We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great!!”
Review of Temples of Uxmal

Temples of Uxmal
Book In Advance
More Info
$32.00*
and up
Viator Exclusive: Uxmal at Your Own Pace Including Access to Welcome Suite
More Info
$79.98*
and up
Uxmal Light and Sound Show from Merida
More Info
$160.00*
and up
Merida Uxmal and Cacao Plantation Day Trip from Cancun and Riviera Maya
Ranked #1 of 2 things to do in Uxmal
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: The ruins of an ancient Mayan city.
Saint Nicolas, Belgium
Level 6 Contributor
267 reviews
133 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 170 helpful votes
“Great!!”
Reviewed July 16, 2014

We enjoyed this visit very much. Uxmal is very different from other temples we saw earlier. You can climb on top of one of the temple and have a great view. Uxmal is not to be missed! The chocolat museum is next to the parking of Uxmal and also worth a visit.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Pitchounette20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,148 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,833
    283
    23
    5
    4
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Pleasant Garden, North Carolina
Level 5 Contributor
48 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Road trip to Uxmal -Mayan Ruins and to Hacienda Yaxcopoil”
Reviewed July 16, 2014

We decided to hire William Lawson Yucatan Excursions again for going to the Mayan Ruins. They provide such a pleasurable time. We would definitely recommend this company.

On our ride to Uxmal we stopped at several places to enjoy the sites of the country side, One of the sites was a garden where you could look out and see Uxmal {the ruins} in the distance.

The best way to see Uxmal is in the day and with a guide. Our Guide was Greg who had worked at the ruins for 30 years. He was so knowledgeable and patient with us. He explained the history of the ruins and the Mayan culture. The cravings on the ruins are so detailed and exquisite. You will want to take a lot of pictures, Make sure you are wearing sunscreen, cool clothing, good walking shoes and have some water. You will be impressed by the size and craftsmanship.

Ralf then took us to visit The Hacienda Yaxcopoil. What a beautiful estate that dates back to the 1800's. The gardens are beautiful and the house has a lot of its original furniture in it. It has a different tile floor and design in every room. The history of this house and it's family is fascinating. Ralf was able to walk us through this house and provide many more details than if you had gone on your own. What a treasure. We were even lucky enough to meet the owner.

On our trip back, we were able to go through more villages and sample more food. It was a wonderful day.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Seaman56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bradford, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Atmospheric and beautiful”
Reviewed July 15, 2014

We visited in the evening to see the light show. You have to buy into the history to enjoy this, I personally loved it, it was a humid warm night, the bats living in the temple gave a great show at dusk and as you watch the light show with the temples on the hill and the magicians palace changing colours in the pitch black night, the fireflys come out. It is absolutely enchanting. The following day we visited the ruins in the early morning and climbed one of the temples - loved it.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Elaine H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Level 6 Contributor
143 reviews
54 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
“Trip the Light Fantastic at Uxmal”
Reviewed July 8, 2014

The evening light show at Uxmal is not to be missed. It gives you a complete history of the site along with an entertaining, culturally accurate audio re-enactment of life at Uxmal. Go once, go twice! Then be sure to go during the daytime to explore the ruins up close. The carvings are exquisite and the views from the top of Templo Sur are great. Guests are no longer able to ascend the Temple of the Magician.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank dsrtgrl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Amazing Ruins”
Reviewed July 7, 2014

My friends and I picked visiting Uxmal over Chichen Itza on our trip to Mexico and in my opinion it was definitely worth it. The ruins were vast and amazing (the Magician's Pyramid in particular), and they even let you climb the Great Pyramid, which makes for some great pictures.

I would recommend getting the tour guide as they explained the significance of the buildings but it can get pricey so find a large group if you can.

As far as getting there, we took a public bus out of Merida which was the cheapest option and it worked out well, but I'm sure there are other modes of transportation.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Nidhi J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Temples of Uxmal also viewed

 

Been to Temples of Uxmal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing