We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Laid back comfort on the Costa Maya”
Review of Mayan Beach Garden

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Mayan Beach Garden
Ranked #1 of 22 Mahahual B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 1, 2012

This was our 1st visit, accompanying friends who've been there yearly for 5 years. Almost everyone else there were also repeaters (and were greeted like old friends), which says a lot. It's pleasantly isolated -- like what the Mayan Riviera must have been like in the 1960's -- but the hosts have everything you need -- wonderful rooms, private beachfront with chaises (and available shade), snorkeling gear and kayaks for rent, massage, and information about nearby sights and mMayan culture. The rooms were large, well appointed in regional decor, and very comfortable. Each had its own bacony. The reception area had comfortable lounging chairs, a well-stocked bar, and a screened area for breakfast, lunch, and family-style dinners. The meals were wonderful -- local cuisine presented delightfully. All our stress melted away as we snorkled, sunbathed, read, and conversed with other guests. Planning on a return visit.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank David L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marcia B, Owner at Mayan Beach Garden, responded to this reviewResponded March 3, 2012

Thank you so much for taking a few minutes to write such a lovely review. It was a joy to meet you and have you here as our guests. Sorry you missed time with Kim, as he does add to the ambiance, but hopefully we will see you here again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (351)
There are newer reviews for Mayan Beach Garden
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

232 - 238 of 351 reviews

Reviewed February 24, 2012

This was our 4th year to come to Mayan Beach Garden. Each year Marcia and Kim provide an even more pleasurable experience. There were new menu items in their restaurant, special cooler bags for lunches if we chose to travel during the day, and the garden has taller and more beautiful plants. They've provided an outdoor flushing toilet and shower and also have a new aviary. The Wrack Bar in the evening before dining is well run and lots of fun. Our trip to Mexico each year wouldn't be complete without staying here at least a few days.

Room Tip: The bungalows on the lower level each have a two burner stove and pans, plates, etc, if you wish to...
  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Chelanllama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marcia B, Owner at Mayan Beach Garden, responded to this reviewResponded February 29, 2012

We wish you were still with us and not up in cold Chellan, although you live in such a beautiful place, I think if I didn't live here I would love to live in Chellan. Someday, we hope to see you for longer periods of time - like months! Thank you for taking the time to write such a nice review about Mayan Beach Garden and see you again next year! Good luck!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 12, 2012

We just spent our third vacation at Mayan Beach Garden, and love it more each time. Of course, it's in the middle of nowhere (a great charm) so you must eat here. That's the best part -- the food is spectacular! Each time we've come to enjoy it more and more. Family-style dinners are great fun, as is having a drink before dinner and sharing the day's adventures. The other most wonderful parts are the sound of the sea and the views of the stars. It's fantastic -- we'll be back again next year!

Room Tip: Casita #1 is by itself and closest to the water (although none are more than about 30 feet away).
  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DonB5405
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marcia B, Manager at Mayan Beach Garden, responded to this reviewResponded February 16, 2012

Thank you for taking time to write a TripAdvisor review for us - we really appreciate such wonderful comments. We were so sad when you had to leave early because you are wonderful guests and liven up the dinner table with your great conversation skills. Trish, Bill and Kim all say "hi" and we miss you!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 4, 2012

This is an absolutely fabulous place to stay. It's so peaceful and relaxing. The rooms are beautiful and I love how you can hear and see the ocean. It's nice because you don't have to deal with the hustle and bustle of a lot of tourists. You're close enough to go see a lot of things but far enough away to truly relax. Plus the food is great. I will absolutely be going again.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kathleen J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marcia B, Owner at Mayan Beach Garden, responded to this reviewResponded February 16, 2012

We ABSOLUTELY want you to return again and thank you for blessing our hotel with your sunny disposition and inquisitive mind. You were a great guest and conversationalist and we enjoyed your company. Good luck in cold Boston. ;-)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 16, 2012

After being immersed in our “always on” society sometimes it’s easy to forget about the things in life that truly matter. And most of the time we don’t even realize that we’re missing out on these things, until we take a break from it all. For me, these include good people, good food, and connecting with nature and it’s natural beauty that’s unspoiled by tourism. Mayan Beach Garden has all of these, and more.

I visited Mayan Beach Garden with my girlfriend last fall, and I can honestly say it was the perfect vacation for taking some time to recharge. It’s definitely off the beaten path, and takes some time to get to after landing in Cancun, but it’s worth the extra time to get there. We stayed in one of the rooms upstairs by the water where the view was breathtaking. A stone’s throw from the water, and no one else in sight on the beach. If you haven’t experience it for yourself, there is nothing quite like falling asleep and waking up to the sounds of the ocean. Plus, Marcia is an artist and does amazing tile work in the hotel, giving each room a unique, personal touch that fits in perfectly with the great vibe you get from being here.

The staff are kind, courteous, and on top of any requests that you may have. But what really makes this place go are Kim and Marcia. They are the best hosts, and you immediately feel like part of an extended family. They’ll go out of their way to make sure you have what you need to go do what interests you - whether that’s snorkling in the pristine waters right off the hotel, exploring the different ruins in the area, to everything in between. Having been in the area for so long they are extremely knowledgable, which can be the difference between a good trip, and an incredible one you won’t forget.

But it gets better, because my absolute favorite part of the experience had to be the food. My mouth is starting to water just thinking about all the flavors we enjoyed. It’s local, delicious, authentic, and healthy and Marcia and the staff make sure any special requests are handled flawlessly. Dinners are run family style, so you get a chance to sit down and interact with other guests while enjoying all the courses. It’s this type of experience that sets Mayan Beach Garden apart from any other hotel in the area, and will mean you are leaving with not only great memories, but new friends as well.

The only negative about this place is eventually you have to leave. We felt like we could have stayed a month there, and we were already looking forward to a return trip before we got back to the airport! If you’re looking for an unforgettable vacation to get away from it all, give this place a shot, you won’t be disappointed.

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Edgar P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marcia B, Owner at Mayan Beach Garden, responded to this reviewResponded January 17, 2012

We are so happy you enjoyed your experience here and of course would love to have you back again. We know that the independent travelers of the world that find their way here are a special breed. We are so grateful that you and others feel that the journey was worth it. Weather report today - a little windy with large waves. Everyone has been falling off the SUP's today, but those who make it get a great ride into shore, the waves breaking on the other side of Kim's reef. I enjoyed watching you guys practicing on them.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 12, 2012

My fiancee and I are active and adventurous and enjoy travelling to be outside, see the natural world and get away from the masses. That being said, we are not big campers, and enjoy a hot meal, shower and nice warm bed at the end of the day... ideally in a clean, quiet, safe location without paying an arm and a leg. This was IT. And more.

This area of Mexico is loaded with drinking/partying resort ares, walled-off all-inclusive resorts, cruise ship ports, and canned theme park-like places. Amazingly enough though, you can thoroughly enjoy this corner of the world and never once encounter any of that (except for passing it on the highway). Marcia and Kim were excellent hosts and know this area inside and out. One or both of them is ALWAYS available to answer questions, give you a solid map and dead-on directions, and arrange activities. They directed us to awesome snorkelling spots and Mayan ruins sites that you will most likely have all to yourself, and arranged a trip to Banco Chinchorro which was expensive but worth every peso.

I would highly recommend buying the food plan. The food and service were wonderful, the amount and variety of food was just right, and they will pack you a good box lunch if you go off for the day. It was great to not have to think about food for the entire trip and just have it done for you. My fiancee is a pescatarian (she eats fish and eggs/dairy but no meat) and they did an excellent job both for her and for me (a good old-fashioned omnivore). We also really enjoyed nightly dinners with Marcia and/or Kim and the other guests of Mayan Beach Garden, as well as others who own or rent property in their area. Marcia and Kim seem to have a nice community of friends who share their love for the region.

The service was wonderful. The room was cleaned well daily, the grounds are immaculate, the food and drink service was top notch.

A few points to consider before booking: This place is not easy to find. It is on a remote dirt road on an unspoiled, undeveloped beach. The ruins sites and water sports spots Marcia and Kim recommend require some time and energy to get there. This is why you will have the beach to yourself, you will climb temples and experience world-famous ruins without any lines, ropes, restrictions or noise (try to find THAT in the USA... ha!), and in the water it will be just you and the reefs and sea life. If you want convenience, go elsewhere.

When you are on the beach at night with NO light pollution, you will really appreciate the fact that this place and all the neighboring houses on the street are off-the-grid. You have lights and a fan in your room when you need them, reasonable Internet service, hot showers, and the opportunity to charge your electronics for a few hours each day. There is no television in your room, radio, alarm clock or air conditioning. Linens are changed every few days. If the above will annoy you, go elsewhere.

Marcia and Kim have a solid, hardworking staff that the treat with the utmost dignity and respect. This means they have siesta every afternoon (a normal part of society in Mexico) and are not available to serve at all times. The food and drink are plentiful, but this is NOT a cruise ship with all-you-can-eat-and-drink 24 hours a day.

Thanks again to Marcia and Kim and the staff for an amazing trip! We'll be back!

Room Tip: We were in room #5 and we could hear the ocean at night. It is not right on the beach but that was f...
  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank dreymatthew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marcia B, Owner at Mayan Beach Garden, responded to this reviewResponded January 14, 2012

We just loved having the two of you visit. I'm so glad you had a great time. I also appreciate some of your comments when you were here regarding how to improve things! Thanks so very much for being our guests and taking the time to write such a wonderful review. I can't believe you did it so quickly. Have a wonderful life until we see you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 4, 2012

I traveled down to Mayan Beach Garden for a week over Thanksgiving with my boyfriend. We took the bus down and it was a good 4 hrs, but fun and interesting. A good way to experience of the land and the culture.

Once we turned onto the road to go down to Mayan Beach Garden, it was worth the long ride because that last 30 minutes is just beautiful jungle marshes on the left and bright blue water and white beaches on the right.

The hotel is small and quaint and welcoming. I don’t speak any Spanish so it was nice to have the staff speak little, but not enough that you felt you were in a touristy area. Our room was amazing. We woke up every morning to an amazing sunrise and we had a view of everything! We did have a few big bugs in the room, but I guess we had a new room and it hadnt been sprayed as much as the other rooms.

While there the waters were calm and warm and we paddle boarded, kayaked, snorkeled, and swam. I even saw a Manatee out there off the beach.

We also rode bikes into town and experienced the cute little town of Majahual (sp?).
Great place, great people, and amazing food. So worth paying for all the meals. Healthy and yummy and filling. We were there for thanksgiving and we had an amazing American Feast with the other guests and locals, with alittle Yucatan Flare.

The week went by really fast and it was a very relaxing and comfortable experience. It was hard to leave the hotel and the beach, but there is too much to do around that area that I still want to see so we will have to go back.

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank heather b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marcia B, Owner at Mayan Beach Garden, responded to this reviewResponded January 17, 2012

Gratitude goes out to you for taking the time to write such a nice review. All of us snorkelers are still in envy that you saw a Manatee within 200 yards of here. Incredible and just not fair! As often as I've been out there I've never seen one close up. Please come back again and I'll follow you on your point to point swim, although I'm sure I won't be quite the swimmer you are!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Mahahual hotels
12.5 mi away
Koox Quinto Sole Boutique Hotel
13.0 mi away
Koox Matan Ka'an Hotel
Koox Matan Ka'an Hotel
#4 of 12 in Mahahual
325 reviews
13.5 mi away
Luna de Plata . Hotel
Luna de Plata . Hotel
#5 of 12 in Mahahual
166 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.9 mi away
Posada Pachamama
Posada Pachamama
#6 of 12 in Mahahual
202 reviews
13.2 mi away
Ko'ox El Hotelito Beach Hotel
20.3 mi away
Almaplena Eco Resort & Beach Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mayan Beach Garden? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mayan Beach Garden

Address: 20.5 km N Camino Costera | 11 km norte de aceso de Rio Indio, or 3 km sur de Aceso de Placer, Mahahual 77940, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Costa Maya > Mahahual
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 22 B&Bs / Inns in Mahahual
Price Range: $92 - $146 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Mayan Beach Garden 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Secluded off the grid solar powered beach front Inn, nestled on sandy white beach on the Mexican Caribbean. Walk for miles in either direction, swim or snorkel from shore. This is the closest Hotel to the Sian Ka'an Biosphere- maps and independent traveler's guidance are available. King sized beds, fans and large bathrooms in each room. Hot Breakfast included. To protect the tranquility and quiet of the hotel, only children over the age of 12 are allowed during the months of January, February, March and April. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets and Priceline so you can book your Mayan Beach Garden reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mayan Beach Garden Hotel Mahahual
Mayan Beach Garden Mahahual, Mexico - Costa Maya

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing