We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A wonderful seafood meal on the beach”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Chiquita

Chiquita
Ranked #11 of 73 Restaurants in Mahahual
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Scenic view, Families with children, Bar scene
Dining options: Breakfast, Brunch, Late Night, Dinner, Drinks, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Branson, Missouri
Level Contributor
16 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“A wonderful seafood meal on the beach”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 24, 2014

We went in family to eat at this nice small restaurant on the beach and we have been really nicely welcomed by Fernando and his family there. We tried shrimps al coco which I strongly recomend and lobster wich was delicious. But take the nachos to start with your margarita, there are huge !!! Thank you again and hope to come back very soon in Mahahual to try you other specialties...

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Ricky B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

202 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    172
    20
    5
    4
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Marcos, Texas
Level Contributor
34 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Delicious!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 20, 2014

We got off of our cruise and got on the bus for $3 per person to take us over to the beach area. We walked around for a while, and everyone tries to stop you to sell you something or show you a menu. The offers ran from necklaces to cocaine, both of which we turned down. I picked Chiquita based on the table available surrounded by palm trees. It was right on the beach and they had a clean bathroom. They sell buckets of 10 beers for $10 and have reasonably priced cocktails. All of this is great, but the food, the food was wonderful! My husband had the whole fish that was one of the best things either of us had ever eaten. They brought with it a bowl filled with dozens of warm corn tortillas. It was easily enough to feed two people, and it was only $14! We also got an order of shrimp tacos, they were the small cocktail shrimp, but were seasoned really well and were delicious! A plate of three with a side of rice and plantains was $9. The service was very friendly, but not overbearing. People will continue to come to your table and try to sell you things, but aren't pushy. I will definitely be going back to Chiquita's next time we have a cruise stop in Costa Maya.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Elizabeth B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
73 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Fun place with freshly blended drinks!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 11, 2014

Fernando is a wonderful host! He and his staff made us feel welcome and cared for from day one. For the USA-Canada Olympic hockey match, he turned on his little TV and gave us all a place to enjoy the game. We even got free shots when either team scored. I especially enjoyed the freshest mango drink I've ever had!

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank Jennifer L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Petersburg, Florida
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fun place and nice folks”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 4, 2014 via mobile

We stopped here on our cruise and took the bus to the last stop, the "local" part of the beach. It's all touristy but really cute and the beach is beautiful! Chiquita's was recommended to us by a local man from whom we bought jewelry, and he told us to ask for the owner, Fernando. We had some of the best guacamole I've ever had right on the beach, and then Fernando came by to say hello. There was free wifi, once the bartender got the right password for me, and we had an excellent hour relaxing.

I definitely recommend this part of the beach, as it is much quieter and less touristy.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Jill S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spokane, Washington
Level Contributor
72 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Fabulous place!!!! Definitly a must in Mahahual.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 3, 2014 via mobile

This is our first trip back to Mahahual after the cruise ships started coming into this wonderful little town. We were disappointed by the growth of tourism but know it does help their economy. We wanted a great little beach bar with drinks and lobster. After walking the town and being attacked by every restaurant owner begging us to come to "the best in Mahahual", we stopped in to grab a drink at a place the kids spotted with swings. There were 11 of us. A big party for a non-cruise ship day. We met Fernando right away. I believe he's the owner. He was so wonderful. Showed us his lobster and red snapper. We had the Coco Locos, Piña Coladas and Margarittas. All wonderful! He was so gracious and accommodating we decided to stay to eat. His wife prepared our food. Bless her heart we had 11 different dishes for her to prepare. They were are wonderful!!! Not one complaint! We had everything from Nachos to the house special which was a seafood stuffed snapper filet and Lobster prepared perfectly! And our American ways of wanting our food fast
diminished as he continued to bring us drinks to try. The prices were very very reasonable. Fernando made our evening in Mahahual wonderful. Thank you!

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank tonyandlynndi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Chiquita also viewed

 

Been to Chiquita? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing