We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unbeatable Balamku”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Balamku Inn on the Beach
Ranked #4 of 22 Mahahual B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Reviewed December 23, 2012

The four of us enjoyed Balamku for several days. The cabanas were spotless and comfortable, with lots of hot water and beautifully appointed rooms.We were served delicious and hearty breakfasts while viewing the beach and deciding on a kayak trip,or, some excellent birding, a walk to town for shopping, or a snooze swinging in a hammock on the beach.....
Many fellow guests had diving and snokelling trips organized and had great experiences as well. Also not far, were the amazing cenotes and ruins which a person can visit all within a day....even with a long lunch break at any of the excellent restaurants nearby. Wonderful helpful, informative hosts made a great difference to our very pleasant stay!!!!

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank neverhome53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
balamku, Owner at Balamku Inn on the Beach, responded to this reviewResponded December 24, 2012

Thank you for your comments and enthusiasm. Yes, there is a lot to do in our area..expeditions without the hassle of crowds is our specialty down here. Hope we have the pleasure of your company again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (287)
There are newer reviews for Balamku Inn on the Beach
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

108 - 114 of 287 reviews

Reviewed December 11, 2012

Let me preface this review by saying that we loved the place itself. The rooms were beautiful, the location was great (just outside of town), the breakfast, book exchange, snorkelling trip organised, etc etc- all was wonderful.

BUT. On our first morning there, we went on a snorkelling trip, and because it was such a nice hotel, we thought nothing of leaving our wedding rings on the sink in our bathroom (mine, a cheap imitation-diamond ring bought specially for the trip; my husband's, his $1200 AUD gold ring he's had for the 8 years we've been married). We returned from the day trip to find our rings missing (at that time we'd only noticed my husband's missing, but we later realised mine was also missing). We turned our room upside down, looked in the bathroom sink drain etc, but didn't spot the rings. We informed staff, who also searched our room and contacted the cleaner who'd been in the rooms that morning. The cleaner was adamant that they hadn't taken the rings, and the idea was put forward that maybe the rings had been accidentally swept into the bin when cleaning the sink. We ended up running all over the town (and rummaging through disgusting dumpsters) to try to locate the bin bags, but to no avail. Carol seemed quite distressed about the whole thing, but stuck by her cleaner and insisted she'd employed him for a long time and doubted he'd take anything. Eventually, she said that Mexicans are very poor and if he had stolen them, it'd be because the temptation was too much!! We never found the rings, and know they were stolen.

My sister was quite angry that nothing extra was done for us, and in retrospect, we kind of were too- no strong effort on the staff's part to find the rings (we had to try to locate the bin bags in dumpsters ourselves, and when we couldn't find them it was kind of left at that), no discounts on our stay or anything offered, nothing. Considering it was my husband's wedding ring, and worth a ton, both physically and sentimentally, it was actually quite disgraceful.

So all in all, I'd say yes, the place is great, but if you do make the decision to stay there, watch your valuables!!!

Room Tip: Don't trust the cleaners!!!!! We had upper rooms, which were great!
  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HeatherPH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
balamku, Owner at Balamku Inn on the Beach, responded to this reviewResponded December 13, 2012

This was a terrible loss and extremely upsetting for all. I apologize for not thinking of compensation for the loss with a discount. We have learned from this. All rooms have safes now ( this happened a while ago) but this doesn't appease the lingering feelings. The young man was fired 2 weeks later; but again, we should have handled this differently.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 11, 2012

You just can't beat Balamku, it's simple...
Amazing location, beautiful cabanas, tranquil, relaxing, great value, eco friendly with a wonderful owner and hostess. Put that all together and you get the most relaxing, fun, unspoilt environment and back to nature holiday you could wish for.......just do yourselves a favour and go.
Thanks Carol it was amazing,
Jody & kat x

Room Tip: They're all great but if you can get them 4, 5 & 6 are particularly private
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jedi1901
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
balamku, Owner at Balamku Inn on the Beach, responded to this reviewResponded December 13, 2012

Thanks to two fabulous guests who returned and then returned again. Lots of fun and bright spirits.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 20, 2012

Our stay at Balamku was fantastic. We had reservations for another hotel, but when we arrived, the beach, rooms, and service were not as advertised, so we went door to door looking for another hotel. Thankfully, the second hotel we stopped at was Balamku. The beach is pristine, the rooms spacious and clean, and the service was incredible. Carole, one of the owners, made our stay comfortable, friendly and efficient. She is a lovely woman with a real knack for making people feel at home. We live in Playa del Carmen, so we get to stay at a number of hotels up and down the Riviera Maya and Costa Maya. I can say without hesitation that Balamku is one of the best hotels we have stayed at. Many thanks to the owners Carole and Alan.

Jim C.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jim C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
balamku, Owner at Balamku Inn on the Beach, responded to this reviewResponded November 21, 2012

In our business, great guests make it all worthwhile and these folks from Playa are just another example of how lucky we are . Thanks for sharing your experience.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 11, 2012

Balamku means black jaquar, so how appropriate it was to see a jaquar when we were driving past the town of Mahahual to Balamku Inn on the Beach, at dusk, on our first visit.
Canadian owners, Carol and Allan cater to you in a most gracious manner.
Allan built this beautiful complex for the present and the future. The round rooms have several equi-distant windows with electrical outlets between them. Ventilation is perfect. Although my wife and I perferred the second level rooms for the outstanding views of the sun rising, there are no bad rooms there.
I believe that the greatest deterrent for prospective travellers is getting there because it is off the beaten path. However, it is an easy and interesting 4 hour trip by car/taxi and/or bus. (We experienced both.). We left the more busy and gated experiences at Playa del Carmen (We enjoyed Xcaret.) for the more rural and serene pace around Mahahaul. In the slower season, when cruise ships are absent, the price of a daily taxi excursion is 1/4 of the price of that in Playa del Caman. Alan always gave us the best travel advice. We went to the marvellously restored Chacchoben Mayan Ruins and the relaxing Laguna Bacalar, where we swam and ate some of the best tasting fish, I have ever eaten.
Breakfast at Balamku Inn was delicious and plentiful. This sets you up for a wonderful day whether you are solo or with your family.
The shore gradient at the beach is gradual making it exceptional for enjoying water sports (Kayaks are free to use) and if you love nature you will marvel the beauty of your surroundings, day after day.
It is enjoyable walking into town to feel the countryside. There are a wide choice of restaurants, some close to the inn, as well as those in town.
Alan took us to a fine Italian Restaurant, Fernando 100% Agave.
It is not always easy to run a family operation with the dedication, fortitude, and perfection that this couple has done. Carol and Allan look after your best interests is testament that when I left my underwater camera behind, Carol brought the camera back to Canada as personal hand luggage. Now, how special is that.
The four days we spent In August was not enough and we would certainly go back.

Markus, Debora & Porsha

Room Tip: All rooms are beautiful.
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Markus-Debora S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 16, 2012

I have stayed at this lovely hotel twice in the past 3 months and the location is excellent - right on the beach. Prices are fair, rooms spacious and the service excellent. Owners Allan and Carol attentive to guests needs and helpful. The hotel is also far enough from the town to be convenient and there are some good restaurants within walking distance. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: go for the rooms on the second level.
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bruce E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 9, 2012

Here you get a chance to be in touch with the joy & beauty of life... from the beach to the rooms to the ruins ... your choice ... explore the ruins... visit the reef or just relax on the beach & revisist how beautiful life is. The hospitality is amazing! Perfection.

Room Tip: Define your needs in advance & they will be looled after & more
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marion H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Mahahual hotels
3.2 mi away
Koox Quinto Sole Boutique Hotel
2.7 mi away
Koox Matan Ka'an Hotel
Koox Matan Ka'an Hotel
#4 of 12 in Mahahual
324 reviews
2.2 mi away
Luna de Plata . Hotel
Luna de Plata . Hotel
#5 of 12 in Mahahual
166 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Ko'ox El Hotelito Beach Hotel
2.8 mi away
Posada Pachamama
Posada Pachamama
#6 of 12 in Mahahual
202 reviews
4.7 mi away
Almaplena Eco Resort & Beach Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Balamku Inn on the Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Balamku Inn on the Beach

Address: 5.7 kms. south of Majahual, Mahahual, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Costa Maya > Mahahual
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 22 B&Bs / Inns in Mahahual
Price Range: $82 - $135 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Balamku is a small ecological hotel that offers beautiful rooms all facing the Sea and directly on the beach. We guarantee privacy, tranquility and excellent service. Since we are 6 kms south of Mahahual, our hotel is never noisy or crowded. We do not work with cruise ship folks so privacy is never compromised. The newly improved beach road makes access to town easy in less than 10 minutes. Kayaks are free to explore the reef just metres from our beach for great snorkeling. Large breakfasts are included as well as taxes.Enjoy the Caribbean Sea away from the crowds and relax in our natural environment.Please join us for private YOGA here or in town. Exceptional experience! Look for our YOGA retreats on FB ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Balamku Inn on the Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Balamku Inn On The Beach Hotel Mahahual
Balamku Inn On The Beach Mahahual, Mexico - Costa Maya

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing