, MUCHAS GRACIAS!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 27, 2013

I can only say: What a lovely hotel!

It is quite an experience to stay at this famous hotel where countless celebrities stayed before (Grace Kelly, Queen Elizabeth II, Princess of Denmark, Jacqueline Kennedy etc.). The U shaped building has lovely rooms and suites. We stayed there for one night only as it is located a few minutes within walking distance to the Uxmal visitor site.

Loved the spacious bedroom, bathroom and the lovely swimming pool. We also dined at the hotel and went for a buffet dinner which offered a selection of lovely salads, vegetables and various main dishes and desserts. Staff is very friendly and helpful.

Tip: Book well in advance as it is a popular place. Also, I would highly recommend to spend a night there and to visit the temple sight early in the morning (door opens 8am).

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Dana_Ross2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chichenuxmal, Owner at Hotel Hacienda Uxmal Plantation & Museum, responded to this reviewResponded June 8, 2013

Thank you for sharing your experience with the world's traveling community.
We look forward to having you with us again!
Safe Travels.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 15, 2013

I really struggled with the rating of this review as it originally was going to be an 'average' review but the service turned it into an excellent. Let me explain why...
As noted in the title of the review, this place oozes with a fascinating and storied history that is very tastefully presented in and around the rooms. That alone is worth added enjoyment to any stay here and enough to warrant another 'tick' up. We chose this site as I found this to be the best quality for value option around Uxmal and I feel that it met the mark but we were disappointed with certain things.
The service in the on site restaurant after the light show was non existant due to a tour buffet. After we were seated in a table that could seat about eight (2 of us), nobody looked in on us for one of those extended periods of annoyance that was long enough to get up and leave...so we left. We knew that the restaurant down the street was still owned by them so the money was going to the same place (only option in area), but we had great service and a tasty dinner down there. When we went for breakfast the next morning, the same server William (very good guy) was there and without us having mentioned anything to anyone about our disppointment for being overlooked at the restaurant apologized and gave us an extra fruit plate. We were very impressed with this proactive apology for something we had not realized that they were aware of...we didn't concern ourselves with any thoughts about how they knew we had walked out...It was a nice save!
There is also a difference between historically rustic and old, crappy, in need of replacement. Management needs to look at the following projects - changing lamp shades and light fixtures, changing bathroom fixtures, espcially the rusted shower heads and replacing the towels (some were literally falling apart at the seams).
Finally, charging 35 pesos for a bottle of in-room water in a country where everyone thinks/knows that you can't drink the tap water is a classic case of the luxury hotel nickel and diming...the rates are quite low to still be special, why not up the rate by 3 bucks per night and give us the guest the bottled water for free? We were lucky enough to have some free bottles provided from another hotel because we had other free bottles extra from the hotel before that...
Finally, there was an excellent book presented at the front desk about the Yucatan, I am working with someone at Mayaland hotel to get it mailed to me at my expense - and I appreciate this extra effort and service!!

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank sekaitraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chichenuxmal, Owner at Hotel Hacienda Uxmal Plantation & Museum, responded to this reviewResponded June 8, 2013

Thank you so much for your thorough review!
we hope to see you again soon.
Hasta la vista!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 6, 2013

The good:
* Good location over the road from the Uxmal ruins. There is a hotel even closer than this one which is right on the doorstep of the entrance to the ruins.
* Rooms are large.
* Breakfast is plentiful
* Free wifi
* Very cheap
* Nice pool and grounds

The bad:
* Rooms are a bit basic. They could probably do with an upgrade, in particular the beds.
* Big spa bath, but unable to fill it without running out of hot water.

Conclusion:
I would probably recommend this hotel to those wanting to stay near the ruins, though there is another hotel even closer. The rooms are basic and we were happy enough with what was on offer, but it really is a basic hotel. It is very good value.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank garrad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chichenuxmal, Owner at Hotel Hacienda Uxmal Plantation & Museum, responded to this reviewResponded June 8, 2013

Of the last 10 comments, yours is the only one that is not a perfect score!
You paid for a standard room. You got a standard room. You mention that IT IS A GREAT VALUE and it really is. Where in the world do you get a room like that for $78 USD ?

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 1, 2013

Uxmal should be as famous at Chichen Itza, it isn't. but should be. First, no crowds. Two, you can climb all over the ruins (except main pyramid which has steps at 60 degrees!) Third, the excellent Hotel Hacienda Uxmal is right across the street from the impressive and extensive ruins. Do like I did, walk around for awhile, go back to the hotel for lunch and a swim, go back in the cooler afternoon for another look around. Big rooms, lovely furnishings, fine restaurant, bicycle paths, nice swimming pool to relax around. Perfect

Room Tip: all are fine, as far as I could tell
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank steve M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chichenuxmal, Owner at Hotel Hacienda Uxmal Plantation & Museum, responded to this reviewResponded May 2, 2013

Uxmal was more famous than Chichen Itza... until Cancun came into existence and visitors, marveled at Chichen and unaware of Uxmal reverse the standing! You are absolutely right!! And I own both hotels (The Mayaland in Chichen as well) so I am completely unbiased. Just look at the Who is Who of the World in period between the XVII and XX centuries, as can be seen by our gallery of visitors at the Hacienda Uxmal, and you will confirm the above. Uxmal is the architectural Masterpiece of the Classic Period of the Maya Civilization ( so said Frank Lloyd Wright & many, many other archeologists and scholars).

Thank you for your fine comments on our Hacienda. We are all great full !
May you always enjoy safe travels.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 26, 2013

We spent one night here and wished we could stay longer. Our large room was comfortable and tastefully decorated. We had trouble with the shower system and the problem was rectifed within minutes of our complaint even though it was 11pm. We had diiner at the hotel and found the service good. Unfortunately we didn't get around to using the pool but it did look appealing. We were with a small tour group otherwise we would have stayed longer. Only a short walk to the archaeological site.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Julie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chichenuxmal, Owner at Hotel Hacienda Uxmal Plantation & Museum, responded to this reviewResponded May 2, 2013

You made a common mistake.... staying for just a couple of nights... THERE IS SO MUCH TO DO AND LEARN in this central part of Yucatan: Convents, Grottos, Mayan villages with great shopping for hand made artifacts, clothing ... I could write a book on the subject.. all at unbelievable prices !

So yes, next time you come.... we look forward to having you with us for about a week.

Until then, Safe and happy travels!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Uxmal
0.2 mi away
The Lodge at Uxmal
The Lodge at Uxmal
#2 of 3 in Uxmal
366 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Uxmal Resort Maya
24.2 mi away
Hacienda Temozon, A Luxury Collection Hotel, Temozon Sur
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.3 mi away
Posada el Jardin
Posada el Jardin
#1 of 2 in Ticul
57 reviews
23.6 mi away
Hotel Puuc
Hotel Puuc
#1 of 1 in Oxkutzcab
33 reviews
0.1 mi away
La Casa del Mago
La Casa del Mago
#1 of 1 in Uxmal
38 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Hacienda Uxmal Plantation & Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Hacienda Uxmal Plantation & Museum

Address: In the heart of the archaeological park of Uxmal, Uxmal 97840, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Yucatan > Uxmal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Uxmal
Price Range: $97 - $115 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Hacienda Uxmal Plantation & Museum 3.5*
Number of rooms: 82
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the heart of Uxmal, Hotel Hacienda Uxmal Plantation & Museum is the world's first hotel hacienda. Completely remodeled in 2002, and constantly up-dated,rooms overlook a central pool surrounded by beautiful tropical gardens and graceful palm trees, set in a working plantation with many kilometers of forest trails for walking, jogging, horseback and bicycle riding. All rooms have a terrace or a balcony. This delightful resort of contemporary colonial architecture is a favorite of royalty, world personalities and heads of state. The new Chocolate Museum neighbors our extensive gardens. Our location is ideal as a base from which to visit Yucatan's major attractions. Less than i hour driving time from Merida & only 40 minutes from Merida International Airport. Please contact us for transportation options & information. We have a money back guarantee that we are the best resort in the Uxmal area, Kindly contact us. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Hacienda Uxmal Plantation & Museum reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hacienda Hotel Uxmal
Uxmal Hacienda Hotel
Hacienda Uxmal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing