We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Hacienda Uxmal Plantation & Museum
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Uxmal
Certificate of Excellence
Ann Arbor
1 review
“Great Hotel”
Reviewed May 15, 2012

Loved the open floor plan of the hotel and the room was comfortable. Good service and the food was great. Enjoyed swimming in the pool and being able to walk to the ruins.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sjwatsAnnArbor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chichenuxmal, Owner at Hotel Hacienda Uxmal Plantation & Museum, responded to this review, May 18, 2012
At Hotel Hacienda Uxmal we are all delighted that you so enjoyed your visit with us !
We greatly appreciate the fact that you are sharing your memories of the visit with the traveling community. Thanks for your visit and your kind comments. Happy & safe travels!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

761 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    448
    232
    66
    11
    4
See reviews for
180
379
25
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (90)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, UK
Level 6 Contributor
122 reviews
104 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
Reviewed May 7, 2012

We were not very impressed with this hotel. In our opinion the hotel and grounds were very run down. The room was big and dull. The swimming pool was dirty as was the swimming pool area. The food was very poor. The staff was quite friendly.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cobweblondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chichenuxmal, Owner at Hotel Hacienda Uxmal Plantation & Museum, responded to this review, August 7, 2012
At The Hacienda we do our best to exceed our patrons expectations! 100% !!
Our ALL MAYA NATIVE STAFF is friendly, helpful and goes the extra mile with a big smile.
Even Queen Elizabeth send her signed photo in appreciation!
We are only sorry we did not impress you with our beautiful property, with fantastic rooms for less than $75 USD....
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Loughborough, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
659 reviews
103 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 352 helpful votes
Reviewed May 7, 2012 via mobile

Situated opposite to the historical site of Uxmal the location could not have been better. The hotel seems to have its heyday late 60's early 70's with many visits from royalty, politicians and film stars. The building is fabulous with an open corridor/veranda complete with rocking chairs. Rooms more than adequate with comfy bed, fridge and decent sized bathroom. Suspect most people only stay one night like us but service doesnt suffer because of that. Great garden/pool area for chilling. The only thing that let it down on our trip was the food. It was ok but not the best given the standards of everything else. For that reason only I've given a 4 rather than a 5.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MalcH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chichenuxmal, Owner at Hotel Hacienda Uxmal Plantation & Museum, responded to this review, May 8, 2012
Thank you for your wonderful review!
I am sorry to learn your dinning experience did not come up to your expectations. In our constant effort to improve ourselves, I welcome any additional comments you may wish to make to assist us on improving our menu selection. We look forward to serving you again. Safe travels!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frankfurt, Germany
1 review
Reviewed April 4, 2012

A very nice hotel with a beautiful garden with lots of birdlife; extremely polite and helpful staff, large , clean and comfortable room in hacienda style. The location just 5 minutes by foot to the site of Uxmal is perfect. we have had a very comfortable stay.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joachim R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chichenuxmal, Owner at Hotel Hacienda Uxmal Plantation & Museum, responded to this review, April 7, 2012
All of us at Hacienda Uxmal are very pleased that you had a delightful experience in our property.
Thank you for sharing it with the traveling community!
We look forward to having you with us again in the future. Muchas Gracias !
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane Australia
Level 6 Contributor
210 reviews
114 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 128 helpful votes
Reviewed April 1, 2012

A delightful set up with a welcoming pool after a 31/2 hour bus trip (2nd class sur) . There are only 2 ways to buy a ticket for this bus. Go to the bus station Sur in Campeche and buy a ticket or somehow find out the route and flag the driver to stop - you can pay the driver. The fare is cheap (approx 102 ps pp). We were unable to buy a ticket from Uxmal to Merida - instead we were told the approx times - you just wait at the bus stop opp the ruins and hail the driver. They will store luggage underneath. This is a local bus and there doesn't really appear to be official stops. It did fill up by the time it reached Uxmal so the people who boarded probably had to stand for the journey into Merida at least an hour.
The hacienda is quality accommodation.
We went to the sound and light show at the ruins 6:30 for 7pm - u keep the ticket and pay the difference to get into th ruins the next morning at 8am. We'll the catch the 12:35 bus to Merida.
Coffee drip machine. Have to buy the water here - ironic since we are paying more than double the tariff of elsewhere where potable water was free. Hair dryer , extra towels for the pool . Room needs more hooks to hang things on eg towels. Pay tv in English- Safety deposit box at reception. Comfortable bed. Good buffet breakfast foe 124 ps. Dinner good - a little pricey by Mexican standards. Welcome drinks and again the next morning afer our visit to the ruins.

If staying here suggest u take a torch when walking across the road for the sound and light show. Take the ruins from 8am. Not so hot and before the tourist buses arrive.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marilyn50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chichenuxmal, Owner at Hotel Hacienda Uxmal Plantation & Museum, responded to this review, April 7, 2012
Thank you for your wonderful review!
We are delighted that you had a good time amongst us.
We look forward to seeing you again. Safe travels.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Weston super Mare, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed March 23, 2012

A good looking hotel and different from the norm.

Located just a short walk from the Mayan site of Uxmal it is superbly located for the Sound and Light show at night and then a daytime visit to this gem of a site.

The rooms are of a good hacienda style with a good en-suite. The pool area was great for a cooling dip.

Their is obvious on-going renovation work that does not impact on your visit and shows the hotels intent.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank budar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Schenectady, New York
Level 5 Contributor
79 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed March 19, 2012

The Hotel Hacienda Uxmal is so luxurious that I felt pampered from the moment I arrived. The rooms are beautiful, with all of the amenities you would expect from a 5* hotel. The bathroom is large with a deep oval tub. Fresh flowers add a special touch. The property is lovely and dates from the 1600's. Queen ELizabeth, Jacqueline Kennedy and her children, and many members of royalty have stayed here. There is even free wifi. An excellent restaurant serves delicious Yucatan food. I wish I could have stayed much longer! I just noticed that someone called this hotel "quite tired". I couldn't disagree more! This is a beautiful, reasonable hotel!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank emilymolly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chichenuxmal, Owner at Hotel Hacienda Uxmal Plantation & Museum, responded to this review, March 29, 2012
On behalf of all of us at the Hacienda Uxmal, thank you for such a wonderful, thorough review!

This venerable, 338 year old family property is undergoing a series of enhancements to it's original
building, soon to be a museum. The surrounding grounds are enriching the beauty of the hotel, located about a half a mile south of the old hacienda. We have planted over 16,000 trees and continue to do so. Next time you come, we'll love to show you all we are doing so yes.... you are absolutely right ! Hacienda Uxmal is indeed, as per you title, "more than just a hotel !"

Thank you so much for sharing your experience!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Uxmal
0.2 mi away
The Lodge at Uxmal
The Lodge at Uxmal
#2 of 3 in Uxmal
359 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Uxmal Resort Maya
23.5 mi away
Hacienda Temozon, A Luxury Collection Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.3 mi away
Posada el Jardin
Posada el Jardin
#1 of 2 in Ticul
57 reviews
15.3 mi away
Hotel Plaza
Hotel Plaza
#2 of 2 in Ticul
25 reviews
23.6 mi away
Hotel Puuc
Hotel Puuc
#1 of 1 in Oxkutzcab
30 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Hacienda Uxmal Plantation & Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Hacienda Uxmal Plantation & Museum

Property: Hotel Hacienda Uxmal Plantation & Museum
Address: In the heart of the archaeological park of Uxmal, Uxmal 97840, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Yucatan > Uxmal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Uxmal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Hacienda Uxmal Plantation & Museum 3.5*
Number of rooms: 82
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the heart of Uxmal, Hotel Hacienda Uxmal Plantation & Museum is the world's first hotel hacienda. Completely remodeled in 2002, and constantly up-dated,rooms overlook a central pool surrounded by beautiful tropical gardens and graceful palm trees, set in a working plantation with many kilometers of forest trails for walking, jogging, horseback and bicycle riding. All rooms have a terrace or a balcony. This delightful resort of contemporary colonial architecture is a favorite of royalty, world personalities and heads of state. The new Chocolate Museum neighbors our extensive gardens. Our location is ideal as a base from which to visit Yucatan's major attractions. Less than i hour driving time from Merida & only 40 minutes from Merida International Airport. Please contact us for transportation options & information. We have a money back guarantee that we are the best resort in the Uxmal area, Kindly contact us. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Hacienda Uxmal Plantation & Museum reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hacienda Hotel Uxmal
Uxmal Hacienda Hotel
Hacienda Uxmal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing