We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Day at the Beach” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Maya Chan Beach

Maya Chan Beach
Ranked #1 of 31 things to do in Mahahual
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Private beach resort for cruise ship passengers.
Weiser
Level Contributor
18 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Day at the Beach”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 14, 2013

What a great experience! Arrived on Carnival Legend Oct. 31 following 4 days of heavy rains. Needless to say, the water was murky and full of seaweed. They did their best raking the seaweed and trying to keep the beach clean, but, what the heck, ya can't keep ahead of nature!

Was disappointed we didn't get to kayak in clear, blue water and play on the water toys, but relaxing, drinking Monkey La Las, a massage on the beach and eating really great food made for a truly memorable day.

The young man who greeted us ( David?) was from Boise and had recently passed through our town on a bird hunting trip. Small world! All the staff was very attentive to our needs and kept the food and drinks coming, we never had to ask for anything.

If in Costa Maya again we would certainly go back for a peaceful, pampered day. Thanks guys and gals for sharing your beach with us.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank Retired4years
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MayaChanBeach, Owner at Maya Chan Beach, responded to this review, November 22, 2013
Rains have ended for the most part and our water is becoming clearer. Long wet summer. Road is being worked on next week so, things are almost back to normal at the resort. Glad you had a great time. Most of our guests appreciate nature and understand and love the fact that we are not a fake beach and respect our friends that live in the water. We are not a Hyatt on the beach. Thank you for reading my info sheet before you booked and thank you for spending your day with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,072 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    985
    61
    16
    6
    4
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
upstate SC
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Amazing. Will definitely go again.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 13, 2013

The road is bumpy and the town being passed through on the included taxi ride is dried up it seems.
included Bar, food, company, host, hostess, bartender: EXCELLENT!
Ocean: seaweedy, but clean. Not commercialized like all others I've ever been to. I loved it.
I hate that Disney CL stays for such a short time, I would have loved to stay so much longer. We'll be back one day.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank msmcm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MayaChanBeach, Owner at Maya Chan Beach, responded to this review, November 14, 2013
We also wish the Fantasy would stay longer. At least the ship has been coming early and leaving on hour later. So still a 4 hour excursion. That is why we lowered our normal rates down so families can some and hang with us for almost half of what the ship charges. We have had some mean tides this month. But no Hurricanes or large storms, but strong surges. Against the law to remove the seagrass from the water. Its called Turtle Grass, this is where the turtles hang out. Love our turtles.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chattanooga, Tennessee, United States
Level Contributor
33 reviews
20 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“I would go back without a second thought”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 9, 2013

We booked this tour a few months in advance online and the process was easy using paypal. Communication with the owner was excellent. There are a couple of things you should note when choosing this property to spend your day. First, if you are coming from the cruise terminal, ignore all the locals that tell try to sell you a taxi or shuttle for $3 to get to the taxi pickup area. The locals are only trying to rip you off. Just go through the shops at the Costa Maya port and walk out the back. AGAIN, DON'T PAY FOR A TAXI OR SHUTTLE. A representative from Maya Chan will be at the taxi pick-up area to get a group together and provide transportation to the resort for you. On the day we went, we were told to look for the red umbrella, which we found in two minutes. The walk is only two blocks. The cruise terminal does not allow the taxis to get any closer to the port. You will be checked in and put in a taxi or small bus, depending on the size of your group. It took us about 20 minutes to get to Maya Chan from the cruise terminal, but we had we had eleven people in our van, so we had a good time chatting while the driver was dodging potholes in the street. When we arrived, we were warmly greeted and shown to our reserved spot. I can't be in the sun for long, so I requested a shady area and was so happy to be shown to "the villa" which was a completely covered large area with 4 chairs and a bed. What a perfect spot, just a few feet from the beach, bathroom and the bar. As a matter of fact, all the sites were nice. Some had more sun than others, which is perfect for those that wanted more sun. We were handed a welcome cocktail and a bowl of tortilla chips and salsa as we sat down in our villa. They had a great waitstaff that constantly came by and asked us if we needed more drinks and/or chips. A few minutes later a guy came over and asked us if we wanted to kayak out to the coral reef and then jump off the kayak and snorkel. Three of us decided to go out of our group and had a blast. We rowed out about 1/4 of a mile, tied our kayaks together, then jumped in with our snorkel gear on and saw the reef and fish. After we all were ready to come back, we all jumped back into our kayaks and paddled back in. The kayaks and snorkel gear were both included in the price, as were all the cocktails and the excellent lunch. I found the drinks to be really good. They were strong and made with fresh fruit, and it also included bottled beer if you chose to drink beer. The lunch was great. They had a bean soup that was excellent, as was the homemade guacamole. You got to make your own soft shell tacos with tortillas fresh off the grill. There were several meat choices and sea bass for fish tacos, as well as plenty of fresh toppings. The lunch was perfect. They also provided floating chairs if you wanted to float around the beach and had clean bathrooms and showers too. The food was served in a large covered area with plenty of tables and the bar, or you could bring your food back to your own reserved area. The entire staff was excellent, starting with the guy meeting us at the cruise port, our kayak guide, the bartender and wait staff. I can't think of a nicer place to go when in Costa Maya. One other thing I really liked about Maya Chan was that there was no tipping until the end. We tried to tip our waitress and she said to wait until we were leaving and if we wanted to tip, we could place the tip in the box at the exit, which we though was really a nice touch. No tipping hassles, just one tip at the end. If you go, tip well, because the entire staff works really hard to ensure you have a great day. There was a couple in our group that had been there 4 times already and this was there fifth time and they told us they wouldn't go anywhere else. I'm glad we made the choice to book Maya Chan and you won't be disappointed if you go. Other reviewers have complained about murky water, which can happen after heavy rains in the area, but the owners have no control over mother nature. Get in the water anyway and have a good time like we did. If I ever get the chance to visit Costa Maya again, I will book without hesitation.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
9 Thank Gregg D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MayaChanBeach, Owner at Maya Chan Beach, responded to this review, November 14, 2013
Wow. What a fantastic. review. Thank you very much. If anyone has any questions, just read this review and it has it all. Hurry back. Cheers.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Union, Kentucky
Level Contributor
41 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Disappointed”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 4, 2013

We were their Oct 31st on the CCL Legend. As my title states, I'm disappointed. the website states minutes from the cruise port, actually with dodging the potholes it's a good 40 minute jarring ride. Once arrived, a young man explains the rains have recently stopped and the 20 feet of beach are gone due to the high water and there is sea grass. This is all understandable and acceptable. What is unacceptable is the sewage washing ashore near the pier and beach area. No wonder access was blocked to pier. Several times the wind would send swifts of the sewage smell over the beach area. The free wifi is poor to non-existent 20 feet from the main building. Why wifi on vacation, you ask, well to send photos from iPad to friends and co-workers. Food was very good, the guacamole was excellent, the daiquiri was undrinkable. We took a cab vs the bus on our return to the cruise port. From the cab, i found the source of the sewage. About half mile from resort there was a pipe flowing it into the gulf. Yes, third world, probably sewer system was inundated with the recent rains and was dumping sewage prior to processing. I don't like dumping on Maya Chan, because they look to be a hand to mouth operation and I support their enterprise. I'm also confident it is a great visit 50 weeks of the year but I can only provide my review on my snapshot visit on the 31st. I've provided a couple nice photos.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Steve H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MayaChanBeach, Owner at Maya Chan Beach, responded to this review, November 5, 2013
You are referencing Rio Bermejo and the Mangrove red runoff. We have no sewer even close to here. Not sewer. This water feeds the reef and the turtles. Sorry this bothered you. Yes, it was a very stormy and rainy day. As for your drink, its all you want, so why didn't you just get another. Mother nature is very important to us here and sorry the it caused you to write such a review. Glad you enjoyed the food. We had others that day that raved about the day. Cannot please everyone.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scottsdale, Arizona
Level Contributor
90 reviews
19 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Go!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 1, 2013

We were off a cruise ship and booked this with the Maya Chan folks ahead of time. Road to the location is long and sad but worth the trip. Try to get there early as the better locations are taken early.

Yes, the water isn't beautiful but the day and experience is wonderful (read their web site for the disclaimer). Lunch of chicken, beef, pork, or fish tacos with beans, and toppings was ready around 11:00. I love to cook and the tacos were simply amazing. Fish was the best - try it!

Yes, all the drinks are included. Tough job for the bartender (make sure you tip him on your way out!). The "better" bottles might be gone by the afternoon so keep that in mind.

Glad we went here as the cruise development right at the port was overpriced and rather Americanized. The city of Costa Maya was very sad, run-down, and shut-down. Take the trip to Maya Chan - its worth it!

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank GaryMillerAZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MayaChanBeach, Owner at Maya Chan Beach, responded to this review, November 5, 2013
Thank you very much for coming. Our resort is on the wild caribbean. No Disney created beach. We have the Rio Bermejo that when it rains a lot, caused the tannins in the mangrove to enter the water. This feeds the reef, which feeds our sea life. Very important to our eco system. However, this does bother some who prefer pristine beach. Thank you once again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Maya Chan Beach also viewed

Mahahual, Costa Maya
Mahahual, Costa Maya
 
Mahahual, Costa Maya
 

Been to Maya Chan Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing