We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Balamku Inn on the Beach
Nearby Hotels
Koox Matan Ka'an Hotel(Mahahual)(Great Value!)
$62
$60
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$82
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Porto Coral(Mahahual)(Great Value!)
$41
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Ko'ox El Hotelito Beach Hotel(Mahahual)(Great Value!)
$50
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Margarita del Sol(Mahahual)(Great Value!)
$67
$54
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Luna de Plata . Hotel(Mahahual)(Great Value!)
$69
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$61
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Beachfront
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (295)
Filter reviews
295 results
Traveler rating
245
37
6
5
2
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
245
37
6
5
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsgranolawind powerin townthe ownerpeaceful retreatbreakfast was deliciouspeace and tranquilitycharming placenew managerssea grasseco lodgefresh fruitoff the beaten pathmain buildingstayed two nightspalm treesocean front
Filter
Updating list...
104 - 109 of 295 reviews
Reviewed March 23, 2013

We stayed in Balamku for 2 weeks in January 2013. We had been looking for a quiet spot for an intimate wedding on the beach in Mexico and were so happy to come across this charming place. It has a beautiful white sand beach, swimmable clean sparkling sea and the palapas are located right on the beach. This hotel is clean and well organized. The host is very gracious. It is within a short walking distance to two great restaurants. Full breakfast is included in the price. Clean drinking water is provided. The shower has good pressure and very comfortable. The palapas furnished and decorated using local artisan resources. They have incredible vaulted ceilings made of the grass. This is a way to get close to the nature without leaving creature comforts behind. This place is an incredible to relax and unwind and is very private.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Rosemary710
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
balamku, Owner at Balamku Inn on the Beach, responded to this reviewResponded March 24, 2013

We were very privileged to host your wedding. Thank you for your trust and friendship. Look forward to your return !

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 22, 2013

We came over from Ireland to enjoy some tropical sunshine. We very much enjoyed Mexico and then the best part was Balamku. It has stunning views and was very peaceful. The beach is gorgeous and the room ( cabana or whatever you call it ) was fabulous. Immaculately clean and very comfortable. We loved the eco ethos which all functioned seamlessly. Our host Carol was excellent and informative and very friendly, and the breakfast was great. We also enjoyed how sociable the experience was and we highly recommend it. It was also great valve.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Padraig12866
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
balamku, Owner at Balamku Inn on the Beach, responded to this reviewResponded April 7, 2013

Thank you for your kind words. We really enjoyed meeting you both and having fun with the Irish connections! Hope our paths will cross again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 9, 2013

Just spent one night here but had to tear myself away! Wish we could have stayed longer. Beautiful, clean beach with comfortable rooms and chilled out feel. Great breakfast with delicious granola (recipe please!) Slept so well as the sound of the wind in the palm trees and the waves lulled us to sleep. Great restaurant almost next door with the best food I have eaten in Mexico (the travel in).

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DragonBures
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
balamku, Owner at Balamku Inn on the Beach, responded to this reviewResponded March 13, 2013

Thank you for coming down the road to see Balamku! We appreciate your comments and hope the next time you can stay for awhile. I'll let Travel In know you loved them!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 9, 2013

We have been vacationing here for the last three years and will continue to return as long as we are able. Everything about this place is satisfying to the soul and the stomach (Great breakfasts). We enjoy places off the beaten path where we can relax in a comfortable and clean environment and Balamku has all that and more. Wish it was closer so we could visit more often.

Room Tip: All rooms are equally great.
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Fritziy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
balamku, Owner at Balamku Inn on the Beach, responded to this reviewResponded March 12, 2013

You three are such delightful people and our shared love of jazz has been such a wonderful experience! Thank you for these kind words, your laughter and also, your music!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 3, 2013

A beautiful and peaceful spot in a chilled out beach town. We are so glad we went that little bit further to find Balamku! The Palapas are very comfortable and the delicious Mexican breakfast was very enjoyable - sharing travel stories and tips with other friendly guests. Carol and her intern Jo were brilliant hosts and the personal service was excellent. Carol gave us cream for our insect bites and a recommendation to an amazing restaurant (ask her about The Leaky Palapa - worth the 45 min drive!).

The private beach and its waters are very rich with wildlife. The water changes colour daily. One of the days the water was a rich red and brown due to the sediment from the fresh water mangrove a little further up the beach - beautiful to see and swim in.

This is clever ecology that doesn't impact on a guest's comfort, but does preserve the surrounding beauty and ecosystem. We have found that many so called 'Eco' places often fail to get it right.

Our stay at Balamku and our time in Mahahual was our favourite of our whole trip exploring the Yucatan. We can't recommend this place enough.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Wendy_travel123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
balamku, Owner at Balamku Inn on the Beach, responded to this reviewResponded March 5, 2013

Smiling Brits met us daily...thank you for your enthusiasm for Balamku! We appreciate your interest in the ecology and the respect for nature.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews