We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Beach Bar with Friendly Owner/Operator”
Review of Chiquita

Chiquita
Ranked #11 of 75 Restaurants in Mahahual
Cuisines: Mexican
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Reservations
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level Contributor
21 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Great Beach Bar with Friendly Owner/Operator”
Reviewed July 14, 2014

Picture your ideal "Beach Bar" and this is it. Right on the beach with a full menu and bar. Great place to grab a drink and/or grab something to eat. I highly recommend the fish taco's - they were awesome. Fernando (owner) is extremely friendly and a great host.

This is on my short list of places I make sure I visit a few times during my trips to Mahuhaul.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank John S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

203 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    172
    20
    6
    4
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Point Roberts, Washington
Level Contributor
26 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Great venue while in Costa Maya”
Reviewed July 7, 2014

We stopped in Costa Maya early in the morning while on a Carnival Cruise. We were admediately drawn to Chiquita 's . The outdoor covered bar has swings instead of bar stools to sit on. It was quite fun. It was early morning when we went there. Since we were on vacation and not driving we decided to have a bar. The owner / Bartender was informative and friendly. I had a local beer (Leon). This beer is from Mexico and is not exported.
We would go back to Chiquita 's again the next time we are in Costa Maya. Next time we will have a meal.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank I4761TYsusanb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, MA
Level Contributor
43 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Best place on the boardwalk”
Reviewed July 6, 2014 via mobile

The food and drinks were excellent!! We had the conch with the best guacamole ever!! Fernando really hooked up the drinks with lots of tequila!! We really enjoyed the swings at the bar. Very nice. We had a nice time with the children as well. They were very cute!! We will be back Fernando so get the tequila and lobster ready!!

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank snapette
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Best food in Mahahual”
Reviewed May 31, 2014

How Hilda makes gourmet style food in her palapa/outdoor kitchen is a wonder to me! Fernando, her husband makes a great Mango Margarita and is fun to communicate with. After enjoying an incredible Mayan Coconut/Seafood Soup that took Hilda 3 hours to prepare with a great Tik Xik whole fish we were hooked. Right then we gave Fernando the okay to find us a Red King Crab when he went diving the next day for dinner mañana. Wow! We've been going to the Yucatan for over 30 years and this was right up there with the top 3 meals! While enjoying our tequila we could smell the butter wafting through the breeze just before she added the cream & mushrooms to make a mouthwatering sauce. Fernando brought out that big platter to our table on the beach &the crab was arrayed beautifully, legs and claws intact & decorated with fresh pico &avocadoes. Hilda had removed all the crabmeat from the body and mixed it with all this great fresh fish, shrimp,etc.,put it into that great sauce & mounded it on top of the crab! Amore! We love to support outstanding local people like Fernando who is Mayan and grew up in Cozumel & Hilda is from El Salvador. Also, everyone seems to know &you should too, that they make THE Best Nachos on the beach in Mahahual. Thank you for saving our Mahahual food experience!

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank DebraAustin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oklahoma
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Fun little shack on the beach”
Reviewed May 29, 2014

Fernando and his family run a great beach bar... The best margarita and piña colada. Really good guacamole and lobster tacos

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank boxerloverx3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Chiquita also viewed

 
Mahahual, Costa Maya
Mahahual, Costa Maya
 

Been to Chiquita? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing