We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“We will continue to return to this little gem!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Balamku Inn on the Beach

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Balamku Inn on the Beach
Ranked #4 of 21 Mahahual B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Drums, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
26 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“We will continue to return to this little gem!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 9, 2013

We have been vacationing here for the last three years and will continue to return as long as we are able. Everything about this place is satisfying to the soul and the stomach (Great breakfasts). We enjoy places off the beaten path where we can relax in a comfortable and clean environment and Balamku has all that and more. Wish it was closer so we could visit more often.

Room Tip: All rooms are equally great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Fritziy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
balamku, Owner at Balamku Inn on the Beach, responded to this review, March 12, 2013
You three are such delightful people and our shared love of jazz has been such a wonderful experience! Thank you for these kind words, your laughter and also, your music!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

279 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    235
    35
    4
    4
    1
See reviews for
59
168
6
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (63)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 3, 2013

A beautiful and peaceful spot in a chilled out beach town. We are so glad we went that little bit further to find Balamku! The Palapas are very comfortable and the delicious Mexican breakfast was very enjoyable - sharing travel stories and tips with other friendly guests. Carol and her intern Jo were brilliant hosts and the personal service was excellent. Carol gave us cream for our insect bites and a recommendation to an amazing restaurant (ask her about The Leaky Palapa - worth the 45 min drive!).

The private beach and its waters are very rich with wildlife. The water changes colour daily. One of the days the water was a rich red and brown due to the sediment from the fresh water mangrove a little further up the beach - beautiful to see and swim in.

This is clever ecology that doesn't impact on a guest's comfort, but does preserve the surrounding beauty and ecosystem. We have found that many so called 'Eco' places often fail to get it right.

Our stay at Balamku and our time in Mahahual was our favourite of our whole trip exploring the Yucatan. We can't recommend this place enough.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Wendy_travel123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
balamku, Owner at Balamku Inn on the Beach, responded to this review, March 5, 2013
Smiling Brits met us daily...thank you for your enthusiasm for Balamku! We appreciate your interest in the ecology and the respect for nature.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
23 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 28, 2013 via mobile

A beautiful well kept resort on the beach. Small and off the beaten track. Service is wonderful. Breakfast is huge and healthy. Carols homemade granola rocks. There was no safe in my room but carol kept my valuables in her safe. The view from the rooms is stupendous. 2 good restaurants within easy walking distance. I will definitely return

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jeasy22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
balamku, Owner at Balamku Inn on the Beach, responded to this review, January 30, 2013
Thanks for this great review. Will send you the granola recipe!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 27, 2013

Amazing beach location, beautifully decorated "Palapas", and true dedication to the ecologically neutral mission. Lots of Pelis, banaquits, iguanas mooching etc. We had a car (i.e. were not so ecologically neutral!) and were thus able to check out the excellent jungle ruins at Chachoben, the colonial town of Bacalar (including the Cenote Azure) from here, otherwise would have been happy to use it as a great place to relax and check out the wildlife/reef. Staff were helpful, without being intrusive, and provided opportunity for socialising/information at breakfast/evening drinks for guest that wanted it.

Room Tip: Rooms were lovely - sleep quality impacted by wind and noisy sea only!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank fozziehash
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
balamku, Owner at Balamku Inn on the Beach, responded to this review, February 6, 2013
Thank you for this great review. The winds have settled and we are back to the normal calm days and nights. Glad you enjoyed your day trips off the beach!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fiji
Level Contributor
61 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 21, 2013

We stayed at Balamku for 4 nights and enjoyed the service, breakfast, and accommodation. Unfortunately it was a little too windy for any diving, but it was a great place to go to escape reality for a while. We took the kayaks out and went snorkeling, and enjoyed going into town during the day. Our room (5) was private and beautiful, and I enjoyed the low-impact systems in place to protect the natural area.

Room Tip: If it's very windy then a downstairs room may be better, but the palapa is a work of art
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 87SCuba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
balamku, Owner at Balamku Inn on the Beach, responded to this review, January 22, 2013
Thank you for your comments. There were indeed a number of windy days while you were here which inhibited diving and snorkeling. You two were very positive about the weather and found other options to enjoy. Hope you can return to enjoy the great diving here
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 8, 2013

What's amazing about this place is not just that it's off the grid (solar and wind power, eco toilets, and rain water supply), but that it's gorgeously built and maintained.

ROOMS: All the rooms are round to begin with - these "Palapas" (two-storey 'houses' - each guest gets a floor) have thatched roofs and are beautifully decorated. The staircase to the second floor is spiral - I only read after that this amazing construction is also a design used to minimize damage when there is a hurricane. Apparently Balamku surived two in the past decade with minimal damage (you certainly can't tell now). Inside, beds are firm and comfortable. Sheets are fressh - none of that "stinky pillow" syndrome that sometimes happens at beach hotels! Walls are decorated with what I think are Mayan woven materials - beautiful bright colours. The sinks - the sinks are ceramic with fish and designs - I wanted to buy one to take home!

BEACH: Beach has chairs, private thatched umbrellas, outdoor picnic table and chairs with sun protection and HAMMOCKS - this was great. The swimming is great for kids because it doesn't get deep fast. The best part is watching all the birds fly over - pelicans fly so low and birds also seem to congregate on the point.

FOOD: All breakfast is free. Breakfast is fresh, healthy, and service is very good. Coffee is self-serve, always a bonus. Home baked granola too, in addition to sweet papaya, pineapple, and banana. Lunch and dinner you have to go out. But drinks are served between 5 and 7. Lovely, lovely dining room. BIG breakfasts available for those who want lots: pancakes, eggs, bacon, toast. tortillas, etc.

ACTIVITIES: Plenty to do! Trips to town, dinners out, walking, all kinds of mini-trip/activity options in town offered as well. I kayaked out to the reef with my brothers (supplied for free) - snorkel equipment ($5 I think) was fine. You have to know about fish and reefs to appreciate this one - my brother is a scuba diver, so he could point out a lot of the fish I wouldn't have seen, like the "stick fish". Saw angel fish (bright blue colours), parrot fish, little black and yellow striped ones, all kinds of purpley corally things (sorry, brother knows all the names, I do not). He also went scuba diving every day - there are several places.

I had two great massages in my room as well - half the price of what I pay in Canada and GREAT.

Lots there to see if you're just sitting - Iquanas, birds galore, ghekos, crabs... Just on the point I found a huge conch shell, fully intact.

WEATHER: we were there in December for Christmas - OVERALL GREAT weather. A couple of days were windy - but that's what being right on the ocean is like. (I always bring ear plugs for sleeping anyway, and this was good for the 2 windy nights - by contrast, my sister-in-law sleeps better when there is ambient noise!)

TIPS:
If you like exercise, I found walking into town a nice idea and it's all by the ocean. Takes about 45 minutes. Taxi back is an option, especially if it's dark.

Get the massage! Ask Carol the owner for the one she recommends.

Bird and fish identifier cards are in the main restaurant - I had no idea I was seeing "bananaquits" for example...

Drinking water is supplied, you just have to fill your own bottle.

Scuba and snorkelling - WELL WORTH IT - you can go out yourself on the kayak - very fun. but also good to be taken out.

Try the Italian restaurant in town - yes, it's Mexico but this food was great and NOT expensive!

Room Tip: Second floor rooms have the beautiful thatched roof (very high). Each room has own balcony/verand...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Giddy P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
balamku, Owner at Balamku Inn on the Beach, responded to this review, January 16, 2013
Thank you for this detailed review. Your family enjoyed all that Balamku has to offer..we do lunches here but I think you were making your own as many guests do here (eg guacamole and fruit) We encourage this as well as bringing your own drinks to bar. Hope you will all return soon for the fun and games in our secluded part of Mahahual.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mexico City, Mexico
Level Contributor
69 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 6, 2013

More than a hotel or a small resort, this a REAL place to enjoy rest and tranquility away from it all, even in the highest season it'll feel empty, and that's a luxury for me.

1. The beach. It's really small, not wide, not long, not deep, and not that nice. You can't swim because there is coral everywhere. The owners have decided not to clean it completely to avoid erosion. You can't really walk left or right along the beach because this place has no neighbors, so it's savage, un-walkable land. You are confined to the small hotel beach.

2. It is an ecological hotel. This was kind of nice for me, it was the first real experience of this kind, and hoteliers should come and check it out, because it really seems to work. There are no water lines serving the hotel (6 km from the town, Mahahual), so you have to be conscious and not waste it. WC is also ecological, so it works differently than normal ones, but it works pretty well, you just have to get used to it. The only thing I didn't like was the noise made by these small wind turbines that generate power. They make huge noise all night long, and I guess that takes away some of the charm of this place.

3. The hotel is far from the town, and the road is in awful conditions, so it can take 20 minutes by car to get there, painfully slow. So, if you want and ice-cream, have dinner, buy beer, or just wander around and see the town, you think it twice.

It is, in general, a great little hotel. Nice furniture, nice touches, good taste. Carol, the owner, doubles as a helpful concierge during breakfast: she goes from table to table being extremely helpful. Wifi signal is weak or non-existent some times, but the place is so nice and quiet, nobody seems to need it.

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from the small (but noisy) wind turbines.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Antoine_K_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
balamku, Owner at Balamku Inn on the Beach, responded to this review, January 8, 2013
Thank you for your positive comments on Balamku. We appreciate your interest in our ecological systems and yes, there is one room that, when really windy, can be annoying with the wind generator. Thank goodness it isn't really windy that often here! The road now is waiting for the new government change over to implement the repairs needed. We assume this will happen soon. Meanwhile,we drive slowly and take it easy...no justification, just our current reality. Thanks for staying with us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Mahahual hotels
0.3 mi away
Koox Quinto Sole Boutique Hotel
1.3 mi away
Luna de Plata . Hotel
Luna de Plata . Hotel
#5 of 12 in Mahahual
4.0 of 5 bubbles 152 reviews
0.7 mi away
Koox Matan Ka'an Hotel
Koox Matan Ka'an Hotel
#4 of 12 in Mahahual
4.0 of 5 bubbles 304 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Posada Pachamama
Posada Pachamama
#7 of 12 in Mahahual
4.0 of 5 bubbles 193 reviews
1.0 mi away
Porto Coral
Porto Coral
#6 of 12 in Mahahual
4.5 of 5 bubbles 90 reviews
1.0 mi away
Ko'ox El Hotelito Beach Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Balamku Inn on the Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Balamku Inn on the Beach

Property: Balamku Inn on the Beach
Address: 5.7 kms. south of Majahual, Mahahual, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Costa Maya > Mahahual
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 21 B&Bs / Inns in Mahahual
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Balamku is a small ecological hotel that offers beautiful rooms all facing the Sea and directly on the beach. We guarantee privacy, tranquility and excellent service. Since we are 6 kms south of Mahahual, our hotel is never noisy or crowded. We do not work with cruise ship folks so privacy is never compromised. The newly improved beach road makes access to town easy in less than 10 minutes. Kayaks are free to explore the reef just metres from our beach for great snorkeling. Large breakfasts are included as well as taxes.Enjoy the Caribbean Sea away from the crowds and relax in our natural environment.Please join us for private YOGA here or in town. Exceptional experience! Look for our YOGA retreats on FB ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda and HostelWorld so you can book your Balamku Inn on the Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Balamku Inn On The Beach Hotel Mahahual
Balamku Inn On The Beach Mahahual, Mexico - Costa Maya

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing