We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Maya Chan= Awesome ! Do not miss out”
Review of Maya Chan Beach

Maya Chan Beach
Ranked #1 of 32 things to do in Mahahual
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Private beach resort for cruise ship passengers.
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Maya Chan= Awesome ! Do not miss out”
Reviewed May 10, 2014 via mobile

We just visited Maya Chan on May 6th 2014 on our cruise ship Navigator of the Seas. Absolutely the best excursion ever !! The staff, the food, the location all fantastic. When we arrived we were a party of five with three children ages, 14, 11, & 6. They had a beautiful spot reserved for us with a shaded palapa, chairs, hammock, and even a beach bed with pillows! Even for my youngest son they had beach toys he loved it !! Reserve with them you will not be disappointed. Thanks again Maya Chan

Helpful?
1 Thank Jennifer K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,154 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,061
    64
    16
    8
    5
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“One of our favorites... we'll be back!”
Reviewed May 6, 2014

Maya Chan will always be our place to go when we stop in Costa Maya! I can't imagine anyone not giving this place an excellent review! We loved it and didn't want to leave to go back to the cruise ship. Exceptional service, fun staff, amazing food, and great beach... all with unlimited drinks! Owner, Mark, arranged scuba diving for our older boys (16+) and our younger boys (13+) loved the kayaks and snorkel gear. We loved the private cabana with lounge chairs, outdoor bed, and hammock too. We were welcomed with the best chips and salsa & guacamole we've ever had! We had an awesome day and can't recommend Maya Chan highly enough!

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank lovecominghome
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level 5 Contributor
97 reviews
29 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Great Resort Day & Excellent Customer Service”
Reviewed April 29, 2014

Most notably, Maya Chan has exceptional customer service. Maya Chan is a great beach club/resort with unlimited drinks (alcoholic and non) and a superb mexican fajitas lunch. This is a great activity for people of all ages. Each group of guests gets their own private cabana with lounge chairs. The staff there are on their game and always asking if you need drinks or anything. It is great if you just want to relax and do nothing. However, there are also free activities - including kayaks and a mini snorkeling trip. There are also fins and snorkels available for your use if you want to go alone. As you can see in the pictures, they are chair/rafts that you can take into the ocean and lounge and drink. The ride is only 15 minutes from the cruise port, which is nice because the road is kinda bumpy. Overall, great day and I highly recommend for groups of all sizes and ages.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Martha G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarasota, Florida
Level 5 Contributor
73 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Awesome cruise stop!!!”
Reviewed April 28, 2014

A group of 6 of us spent a day here during our cruise last week. It was a first visit for 4 of us and a repeat visit for 2 in our group. We had a great Palapa with a hammock and swing along with a bed and Adirondack chairs. The guacamole and pico that they deliver as soon as you arrive was terrific.

They have everything you would want or need from kayaks, snorkel equipment and floating loungers. 2 in our party had massages and said they were terrific. A hint to future visitors is book your massages early. The day we were there they were really busy. There were 2 ladies when we got there and by the time we left they had 4 ladies giving massages. Not sure if they called in backup due to the demand or if this is normal.

The food smells great while they are cooking it and tastes even better than it smells. Everything was great but my husband had to go back for more of the pork.

The staff is really great and constantly checking on you and bringing whatever you might want or need. We even enjoyed the couple of dogs that hung out in our Palapa a bit during the day. If we are at this port in the future we will make sure we book this early. It sounds like they sell out regularly and we talked to a few people on the ship who wanted to go but they were out of room.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Dnrmil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level 5 Contributor
40 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Another wonderful day!”
Reviewed April 26, 2014

We have been to Maya Chan Resort 2 times prior to this visit..and couldn't wait to take our family and friends to our favorite beach resort! We were a group of 13, of all ages, and everyone had a great day. You couldn't asked for a better place to spend your day in Costa Maya! The beach is private, and clean...plenty of shady areas, and the floating chairs are a must! The bartender worked his butt off with our group...(thanks for keeping the drinks plentiful and yummy!) The food was cooked just right and if you walked away hungry it was your own fault! Some of our group got massages while at the resort and said it was one of the best they have ever gotten!

Thank you again Mark and Dave, for showing us a wonderful day...We can't wait to come back!

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank OhioGirl61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Maya Chan Beach also viewed

 
Mahahual, Costa Maya
Mahahual, Costa Maya
 

Been to Maya Chan Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing