We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great service, atmosphere and food!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Big Mama

Big Mama
Ranked #25 of 73 Restaurants in Mahahual
Cuisines: Mexican, Caribbean, Latin, Seafood, Bar, Spanish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Large groups, Families with children, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Lunch, Brunch, Dinner, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Mound, Minnesota
2 reviews
“Great service, atmosphere and food!”
Reviewed April 5, 2014 via mobile

We have nothing to say but good things about Big Mama restaurant!. All the way from the food, service and location!. Big mama has a great sense of humor and all she wants is for her clients to have a good experience at her restaurant which we sure did!. He spent a week in Mahahual y spent most of the time at this place. You also want to make sure to get to know Norma the bartender and try one of her specialty drinks!

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank CJCox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

109 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    44
    40
    12
    3
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Booischot, Belgium
Level Contributor
29 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Smiiile!!!”
Reviewed April 2, 2014

We had just finished quite a long road trip and it was raining like hell, but once we sat down under this restaurant's roof looking out at the ocean, we immediately forgot about it. The chief, big mama herself, is very enthusiastic and so are the other staff members. The prices are low, but the food's taste is high. Oh yeah, don't forget to have your picture taken together with big mama; you might make it to her Facebook page! You will discover that everybody's laughing there, and that's not just posing for the picture!

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Bert D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacksonville, Florida
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great fresh food, rip off price”
Reviewed March 23, 2014

We were visiting on a cruise through Norwegian and asked our Snorkel excursion guide where to go for good fresh food. We followed his recommendation and ended up at Big Mama, one of MANY beach front restaurants. Don't get me wrong the food was great however, the waiter said the exchange rate for peso's to USD was 10/1. Google said 13.2. We asked who decides what the exchange rate was and he said Big mama does; where's big mama? in the U.S. he said. He then became uncomfortable explaining he was just glad to have a job and that he only got paid 60 peso's for a whole day (open to close) which he said was about $5.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Rodney C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
“Excellent staff ,amazing beach and great food!”
Reviewed March 15, 2014

Big mama is such a wonderful person, always friendly became one of our good friends down there. We hung out a few times after hours and partied. Jose was another great friend we met there, the best waiter on the beach! The coconut curried shrimp was my favorite! Just a great place to hang out very popular with the locals as well ! Miss those guys:(

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jon N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Big Mama also viewed

 
Mahahual, Costa Maya
Mahahual, Costa Maya
 

Been to Big Mama? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing