We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Highly Recommended!”
Review of Hotel Maya Luna

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Maya Luna
Ranked #3 of 23 Mahahual B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Highly Recommended!”
Reviewed February 7, 2014

Last two weeks we spent our holiday at Hotel Maya Luna, approximately 5km. south of Mahahual, Costa Maya, Mexico.
It's a gorgeous and romantic place to stay. The Dutch owners Jan and Carolien are great hosts. They and their crew give you an amazing time, make you feel at home and take care of the small details.
The Hotel with four lodges and a cozy restaurant is neat, beautiful and decorated with a lot of taste. Everything is situated as close as 21 meters from the sea, which makes this place a paradise. The beach-garden is lovely and elegant and provides the freshly served coconuts.
Not to mention the terraces on top of every lodge, where one can sit looking at the late sunset, hitting the reef and watching the pelican birds flying over.
The food is exquisite, ask for the signature dish, stuffed pineapple and the home made ceviche, delicious. Margarita's they serve are heavenly.
Breakfast is served with fresh juices, coffee and tea, and an outstanding Huevo Ranchero.
Last but not least, with full moon one sits down at the beach, the owners shut down all the lights, which makes this a dazzling experience. It feels like moon bathing.
We want to thank Jan and Carolien for our stay and we'll be back for sure!
Highly recommended.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank melle v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mahahualmexio, Propietario at Hotel Maya Luna, responded to this review, February 12, 2014
It was great to have you as guests at Maya Luna. Thanks for all the nice conversations and interesting stories. Come back soon !
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

348 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    265
    67
    8
    5
    3
See reviews for
82
187
19
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 5, 2014

Just loved it: the rooftop balcony, where you see the fregats and pelicans diving into the sea, and the vultures just above your head. It's simple, but so quite, and such good food in the restaurant. Free canoes. PS make the cartrip to Xcalakk down south, the beachside road, we even saw a quetzal bird! Take time for a few days to relax, enjoy the delicious food from the restaurant. Good service and company from the owners. And do follow their advice for hotels. We all did them, to our great benefit (for Calakmul, Uxmal, Merida (the best hotel city centre, with free parking space).
simply topdestination for a few days.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank harsch7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
Level Contributor
43 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
Reviewed January 1, 2014

We dropped into Costa Maya from our cruise. We were really disappointed with the crowded beaches with over zealous locals trying to sell goods, trash all over the place, boats zipping by etc. We wanted to go somewhere quiet, secluded and clean with good service and food. Hotel Maya Luna was exactly our medicine. 4 huts make up the hotel - secluded beach with ultra comfortable hammocks (seriously this stuff is something else), great food, our host was very pleasant, and a reef to snorkel 300-400 meters off the beach. it s a swim to get there - i didn t mind at all - the way to the reef is covered with marsh. keep your eyes open - there is a lot hidden in the grass - baby skates, lobsters etc. The reef was good - watch out for the waves though once you cross the wall. it s a unique curious mini-eco system over there. one thing though there is a lot of trash all over the costa maya coast - apparently currents carry the trash from all over south america is what we were told. the only place that seems to clean the beach front is this hotel to our observation. Locals just stare at trash build up right in front of their eyes. Mind boggling.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank t-dev-7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento, California, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed November 26, 2013

I spent two nights at Maya Luna earlier this month.
It's located a few kilometers south of the village of Majahual, Quintana Roo.
It's close enough to town to have easy access, but far enough out to get super kick back.
The owners Caroline and Jann were both very gracious and friendly.
You have access to kayaks at no extra charge. I paddled out to the nearby reef for snorkling.
They provided a complimentary breakfast and I ate two dinners there, both of which were very good. Recommended: Stuffed (shrimps) pineapple.
I loved the sunsets, moonrises and also starry skies.
The place is very clean, secure and well run, in a beautiful corner of the world.
I would gladly stay again.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank William K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbia, SC
Level Contributor
48 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed September 7, 2013

While we were only able to stay a few hours, we greatly enjoyed Maya Luna. For brunch we dined on Tim's recommendation, the pineapple and shrimp curry. It was the most amazing dish I've ever had! The beach was lovely, the hotel quaint, and the hospitality genuinely warm. I can't wait to visit there again.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BryanColumbia_SC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bruges, Belgium
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 25, 2013

Located off the pueblo we found an excellent hotel. Nice cabanas with sun terrace and 10 meters from the beach. Free use !! Of the seakayaks. Andrea and Tim take care of the guests: nice breakfast, tastfull lunch and wonderfull cena. Everybody should stay at Maya Luna if they visit Mahahual. We loved it for its relax atmosphere and quietness! Thank you

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Filipascoop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
39 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed July 4, 2013

I spent a nice couple of days in my familiar cabin at Maya Luna, and it was as good as it ever was: lovely beach, excellent diving facilities, good food, heavy drinks, and, last but not least, friendly and hospitable new managers, who also run the famous coffee shop and club in the village. Nevertheless, I did miss Jan, Caroline and their dog Dinga.

Room Tip: All cabins are good
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JaaSi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Mahahual hotels
1.9 mi away
Luna de Plata . Hotel
Luna de Plata . Hotel
#6 of 12 in Mahahual
4.0 of 5 bubbles 159 reviews
2.9 mi away
Koox Quinto Sole Boutique Hotel
3.1 mi away
Margarita del Sol
Margarita del Sol
#10 of 12 in Mahahual
4.0 of 5 bubbles 29 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Porto Coral
Porto Coral
#8 of 12 in Mahahual
4.0 of 5 bubbles 98 reviews
2.4 mi away
Koox Matan Ka'an Hotel
Koox Matan Ka'an Hotel
#4 of 12 in Mahahual
4.0 of 5 bubbles 310 reviews
2.4 mi away
Posada Pachamama
Posada Pachamama
#5 of 12 in Mahahual
4.0 of 5 bubbles 197 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Maya Luna? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Maya Luna

Property: Hotel Maya Luna
Address: Carretera Majahual | Xcalak km 5.2, Mahahual 77940, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Costa Maya > Mahahual
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 23 B&Bs / Inns in Mahahual
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Maya Luna 3*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Maya Luna is the place to go when you want to be away from the madness of daily life. The beach front studios have private bathroom, fresh drinking water, king-size bed, ceiling fan and hammocks. Each studio has its own private roof terrace and a parking lot. The restaurant-bar offers a selection of European & Mexican dishes. For its water supply Maya Luna uses rain water. Electricity is generated via solar panels. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Priceline and Expedia so you can book your Hotel Maya Luna reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Maya Luna Mahahual, Mexico - Costa Maya

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing