We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pretty beach”
Review of Mahahual Beach

Mahahual Beach
Ranked #2 of 32 things to do in Mahahual
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Midwest, USA
Level 6 Contributor
319 reviews
197 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1,934 helpful votes
“Pretty beach”
Reviewed March 27, 2013

We visited Costa Maya on a cruise. We were hoping for a setup like Mahogany Bay, since both are cruiseline-owned ports, but we found there wasn’t much to do in the crowded port area except shop and use the pool. So we decided to visit Mahahual.

There was a bus running to Mahahual for $3 per person. We walked just outside the port gates to the taxi stand and caught a ride for $2 per person with no waiting. We walked along the boardwalk and saw the same merchandise as in the port. The vendors were fairly aggressive, and not as willing to bargain as those in the port. I would recommend shopping at the port, not at Mahahual. We saw a lot of people getting massages.

Mahahual beach is beautiful - a long, white beach with soft sand and palm trees. The surf was rough, good for Skidoos but not for snorkeling or swimming. Most of the beach clubs seemed to offer similar amenities. We picked the Krazy Lobster for lunch, and it was pretty good. They had a special on a bucket of 10 beers for $10, which was too many for us, but looked like a popular deal. US dollars were accepted everywhere. If you are stopping at Costa Maya and don't want to go on an excursion, visiting Mahahual beach is more interesting than the small cruise port.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
4 Thank CoralReef
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

933 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    584
    228
    66
    31
    24
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
mesa az
Level 6 Contributor
371 reviews
103 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 132 helpful votes
“Mahahual Beach Costa Maya Mexico”
Reviewed March 25, 2013

A few years ago we visited Costa Maya and found it very limited with a handful of
shops at the pier. This time we took a taxi to Mahahual Beach, just 10 minutes away
and an absolutely terrific family beach day. As usual, avoid the ship's beach tour and
save 50% by doing it yourself! Just walk through the shopping center and follow the taxi signs.
Taxis are $3 per person each way to the beach and there is a restaurant there. You may
want to consider the all-inclusive offer from the taxi/tour operator which will run about
$35 per adult (kids free) and will include transportation to the beach, lunch from the restaurant
unlimited drinks (including alcohol) and use of beach chairs and umbrellas. The water is
warm, clear and shallow for kids and the beach is uncrowded. You can stay all day until
its time to return to your ship.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
5 Thank mesatraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 6 Contributor
320 reviews
114 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 132 helpful votes
“What's better than a relaxing day in the sun at the beach?”
Reviewed March 25, 2013

My family went to Mahahual beach from the cruise ship terminal. We were planning on grabbing a cab down to the beach on our own.

Instead of walking out of the port area and down the street to the taxi stand we payed $3 a person to board a shuttle (bus) that took us. We were 7, so it made more sense then to try and stack into a small cab. We did not have to wait long because a lot of people were coming off the ship at the moment and the bus filled fast.

The drive to the beach is maybe 10 minutes. They dropped us off at the beginning or north end of the beach and tried to get us to stay there. We walked down (southward) the malecon and came across many nice spots. Every location will try and talk you into staying on "their" beach with "free shade, free chairs" just so you buy their food from them. We walked passed much of that and found some isolation and beautiful sand further southward.

The water was terrific, the sun inviting, the sand gorgeous, and it is quite easy to relax as many are ready to serve you--all you have to do is ask.

It is easy to catch a taxi back, just walk off the beach (inland) towards the road and any number of taxis will want your business. At $2 a person for the ride back, it's a steal.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank okmac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
United States
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
24 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Beach and Local Shopping in One”
Reviewed March 20, 2013

Mahahual Beach was a gorgeous beach with tons of local color ~ not the port-style local color, but true Mexican vendors. You can get a massage every few steps or negotiate a sale in one of the vendor stalls. ALWAYS NEGOTIATE! We were directed here by some of the ship entertainers and are very glad we went. I'd heard that Canival's stop here was another big tourist trap owned by Carnival. Had we stayed at port, it would have been . . . but by taking a taxi to Mahahual, we had a great time!

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank USGolfGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Paul, Minnesota, United States
Level 4 Contributor
20 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“tranquillity”
Reviewed March 17, 2013

Gorgeous soft white sand, tourquios blue clear sea... lots to offer, Jet Skis, Surf board Kayak, plenty of places to relax under shelters from the sun... always services available for drinks or even a massage... what more could we ask for...

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank Ann S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mahahual Beach also viewed

Mahahual, Costa Maya
Mahahual, Costa Maya
 
Mahahual, Costa Maya
 

Been to Mahahual Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing