We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We are fans”
Review of Chiquita

Chiquita
Ranked #11 of 75 Restaurants in Mahahual
Cuisines: Mexican
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Reservations
Budapest
Level 6 Contributor
190 reviews
135 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
“We are fans”
Reviewed March 11, 2014 via mobile

We too are fans of Fernando and his family business. Great attentive service, fantastic margaritas and delicious ceviche and fish tacos. Everything was absolutely delightful. Fernando is one of few, if not the only, local patron on tje malecon so we felt good about supporting his business for this reason as well. Don't miss out.

Helpful?
Thank AkelaBudapest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

203 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    172
    20
    6
    4
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hockessin, Delaware
1 review
“Relaxing with good food and company at Chiquita's”
Reviewed March 3, 2014

Our family was on a cruise and we decided not to stay in the commercial CostaMaya port area. I had researched on trip advisor places to go within close proximity. Fernando and his family were so hospitable. The margaritas were excellent and he prepared a special ceviche for us that was the best we've ever had. It started to rain and the staff pulled our tables in and put umbrellas up to keep us dry. They went out of their way to make us comfortable. Great time at Chiquita's!!!

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Debbie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
207 reviews
114 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“Great cocktails, lovely view , nice owner”
Reviewed March 3, 2014 via mobile

Great piña coladas. Friendly staff, sit on a swing at the bar
The we tried the tequila, yum, then another house cocktail
Lots of bars in this strip, we liked this one, didn't try the food but it looked fine
Worth a visit

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank Bmwmusic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
“Excellent family run seafood restaurant and bar on the beach!!”
Reviewed February 24, 2014

Great little spot right by the beach ! Fernando and his staff are very friendly, his wife is an amazing cook! She even made BBQ chicken for me and it wasn't even on the menu ! Although I think it will be soon. Another one of our favourites was the stuffed fish, so rich and creamy ! It's one of our favourite places to hang out in Mahahual! They also have tables and loungers on the beach.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jon N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Providence, Rhode Island
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Little piece of Heaven!! You do not want to miss this place!!”
Reviewed February 21, 2014

The service here was fantastic. We ended up sitting on the swings, making friends, having amazing cocktails (mango Margarita was out of this world), chatting with the owner with beautiful views of the beach.

The owner was so helpful with giving suggestions on our next port. We even started grabbing people as they walked by because we didn't want people to miss out on this great place!!

Def do not want to miss this place if you visit. Just take the shuttle ($3/pp) or a cab ($2/pp) to downtown and this place is located right on the strip along the beach.

Looking forward to visiting again in the future!!

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sheri S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Chiquita also viewed

 

Been to Chiquita? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing