We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mexico muy lindo”
Review of Hotel Maya Luna

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel Maya Luna
Ranked #3 of 22 Mahahual B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Reviewed August 4, 2012

Me and my husband just spent 4 nights at Maya Luna and totally loved it. Toplocation right on the beach, really private cabañas with roofterrasses for watching amazing sunsets and tropical moonlit nights. Absolute sweet staff trying their utmost to make you feel at home, delicious food and very laidback atmosphere. Sea is no good for swimming because of the seagrass. snorkling seems to be the thing here (but not ours). Nature around is something special. You wanna relax a couple of days and hang around with nice people? Go to Maya Luna and say Hi to Tom.

Room Tip: Cabañas are all the same, so reallly doesn't make a difference which one you'll get.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Joosd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (360)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

105 - 111 of 360 reviews

Reviewed July 18, 2012 via mobile

What a beautiful gem off the beaten path in Mahahual, Mexico. Just outside the main town, it's a quaint place owned by a an American family who know how to make you feel welcome. We stopped here on a drive down the coast and ate an amazing dinner and some tasty margaritas. My boyfriend ordered a grouper that had just been caught this morning and I had a stuffed shrimp pineapple that was out of this world. Definitely worth the trip. Don't miss it.

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Webchick1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 12, 2012

We arrived at maya luna for the third year and felt like every year immediately at home. The bungalows are simple, but nicely decorated, nice beds and as always we spend a lot of time on the roof deck, sunbathing and in the late afternoon having a drink on our roof deck. In the evening we had dinner every evening in the maya Luna restaurant, I personally love their shrimp dish, prepared with curry and garlic. The maya Luna pineapple dish was as good as always. Had some long walks with the dog, she is amazing and very friendly. Had a great stay again, and will be back again. an recommend it to everybody whois looking for a lazy stay at a quiet beach.

Room Tip: If you are a diver, stay in room chinchorro
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Coby M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 25, 2012

We picked Maya Luna because it was away from the town. Although the road on the beach was bad, it was the first hotel and all by itself. The beach was clean and uncrowded and all was quiet. Our reason for the area was snorkling annd for that it was perfect. The reef is close and Maya Luna has kayaks to make life even easier. Carolien was a perfect hostess telling us where the best parts were and after we got back, keeping our glasses full and conversation rolling. The rooms are beautifully private wiith an upper level for tanning and contemplating. The bed was large and comfortable and the fan above plus the sound of the surf had us sleeping in moments.But that was after dinner, and what a meal. Jan had made up one of his specialties, shrimps with curry, cream, cognac and garlic; fabulous
I'm only upset that we had only booked two nights but we will definately be back.

Room Tip: all the rooms are good
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Richard L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 18, 2012

Spent the day in paradise!!! Relax and have a great time away from your cruise... great food, great beach, and great hosts!!!! Will be back!!!

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank romag1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 2, 2012

The owners really make you feel at home, almost being parental. The staff is extremely friendly, the atmosphere is chilled out and remote, for those who search the quiet and peaceful. Restaurant is fantastic!

  • Stayed: April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sonfur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 20, 2012

We took a cruise last week (cruising not being our typical style of trip, but it was a bit of a work boondoggle) and our ship docked at Costa Maya. Another TripAdvisor reviewer's post inspired us to forgo the port adventures here, rent a golf cart with our boys and just head south. Best decision of the week. We ended up at Maya Luna, where the new manager and his young sons greeted our family warmly and provided us a relaxing afternoon of sun, sea, hammocks, drinks and good food -- perfect beach day. If we return by car to this neck of the woods, we will definitely stay in this little slice of paradise.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PasadenaBunch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Mahahual hotels
2.4 mi away
Koox Matan Ka'an Hotel
Koox Matan Ka'an Hotel
#4 of 12 in Mahahual
339 reviews
2.9 mi away
Koox Quinto Sole Boutique Hotel
0.6 mi away
Margarita del Sol
Margarita del Sol
#9 of 12 in Mahahual
33 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Luna de Plata . Hotel
Luna de Plata . Hotel
#7 of 12 in Mahahual
174 reviews
2.1 mi away
Ko'ox El Hotelito Beach Hotel
2.3 mi away
La Posada de los 40 Canones
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Maya Luna? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Maya Luna

Address: Carretera Majahual | Xcalak km 5.2, Mahahual 77940, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Costa Maya > Mahahual
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 22 B&Bs / Inns in Mahahual
Price Range: $70 - $140 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Maya Luna 3*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Maya Luna is the place to go when you want to be away from the madness of daily life. The beach front studios have private bathroom, fresh drinking water, king-size bed, ceiling fan and hammocks. Each studio has its own private roof terrace and a parking lot. The restaurant-bar offers a selection of European & Mexican dishes. For its water supply Maya Luna uses rain water. Electricity is generated via solar panels. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Hotwire, Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Maya Luna reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Maya Luna Mahahual, Mexico - Costa Maya

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing