We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“short stay - great time”
Review of Hotel Maya Luna

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Maya Luna
Ranked #3 of 22 Mahahual B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Reviewed January 1, 2014

We dropped into Costa Maya from our cruise. We were really disappointed with the crowded beaches with over zealous locals trying to sell goods, trash all over the place, boats zipping by etc. We wanted to go somewhere quiet, secluded and clean with good service and food. Hotel Maya Luna was exactly our medicine. 4 huts make up the hotel - secluded beach with ultra comfortable hammocks (seriously this stuff is something else), great food, our host was very pleasant, and a reef to snorkel 300-400 meters off the beach. it s a swim to get there - i didn t mind at all - the way to the reef is covered with marsh. keep your eyes open - there is a lot hidden in the grass - baby skates, lobsters etc. The reef was good - watch out for the waves though once you cross the wall. it s a unique curious mini-eco system over there. one thing though there is a lot of trash all over the costa maya coast - apparently currents carry the trash from all over south america is what we were told. the only place that seems to clean the beach front is this hotel to our observation. Locals just stare at trash build up right in front of their eyes. Mind boggling.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank t-dev-7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (353)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Maya Luna
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

79 - 85 of 355 reviews

Reviewed November 26, 2013

I spent two nights at Maya Luna earlier this month.
It's located a few kilometers south of the village of Majahual, Quintana Roo.
It's close enough to town to have easy access, but far enough out to get super kick back.
The owners Caroline and Jann were both very gracious and friendly.
You have access to kayaks at no extra charge. I paddled out to the nearby reef for snorkling.
They provided a complimentary breakfast and I ate two dinners there, both of which were very good. Recommended: Stuffed (shrimps) pineapple.
I loved the sunsets, moonrises and also starry skies.
The place is very clean, secure and well run, in a beautiful corner of the world.
I would gladly stay again.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank William K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 7, 2013

While we were only able to stay a few hours, we greatly enjoyed Maya Luna. For brunch we dined on Tim's recommendation, the pineapple and shrimp curry. It was the most amazing dish I've ever had! The beach was lovely, the hotel quaint, and the hospitality genuinely warm. I can't wait to visit there again.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BryanColumbia_SC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 25, 2013

Located off the pueblo we found an excellent hotel. Nice cabanas with sun terrace and 10 meters from the beach. Free use !! Of the seakayaks. Andrea and Tim take care of the guests: nice breakfast, tastfull lunch and wonderfull cena. Everybody should stay at Maya Luna if they visit Mahahual. We loved it for its relax atmosphere and quietness! Thank you

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Filipascoop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 4, 2013

I spent a nice couple of days in my familiar cabin at Maya Luna, and it was as good as it ever was: lovely beach, excellent diving facilities, good food, heavy drinks, and, last but not least, friendly and hospitable new managers, who also run the famous coffee shop and club in the village. Nevertheless, I did miss Jan, Caroline and their dog Dinga.

Room Tip: All cabins are good
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JaaSi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 19, 2013

We booked this hotel as a recommendation from a friend, and IMHO it was a great decision.
we had a great time, the service is friendly and the food, (oh the food) was glorious, (homemade bread, french-press coffee in the morning amazing Caribbean views.)
the rooms were clean and comfy and we had a nice terrace to enjoy the sunsets.
Other couples stayed somewhere else but we always ended up in maya luna hanging around and swimming snorkeling and sunbathing.

i highly recommend this place for someone going on a romantic escapade or with some friends and want to enjoy an Eco-friendly place.

I'm definitely going back!

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank han_cholo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 5, 2013

Hi Folks!

During a 3 weeks journey through the Yucatan, I stayed four nights in this lovely place resting in cabañas located just some meters away from the sea and offering a perfect atmosphere for relaxing and absolutely doing nothing. What more can one deserve falling asleep listening to the smooth sounds of the waves breaking, and getting up and overviewing a nice strip of beach, coconut trees, hammocks and sunchairs located under palm- "sombrillas".

The cabañas are very spacious, superclean and offer a roof terrace for getting superb views of the sea. The beds are absolutely marvellous and load your batteries even more. The staff (Tim, Andrea and Clara) are supercaring, friendly, helpful ansd always in the mood for a small chat. Try the special shrimp - pineapple in the hotels restaurant, a caribean dream :-).

Kayaks free for rent, breakfast inlcuded (yummi omelette!) and the quietness make this spot really giving it a try! Thumbs up for this awesome place, which is also a nice base for diving+snorkeling activities, or just chilling out when grabbing a book and bouncing in the beach hammocks!
Check out the nice paintings over the cabañas main door and inside.

Many greetings from Austria!
fritz

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Fritz G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mahahualmexio, Owner at Hotel Maya Luna, responded to this reviewResponded May 7, 2013

We were happy that you decided to stay with us. It was nice to get to know you and we were very happy that you had the opportunity to do some diving at one of the beautiful spots just in front of our hotel ! We hope to see you back at Maya Luna !

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Mahahual hotels
2.9 mi away
Koox Quinto Sole Boutique Hotel
2.4 mi away
Koox Matan Ka'an Hotel
Koox Matan Ka'an Hotel
#4 of 12 in Mahahual
325 reviews
1.9 mi away
Luna de Plata . Hotel
Luna de Plata . Hotel
#5 of 12 in Mahahual
166 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Posada Pachamama
Posada Pachamama
#6 of 12 in Mahahual
202 reviews
2.1 mi away
Ko'ox El Hotelito Beach Hotel
2.1 mi away
Porto Coral
Porto Coral
#9 of 12 in Mahahual
105 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Maya Luna? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Maya Luna

Address: Carretera Majahual | Xcalak km 5.2, Mahahual 77940, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Costa Maya > Mahahual
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 22 B&Bs / Inns in Mahahual
Price Range: $66 - $90 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Maya Luna 3*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Maya Luna is the place to go when you want to be away from the madness of daily life. The beach front studios have private bathroom, fresh drinking water, king-size bed, ceiling fan and hammocks. Each studio has its own private roof terrace and a parking lot. The restaurant-bar offers a selection of European & Mexican dishes. For its water supply Maya Luna uses rain water. Electricity is generated via solar panels. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotwire, Agoda, Booking.com and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Hotel Maya Luna reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Maya Luna Mahahual, Mexico - Costa Maya

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing