We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relaxing stay on the beach”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Balamku Inn on the Beach
Ranked #4 of 22 Mahahual B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 11, 2013

My husband and I spent two nights at Balamku, and we had a great experience. Although there are plenty of activities to do in the area, we wanted to relax by the ocean before returning to our home in Merida. Our room was clean, updated and comfortable. We enjoyed the ocean breeze at night. We had our car so we were able to drive into town for meals, and return to our beach to read, enjoy the warm water and truly relax. Carol was very welcoming and provided all the information we needed to make our stay enjoyable. The breakfast was delicious. We highly recommended Balamku!

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank monterrey2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
balamku, Owner at Balamku Inn on the Beach, responded to this reviewResponded September 9, 2013

Balamku is a place for people like you. Thank you for this review which will assist others in learning more about our hotel. Much appreciated and hope we meet again

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (287)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

90 - 96 of 287 reviews

Reviewed May 27, 2013

We spent 7 nights at Balamku and the photos say it all !!!

It's a beautiful property; the rooms are kept very clean, the breakfasts are good and the views delightful. Much too much has been made by previous posters about the windmill noise. It was quite windy while we were there, but the noise of the wind generator was not at all intrusive. Also It was very satisfying to know how little impact we were making on the environment during our stay.

Alan was very helpful. This is a great place to unwind. We didn't find Mahahual had much to offer, and the distances to the ruins and other beaches were more than we anticipated. So, if you want to get caught up with your reading material, this is the place.

Room Tip: We had wonderful breezes and a great balcony to sit on in our room number 9.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank trixieLosGatos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
balamku, Owner at Balamku Inn on the Beach, responded to this reviewResponded July 5, 2013

Thank you for these enthusiastic comments. We're glad you enjoyed your time here. There is a lot to do but also a great place to do nada. Sorry I missed meeting you

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 24, 2013

I made it back to the states and unfortunately had a mountain of stuff to do, but finally getting to write about my (my family’s) great experience at Balamku Inn in late March, early April. What made our experience so special? The location, the service and the activities (fun) you can have while you are there.

The Location

Balamku Inn is about 2.5 to 3 miles south from Mahahual, itself a smaller town, compared to Playa or Cancun. When we were there, downtown, it was actually crowded due to the Mexicanos celebrating "semana santa" which made it even more interesting.

However the reason we first were attracted to Balamku Inn was that it is solar powered, have their own source of water, respecting the surrounding area, in other words very aware of their ecological footprint. Also, the proximity to the ocean, and the great reviews made us choose Balamku Inn. The room we had was very comfortable, with a little porch, a couple of beach chairs with the waves lapping just a few feet away. The lower level room we had was spacious, clean and lots of space to put your stuff. You can swim, sunbathe or fall asleep under one of the palapas right outside your door.

The Service

First of all Carol goes out of her way to make you feel at home. When we were checking in, we actually showed up with one more person and Carol (the owner) made the accommodations for us. She is very friendly, knowledgeable and loves the conversation. She knows the area’s history and how important it is to conserve the natural resources. Joanna, her assistant, is also very friendly and very attentive to anything you may need. They also cook up a nice breakfast which includes fruit, granola, yogurt and a variety of different omelets and frijoles. The coffee is very good, although I forgot to ask if it was local. You can also get a light lunch at good price, if you don’t want to go out for food.

The Fun

If all you want to do is lie on the beach, work on your tan, and enjoy the sea breeze without a lot of people around, then this is the place for you. If you are into sports, a little more active, you can take out one of the kayaks, snorkel, rent a bicycle or take a trip to Mahahual. There you can go to one of the local dive shops. We actually took a day trip to Xcalak, about an hour south, but liked Mahahual a lot better. Taste some of the local food in places like Tropicante, where you will meet Steve Uhl and his wife Maggie. Also try Karlitas Restaurant-Bar where you will meet her and her significant other, Otto. At the time of writing this, they started making some delicious pizza. You can also get a good Wi-Fi signal there, just ask for the password. Sit at one of the outside tables, and watch the world go by....

Room Tip: The Ground level units are very close to your front porch (15-20 feet), waves and wind gently crashi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank rcastrojr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
balamku, Owner at Balamku Inn on the Beach, responded to this reviewResponded July 7, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to outline so many details on your experiences and reflections on Balamku and our town. This is so vital for folks who are trying to decide how to choose places for their vacation. You input is invaluable. We are extremely grateful and hope to see you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 10, 2013

Balamku has been the nicest out-of-the-way hotelito along the Mahahual beach for quite a few years. The fact that it is solar and has an ecologically "pure" footprint makes it our favorite. We live in Bacalar, about an hour south, and sometimes feel the need to spend a few nights comforted by the sea air and surf sound. We do have a choice of where to go but this well-run small hotel wins every time. Rooms are spacious, clean, airy and comfortable. Swimming is nice right off the beach. Breakfast is included; at many hotels this means yogurt and a banana. At Balamku, the breakfast includes a buffet of fruits and yogurt and then you order your eggs or french toast or whatever. The breakfast sticks to your ribs and the stay makes you smile.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank YucatanTraveler_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
balamku, Owner at Balamku Inn on the Beach, responded to this reviewResponded July 5, 2013

What a lovely review! We love Bacalar as well and send many of our guests to your gorgeous laguna for fresh water swimming and a visit to the fort. The pleasure is all ours! Come again soon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 30, 2013

We spent 3 days at this wonderfull B&B Carol the owner is simply fantastik ! She is always looking to do everything possible to make your experience outstanding ! At the same time, everyone there are very careful about your privacy ! If you are looking for a private place to just relax on a private beach at 5 km from the Mahahual village, you will be serve !

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NiNiClinto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
balamku, Owner at Balamku Inn on the Beach, responded to this reviewResponded May 1, 2013

Sometimes we all just need to chill out and listen to the waves. Folks who love balamku really appreciate it's privacy and tranquility....thank you for letting others know. Hope you return for more of the same ( plus a few good laughs!)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 6, 2013

Our 2nd stay was a bit shorter but certainly worth it! This time we brought some friends with us. After a warm welcome we enjoyed some beautiful days on the beach sitting by the sea wich was comfortably warm. But if you're a more active person there is lots to do to! Just take a kayak out to sea, snorkeling, diving, rent a bicycle and bike around :).The breakfast was just as we remembered delicious&nutricious with your own choice of dishes. Lovely restaurants nearby! The village of Mahahual is very calm except for the "cruiseship days". Its fun to sit on a terrace with a cold drink watching the "boatpeople"! Great location, good service, on the beach, all in all a wonderful place to spend your vacation!!
Recomended to all!

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank pancha67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
balamku, Owner at Balamku Inn on the Beach, responded to this reviewResponded April 12, 2013

Always wonderful when guests return...thank you for loving what we do here!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 4, 2013

We stayed 3 days in March, and wished we had planned for a longer stay. We had a fabulous casita right on the beach (apparently it's the honeymoon suite), spotless and very comfortable, with a little porch, some beach chairs and hamacs right in front. The included breakfast was delicious (fresh fruits, pancakes, eggs), the staff very friendly. They will also make you a light lunch if you don't want to leave the property. There are a few restaurants at a walking distance, or you can drive into the town of Mahahual, about 6K. Mamahual reminded me of Playa del Carmen 30 years ago. Lovely. I suggest arriving in the daylight, as it is a bit confusing in the dark, there is a stretch of beach road (sand) past the village with really nothing, so we were a bit uneasy about that. Aslo, the beach in front of the resort is lovely to look at, but if you don't like seagrass, you have to walk a little while down the beach if you want to go for a swim.
All in all a perfect stay.

Room Tip: the single casita at the edge of the property
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Michele639
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
balamku, Owner at Balamku Inn on the Beach, responded to this reviewResponded April 5, 2013

It was our pleasure meeting fellow Canadians! Thank you for your comments. Always helpful for future travellers. The Costa Maya is a haven for nature and sea grass beds are a welcome gift for fishing ...birds and people! The clear area in front of balamku is a natural walkway further into the sea for swimming. thanks again for your kind words.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Mahahual hotels
3.2 mi away
Koox Quinto Sole Boutique Hotel
2.7 mi away
Koox Matan Ka'an Hotel
Koox Matan Ka'an Hotel
#4 of 12 in Mahahual
329 reviews
2.5 mi away
Ko'ox El Hotelito Beach Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Luna de Plata . Hotel
Luna de Plata . Hotel
#5 of 12 in Mahahual
166 reviews
3.5 mi away
Margarita del Sol
Margarita del Sol
#10 of 12 in Mahahual
33 reviews
4.7 mi away
Almaplena Eco Resort & Beach Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Balamku Inn on the Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Balamku Inn on the Beach

Address: 5.7 kms. south of Majahual, Mahahual, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Costa Maya > Mahahual
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 22 B&Bs / Inns in Mahahual
Price Range: $81 - $117 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Balamku is a small ecological hotel that offers beautiful rooms all facing the Sea and directly on the beach. We guarantee privacy, tranquility and excellent service. Since we are 6 kms south of Mahahual, our hotel is never noisy or crowded. We do not work with cruise ship folks so privacy is never compromised. The newly improved beach road makes access to town easy in less than 10 minutes. Kayaks are free to explore the reef just metres from our beach for great snorkeling. Large breakfasts are included as well as taxes.Enjoy the Caribbean Sea away from the crowds and relax in our natural environment.Please join us for private YOGA here or in town. Exceptional experience! Look for our YOGA retreats on FB ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Balamku Inn on the Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Balamku Inn On The Beach Hotel Mahahual
Balamku Inn On The Beach Mahahual, Mexico - Costa Maya

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing